We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meat, good meal”

La Taverna a Santa Chiara
Reserve with
La Taverna a Santa Chiara is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #96 of 2,899 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: La Taverna is a Slow Food osteria, close to Santa Chiara Monastry. We offer simple dish based on local food and quality products from the region. Wines come from the region too, we have 22-24 labels and some craft beers. Often you can enjoy folk live music, at dinner time. 35 seats, better to call for booking.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good meat, good meal”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

A good meal, served with a smile... and a nice pause after visiting Santa Chiara. The wine and the waiter were great. Also the view from the window.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank M_and_FT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    132
    28
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Introduction to Local Cuisine”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Local Bio food at amazing prices. Hand written menu so you know the food is fresh. Excellent staff who had to translate for us. It's small and we walked by it without realising. Well worth a visit for authentic food

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful experience in Naples”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Had been in this restaurant weeks ago and the food is amazing, Neapolitan food with bio ingredients, the price is cheap, the location is perfect, service excellent, next time in Naples I'll come back for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional!!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

On our last day of trip to Italy we spent in Naples. Walking in Spaccanapoli we came across this wonderful La Taverna a Santa Chiara on via Santa Chiara #6.
Everything - the food, wine, and desert, was delicious (all fresh and organic); service and atmosphere (especially from the second floor with a view to the church) was exceptional! And all of it was at a very reasonable price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An unforgettable Napoli night!”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

La Taverna a Santa Chiara is a relatively new restaurant just off the Piazza del Gesu. There are about a dozen tables downstairs and a few more upstairs, creating a friendly, bustling atmosphere. When I was there the place was full of locals dining in late (after 9 PM), which is the best guarantee of authentic Napoli food. The decor is contemporary and the crowd is heavy on young Napoli professionals, so there's a hip, but low-key, energy.

The menu specializes in local ingredients and local recipes. For a starter, the mussels were exquisite - a huge plate for six euros. I would strongly recommend that any visitor to Naples treat themselves to this dish. There is more to Napoli cuisine than pizza, and you're really missing out if you don't get seafood. These mussels are served in a light but intensely flavorful broth redolent of wine and garlic that will have you soaking up the bottom of the bowl with chunks of bread. DO IT.

For my main course, I had another typical Napoli dish, a fusili pasta in a pumpkin sauce. For those who need a break from carbs, they also have several all-meat dishes on the menu - one of my friends ordered from the carne menu and his dish smelled incredible.

House wines are served in carafes, which should be standard in EVERY restaurant in Italy, but its shocking how many don't do this. Another reason La Taverna a Santa Chiara is a great choice. The gorgeous location in the historical center doesn't hurt either!

http://www.tavernaasantachiara.it/

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Taverna a Santa Chiara also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to La Taverna a Santa Chiara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing