We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic homely hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
6 Small Rooms B & B
Ranked #191 of 815 Naples B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

i stayed at 6 small rooms as a walk in - i always stay one night somewhere and move on if it is not very good. Needless to say after 3 nights i left Naples very happy and well rested. The staff were very helpful and after arriving to the madness that is naples - it does help to have someone show you on a map where everything is so you can get your bearings.
I was given excellent advice from the owner of the hostel, including info about a street party at the main castle, something i would never have heard about, and it turned out to be one of the highlights of the trip.
There is a great common room area with sofas and stuff. The kitchen was well stocked and there were 3 showers which was enough for the size of the hostel.
The hostel is slightly off the main street, (30 seconds walk) and is perfect as a base for exploring the city and comming back mid day before heading off again.
It certainly isnt one of these big soul-less hostels, infact it reminded me of the first hostels i stayed at years ago.
will definately return.

Room Tip: take ear plugs if you want to sleep before 10pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drwattsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for one night. We arrived late at night as we drove from la spezia to Naples. The staff were very helpful with directions and switching beds around in dorms so that we could stay. After we parked, we still could not find the hostel. It is really tucked away. But the staff once again shone through, coming to find us in the square near by and bringing us back to the hostel.

When we arrived check in was easy. The staff are really relaxed and had cooked a communal meal (vegetarian curry) which we ate. Was really yum too!

Has a great comman area where we met other travellers, some who we travelled onwards with also.

This place is great, basic and clean. Good location; once you have found it and really top staff. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happydays080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

6 Small Rooms is a great place to stay while visiting Naples!! The rooms are cozy and clean - the common area is perfectly set up so you can socialize, watch TV, read a book, use the internet, or meet other travelers - the breakfast is fresh, yummy, and just enough - and the staff is the most friendly, amazing, FUN staff ever!! They were so helpful and enthusiastic about the city... their excitement was contagious!! We had a great time in Naples, and 6 Small Rooms and their wonderful staff were a large part of that!! I highly recommend this hostel if you are looking for an affordable, comfortable hostel while in Naples. Thanks for a terrific stay!! :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatrinaJade9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

After staying six days (I had originally planned for just two nights!) I can't see myself staying anywhere else in Napoli. And I will be back for sure.

This hostel was exactly what I needed on my trip. As a solo traveler I had spent too much time in mega hostels where I've had a difficult time trying to be part of a community of travelers. Here (maybe because the common room, computers, and big kitchen are right next to each other) you meet most of the people who stay in the dorms and can converse with people quite easily. It's a very easy going atmosphere.

Rachel, Gabrielle, and co. were extremely helpful in reaching out and making sure I was experiencing the true Naples. They also helped me make my Naples experience my own. I love to snorkel so they pointed me to the best snorkel spot in town. I had trouble with trip logistics on Italian sites so they made a few phone calls. They remember your name and get things done.

The location is a nice walk between Dante and the national museum, the main churches, the biggest shopping street, and the best gelato joint in town -- Fantasia Gelato. Add to that a free breakfast that includes fruits, jams with fresh bread, and tea/coffee (I was getting very tired of sugary cereals and processed juices elsewhere), I couldn't recommend this place more.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohammad201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

A great hostel located right in the centre of the city! Naples itself was a fantastic experience for me and the location of the hostel allowed me to see everything with ease. Very charming and welcoming hostel, my stay was very comfortable. The layout of the hostel is fantastic, the kitchen and living room are nice and big (breakfast was lovely fresh fruit and bread etc), the dorms also were spacious . The staff were great and went out of their way to help out with everything so - very good energy. This hostel is one of the highlights of my trip and I will definitely be back (soon I hope). Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All dorms are great because there are no bunk beds! nice and spacious. I didn't see any of the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

A group of 8 of us had this hostel in June for a one night stay in Naples. The three girls took the private room and this was the best option because we slept in comfort and we had a bathroom outside that was clean. I had ear plugs so didn't hear much but I heard the beds in the dorm room were very saggy, and the boys could hear each other's snoring (which is to be expected in a dorm room!). The breakfast is bread, coffee. It's alright - nothing to write home about and I'm glad they at least give you bread to start your day!

The climb up is brutal if you are not used to climbing or if you're not fit or if you have large suitcases.

It's located off a square with fountains and very close to the shopping streets and to the major pizza places - so I loved the location! The street on which it is located may seem gritty with all its graffiti but most of Naples seemed that way or what little I saw of it.

If they spruce up the beds and give a better breakfast I may be inclined to increase the ratings!

The folks behind the counter are very helpful and gave us tips for pizza places and dinner (at a local restaurant where the waiters sing and are boisterous) the food was delish.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank undefinedpreethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The owner of this hostel (Gerard?) was so helpful and ensures you have a great stay. All his restaurant recommendations were spot on. Gabrielle was also great organizing a fantastic dinner where up you can experience the traditional Naples food. Rooms were cosy and it was nice not to be in bunk bed. Nice big kitchen!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#49 of 185 in Naples
950 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 185 in Naples
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#8 of 185 in Naples
1,538 reviews
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#4 of 185 in Naples
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 6 Small Rooms B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 6 Small Rooms B & B

Address: Via Diodato Lioy 18, 80134, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 815 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range: £17 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Australian-run hostel is right in the centre of town, walking distance to everything. We love Napoli and we love to give you advise and directions and show you the more interesting things to see. The best food in Italy is everywhere and Naples is so cheap. It's the most underrated city in Italy so come and see for yourself, you will love it!!!!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing