We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eight ways of serving octopus, or was it ten?”
Review of Tandem

Tandem
Ranked #51 of 2,830 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Eight ways of serving octopus, or was it ten?”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Our hotel suggested this for our Christmas dinner. It was a fixed menu ( so we knew what we were getting into) . What we hadn't envisaged were the size of the portions...they were huge! We felt quite guilty as we just couldn't eat it all....in fact we had to turn down courses, everyone else was having food wrapped to take home. The ladies who were front of house were lovely, they wanted to ensure everyone had a great evening and experience a traditional Naples Xmas experience- we did. When we mentioned to the hotel how huge the dinner was they explained that Xmas dinner in Naples is so big they think of it more in terms of a war....to see if they can win it! I omitted to mention that each course of the Xmas dinner was octopus ( except dessert)
As other reviewers have mentioned - it's quirky but we liked it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CazzaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    953
    561
    106
    32
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“from Ragu to Riches”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We were handed a flyer for this restaurant in the street and at first we found this a little off putting but when we experienced the cooking in this very good establishment our misgivings disappeared. The food is excellent and as other reviews mention the ragu is exceptional and is a speciality of the house and Naples. In all honesty the portions are large enough for you to just have a small antipasto followed by a pasta dish with the ragu.The staff were friendly and helpful, but the menu is in Italian(no English subtitles) but the waitress had a smattering of English. It was very good value for money a 3 course meal for 4 adults with plentiful wine and limoncello and tip was 85 euros!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ragu, ragu, ragu...they do great ragu.”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Quite a cheap and cheerful pasta house. A bit quirky and off the wall ( they run a showreel of pasta scenes from movies; Chaplin to Lady and the Tramp. Quite a simple menu, but the star of the show is the ragu. Slow cooked, rich and heavy, we have rarely, if ever, tasted a better ragu. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeebeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaipeda, Lithuania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“How often you have real great place suggested on the street?”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

When one finds himself fed with seeing the backs at "everyone wants" Gino Sorbillo or Da Michele, one still may be approached by very friendly inviter to the place, where traditional Neapolitan ragù was stewed for 10 hours, and now is awaiting for you. And with what an attitude - guys and gals really care about food, they offer.

Before doing gnocchi con provola e ragù, I have started with grilled eggplant - and this was perfect: simple, with good deal of olive oil to wet your fresh bread, unobstructive occasional garlic was here for the zest. Loved gnocchi - size of portion and amount of cheese in it was generous, however taste could be shaped to be wider, as after being in half of it, it turned monotonous. Leaves of basilisk were noticeable helpers, as (more?) black pepper would be. I would suggest to either simply decrease the amount of cheese, since it dominates, and the width of ragù taste is not allowed to shine along, as it could, or think about using several varieties of cheese (even if all of provola) to widen taste to be enjoyable till the last spoon.

Ordering generic cup of coffee in the end surprisingly turned out to be small show on the table, even if taking longer to prepare. In no way Fanta should be suggested or ordered along that cuisine, but refreshing and rich Chinotto was excellent, even water would do fine. Tables smallish and flaky, but it's charming in a way, and you hardly can offer all top, when you just started new place. Wonderful overall, left it with exciting feeling and without pocket drama - this is tourist friendly point. It would be pity to observe lines by that place formed next time in Napoli, but team deserves success, and it's hard to see how it could be avoided, when they do what they do so well. Thank you, and best of luck!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank begedis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
109 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Solid eatery”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Read some reviews about this place and wanted to try the ragu. It was very thick and filling. Tasty aswell. The service was fantastic. English was good. The wine was cheap and good. The salads were good too. Overall a very solid place to eat in naples when you find it. Decent value too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LexLuger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tandem also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Tandem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing