We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here! Great location, price, room cleanliness, service!”
Review of Albergo del Golfo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergo del Golfo
Ranked #71 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay here! Great location, price, room cleanliness, service!”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Initially from the reviews I didn't think this hotel would be great, but it ended up being surprisingly incredible!
Location - in historic center, felt rather safe. Walking distance from the port if you're going to an island. 10€ taxi to main train station.
10 minute walk to Via Tribunali which is one of the main streets with the best restaurants.
We were 3 and they put us in a 4 person bedroom. Enormous! Very clean, good air-conditioning, rather hi-tech. Definitely recommend it.
Breakfast is simple but good.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natapw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    132
    65
    24
    11
See reviews for
49
109
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My girlfriend and I decided to stay one night in Napoli on our way to the Amalfi coast. We stayed at this hotel, and like everyone else says: don't be scared of the neighborhood and the facade. The hotel is a very modern, well-designed 3-star hotel, with great facilities and big rooms. The double-room we stayed in, was the biggest I've seen, in a 3-star hotel.
As i said, it is well-designed and the interieur is very stilish - with great lightnings, beautiful materials and very elegant. So it does not complement the very untasteful facade.
There is no parking near the hotel, but they have a agreement with a parking garage nearby, for 20 euro per 24 hours. I would STRONGLY recommend to park in a garage and NOT on the streets if you have a new car - car thefts is a great problem in the Napoli region, and we got our Fiat 500 rental car stolen during the night.
If you don't have anything specifically to do in Napoli, I would recommend not to go there if you're on a road trip. There is nothing spectacular to see in Napoli, the city is chaotic, and full of anarchistic vibes drawn from the decade-long trash problems in Napoli. I didn't really see any trash lying around, but in general the city just looked trashy - dirty, chaotic and not very friendly. You felt unsafe. I've been to a lot of big cities, but Napoli did not look like any of these, just out of control. So save yourself the disappointment, and drive past Napoli. Only positive whas the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefan-dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I was a bit worried about the hotel after checking out the street on Google maps but the outside doesn't do it justice. The hotel is clean and modern. The room was spacious. There's a communal balcony on the 3rd floor, which is very pleasant. Breakfasts were basic but that's pretty normal in Italy (and they were sufficient). Most of the reception staff speak English and are very helpful and pleasant. It's in a great location - you can pretty much walk to anything in the city. I'm definitely going to go back to Naples at some point and would have to problem staying here again. Excellent value!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwillox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

This hotel is down a scruffy side street and the hotel itself has not much 'kerb appeal' being in character with the rest of the street. However, it has been recently renovated and the inside is modern and attractive. The room itself was a good size and our room was located to the rear - nice and quiet. Everything worked, the bathroom was well appointed. My only complaint was that the mattress was a little bit hard for me. Breakfast was limited - coffee, some bread and some juice and was a bit of let down as we enjoyed the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cervelo_rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

When we reached Naples after a chaotic and tiring trip from Ponza, we were absolutely overwhelmed by this hotel - as soon as we walked in, we were taken perfect care of by the young, friendly Italian receptionists. Showed to our room which could not have been better in our situation. While it looks a bit dicy from outside, the hotel is renovated, modern, stylish and comfortable on the inside. We got an excellent deal over hotels.com, having paid only around 40 Euros per night for the room and we couldn't have been happier with the result! Totally recommend it! Location is perfect as well.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank minkykishore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

The Albergo del Golfo is located steps away from the 'Spaccanapoli', a combination of several streets that form the heart of the city's historic centre. The hotel is approximately a 20 minute walk from the main train station.

Our room was recently renovated, very large, and spotlessly clean. Only notable item was a very slow draining shower. We did not mention this to the hotel staff as it really wasn't a big deal.

The breakfast was included and was slightly above typical for included breakfasts in Italy. Selection included cold cereal, yogurt, juice, toast & jam from a self serve buffet. In addition, each person was served an espresso-based drink of their choice from a full scale commercial quality machine and a fresh croissant. I took the fact that they served you to indicate that they wanted to restrict these last 2 items to one per person.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank egon61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

While returning from vacation on the island of Ischia we visited Vesuvio and spent one night in Naples.
This hotel is located quite near the historic center and also Molo Beverelo port in awful hidden street. Really not sure if this zone is safe in the night ;-)
Opposite to this, interior is very nice, modern and roomy so you almost forget where exactly you are.
Everything looked fine till we have to deal with around-50-years-old-man at the reception. He told me that there's ABSOLUTELY NO PARKING ANYWHERE near the hotel (not true as realized later), so I left my car in the street just opposite to the hotel. There was a sign of parking prohibited, but even residents didn't respect it. Since that time the receptionist kept me frightening several times during evening and morning that there was a police in the street giving penalty to all the parking cars but it was not true either as I later asked other people.
Moreover in the morning as we were hurrying to the airport he started very slowly searching for our invoice one paper by one. He didn't find it then and FRAMED US OF NOT PAYING AND BEING THIEVES though everything had been paid months before through HRS.COM portal. Finally he found the invoice and let us go WITHOUT ANY EXCUSE AND EVEN NO REPLY TO THE GREETING!!!
To be added, the whole conversation was held in Italian, so his behavior cannot even be assigned to language barrier.
I traveled a lot in my life but never encountered such arrogant and rude person at the reception anywhere and so I can recommend this hotel only in case you manage to avoid dealing with this "person".

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AdamKubacak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Naples hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Le Orchidee
#86 of 186 in Naples
178 reviews
Pendino
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#96 of 186 in Naples
97 reviews
Schilizzi Hotel
#98 of 186 in Naples
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neapolis Hotel
#63 of 186 in Naples
393 reviews
Hotel Toledo
#36 of 186 in Naples
407 reviews
Hotel Napolit'amo Medina
#54 of 186 in Naples
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Golfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Golfo

Property: Albergo del Golfo
Address: Via Sedile di Porto, 23 | (near Piazza Bovio), 80142, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Golfo 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo del Golfo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Golfo Naples
Albergo Del Golfo Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing