We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refurbished but filthy” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Potenza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Potenza
Ranked #126 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Cheadle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Refurbished but filthy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

The hotel is superficially good looking - all new doors, and furniture, but a closer inspection is horrifying. I took the ceramic tooth mug from my room to reception to show the thick mould growing in the bottom. The concierge did not look surprised or even concerned. He washed it and returned it without a hint of apology. The toilet brush and holder were filthy beyond description. The shower head was supposed to be variable from fine spray to jet. Most of the holes were blocked with muck so water only came through a few of them anyway. I have never had so many bites in five days abroad, and since I kept my bedroom wi ndow shut at night (the air conditioning was fine) I can only put it down to bed bugs. Shall I go on?

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    39
    35
    13
    12
See reviews for
19
34
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

You had to ask the staff for anything at least 3 times.
Both sinks didnt drain.
Got to our room only to find old hairs in both of our bed linens. Asked to change rooms, the next room was just as dirty so we have up.
Table in te room had dried up food grime that the maid tried to pass off as 'dust from outside' even though it was hard and sticky.
Breakfast = cheap bread, butter and jam, yogurt. That's it.
Everything has a filthy feel, receptionist smoking inside...
No fan in the washroom so our room was always humid.
Right by the construction so always noisy with trashy people always around. Definitely not a safe area. The 'chef' of the hotel restaurant tried to hit on me even though he's as least twice my age!
Overall gross, wish it was refundable cause I would have left in a heartbeat. My family and I dreaded being there!
No value for money. Would never recommend !!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieFox44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Naples hotels

Bolu, Turkey
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

After some days in Rome where we had to spend a LOT for basic services and food; Napoli has appeared like an oasis. And Hotel Potenza is no exception. Very affordable with a helping staff and reasonable next-door restaurant makes this hotel a good find. Rooms are not wide but have high ceilings. Due to lack of floor cleaning there were lots of hairballs everywhere but fortunately linens and towels were clean enough. Location is close to the station; it is a positive aspect. But the never ending renovation works it the Piazza Garibaldi blocks all the beatiful view. The breakfast is really scarce, almost no variety. Inspite of the criticism, Hotel Potenza is still more on the positive side.

Room Tip: Just one floor. probably all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Coming into Napoli, a notoriously crime ridden city, it was a great comfort to get a room right next to the train station that made me feel secure. If you're worried about it being far from sights, don't worry. Its a very short walk into town.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crosby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyrenia, Cyprus
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

It has been a great pleasure to stay in Naples. Hotel Potenza offers small but cozy accommodation next to the main train station. Only thing that was upsetting for us is that rooms are not sound-proof and you can hear everything that is going on in the corridor. WiFi in the lounge is an advantage for all. Breakfast is absolutely the same every single day which makes it not very enjoyable after 3 days...
I would recommend this hotel to everyone who is looking for economy place to stay in a central location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
340 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

We needed a place close to the station for an early morning departure and, after spending a long day walking all over this lovely city we found a perfect spot in the Potenza. It's very close to the station, right on Piazza Garibaldi. The walk to and from the station is maybe 3 minutes. The hotel has a tiny lobby, barely room for two people, and no elevator that we could see, but it is spotlessly clean, has AC, offers a basic breakfast and amenities like a safe and minibar. The TV is microscopic, but seriously, who is going to sit inside and watch TV when the city awaits! This is a fine solution for budget minded travelers who want safe, secure and comfortable lodging. I don't doubt that I will be back to the Potenza again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfreak53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights while visiting Naples. Let me start by saying that the hotel is incredibly convenient to the train station. I was traveling with my parents and two children, and we had no problem dragging the bags - maybe a 5 minute walk. Okay - the construction project in Piazza Garibaldi is MASSIVE and the traffic is...well...overwhelming. However we were not disturbed at all during our stay. The rooms are clean and serve the purpose. Breakfast is meager and disappointing. We went to Pompeii and also to the Vomero (a much much nicer part of Naples and worth seeing- great shopping). The hotel has a restaurant just next door - run by the same family - and the service and food was excellent. Piazza Garibaldi is dirty (garbage everywhere) and the vendors and loitering there does make you want to clutch your bag a little tighter - however the convenience the hotel offers to the train station made it worth the stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 2dogsinmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
New Sayonara Hotel
#61 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Hotel Clarean
#142 of 189 in Naples
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Hotel CineHoliday
#62 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ideal
#144 of 189 in Naples
3.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Mercato
Orsa Maggiore Hotel
Orsa Maggiore Hotel
#81 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Potenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Potenza

Property: Hotel Potenza
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Garibaldi 120, 80142, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Mercato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Potenza 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Potenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Potenza Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing