We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
17
49
43
18
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
49
43
18
17
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Our visit to the Hotel Potenza was a positive experience. Two friends and I stayed in a triple room which set us back €25 a man included all taxes. A very fair price for what the hotel offers.

The hotel is very well located for the main train station, but a good 40 minute walk from Naples' most lively and pleasant area around castel dell'ovo. We didn't mind the walk however as it gives you a chance to see castel nuovo and the royal palace of Naples.

The room was spacious, light and comfortable and so was the bathroom. The shower was the best I'd had in my week in Italy staying at a few 3* hotels. However I didn't feel the bed was very comfortable.

The breakfast options weren't great, one choice of cereal, yogurt, a few different pastries, bread, cheese and ham, but it was only slightly worse in comparison to most other 3* Italian hotels. What I did enjoy was a hotel employee making hot drinks, such as caffe latte and cappuccino to order as opposed to the awful filter coffee we'd suffered in most hotels up until that point.

Overall a good choice for the price.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank whybrolufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2015

This was my 3rd stay at Hotel Potenza (prev. Xmas 2008, April 2010) and now its standard has dropped possibly due to new management.
There is no lift, elevator, to the accommodation rooms, and the steps are steep, some without handrails - difficult to handle heavy baggage as a 70's man.
Breakfasts are very poor, miserable, with little food variety and some sub-standard items - such as crushed butter pats that must have been through a mangle! The breakfasts were attended by a disinterested man who needs lessons in customer service. The previous 2 occasions I stayed at this hotel there was an alert Italian man who attended every need and I was looking out for him on this 3rd stay.
On the bright side, there is a much better prospect from the hotel as Piazza Garibaldi is finally taking shape. (since 2008 it has been a construction site with ghastly builders' hoardings, cranes and noise near the hotel) Opposite the hotel a deep excavation is now finished with modern materials: glass fence, escalators to lower levels and the Metro trains, hard non-slip pavings, roof shades to shield the sun, and exclusive shops at the lower levels.
With these improvements to this side of Piazza Garibaldi it seems the pestilence of street market urchins have been banned which earlier were a nuisance. (the opposite side of the piazza is yet to be finished)
The Potenza Hotel is below average in my estimation, and sorry to see it decline (drop) from earlier standards.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IanM31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We stayed here for one night in august. It is a simpel hotel, rooms worn out, it is cheap and simpel, but for one night it is acceptable.
The breakfast was there, but for that price of room, what can we expect.

It is very central near Statione Zentrale, easy access.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyngsdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Don't be mislead by the modern remodelled style of this hotel's entrance: the rest of the hotel is just average and most of the times not worth the price the rooms are charged. In the same area of piazza Garibaldi, for just the same price you can get better accomodation or just the same sort of rooms for better prices.

Room Tip: Avoid the noisy front rooms overlooking the main square.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank realworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

Reception had difficulty finding reservation, seemed bored to tears, liked to smoke in doorway, when AC did not work was not skilled at offering a solution, no battery in safe in closet and he was not helpful, and wifi NEVER WORKED anywhere.
Great location near train station, good breakfast, reasonable bathroom. Too bad other problems makes this a bad stop.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews