We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Del Golfo”
Review of Albergo del Golfo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albergo del Golfo
Ranked #61 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Del Golfo is a comfortable hotel with a good location. The staff seemed friendly and eager to help when necessary.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Warren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2012

Wonderfully modern and recently refurbished rooms, however there is a distinct lack of amenities and storage. Air conditioning was temperamental and the thermostat did not seem to work, so the setting choice was either arctic or boiling.
The rooms themselves are a decent size and tastefully decorated. The shower in the bathroom is AMAZING!
Unfortunately you do get the feeling that you have entered a building site, the staircase and floor are unfinished on the fourth floor, with equipment and ladders on constant display, this somewhat diminished the ambiance.
Breakfast was a complete disappointment, there was bread, but no toaster (this was removed after the first morning and did not reappear), further selection was poor, either cereal (stale) or croissant (also stale) some yoghurt and awful quality fruit.
Staff were taciturn at worst and generally unhelpful at best. Felt like making even a small request (for a city map) was a major inconvenience.
The location was good (if a little grotty) close to the Metro and historical center.
This Hotel has the potential to be a gem; if you stay on a "room only" basis and avoid the staff it is a decent base for a trip to Napoli.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank roseshanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

As stated in previous reviews, The Gulf Hotel isn’t situated in the prettiest of streets but don’t let that put you off as its location is perfect for exploring Napoli.
It’s located in the Centro Storico with the Spaccanapoli just round the corner and it’s easy walking distance to the tourist sights, the port (for Capri), and the sea promenade. (Also we walked about half a mile to Montesanto station to get the funicular up to Castel Sant Elmo).
The main train station is only about a mile away which we walked in order to get the Circumvesuviana to Pompeii, Herculaneum and Sorrento.
At night we would walk to Piazza Gesu Nuovo as there are a couple of tratorria/pizzerias with good food where we could sit ouside and watch the world go by.
The hotel staff we met, both day and night, were all helpful and friendly.
Our room was spacious and clean with air conditioning, TV, fridge and a modern shower-room/toilet.
The breakfast buffet consisted of tea, coffee, fruit juice, water, cereal, yoghurts, fruit and a croissant (plain, chocolate, or fruit) - good enough to start your day with.
All in all we had a very pleasant stay - the hotel was well worth the price and we would return and recommend.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank bluevaleCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

June 2012. The hotel is in a convenient location, near the Metro and historic centre. Recently upgraded, the accomodation is good and the hotel would be excellent value provided some improvements were made. What needs to change? First the breakfasts: the so-called juice is mostly water...the blood orange desparately needs a transfusion and the aged/frozen croissants are grim. (Broken toaster not replaced for 2 days). Secondly, some of the reception staff appear to have been trained in a prison camp-no humanity. Apart from the lobby,some comfortable furniture please. Make these improvements and you get a good deal.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 818TedM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel is perfectly located in the historic centre of Napels, a 5-10mins walk from just about anything there is to see: the Spaccanapoli, Decumano Maggiore, the Dome, the harbor/ferry port, royal palace, palazzo nuevo, shopping street Via Toledo etc.
It has clean (spic and span), comfortable and large rooms. The bathroom was very nice as well, there is an electronic air heating/cooling system which you can use and the hotel has (wired) internet in the rooms and (wifi) in the communal areas. Breakfast is nice with good coffee/cappuccino, fruits juice (concentrate), a croissant for every client, cereals and the choice of toast and jam/chocolate paste. Don't expect the world from breakfast (italians usually eat very modestly), but I had more than enough every day! Personnel is friendly and helpful. Napels has a lot of traffic, but the hotel is in a street parallel to the Corso Umberto which makes it alot less noisy but a perfect location to reach the shops, restaurant, harbor and train station (for trips to Pompei).

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room with a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spirella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This building was converted into a hotel and redecorated quite recently. The place has no soul and the kindness of the staff is equal to zero but it offers very good value deals and is in a strategic position. We were given quite a big room on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albergodelgolfo, Front Office Manager at Albergo del Golfo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear customer if you will go back in Naples, if you book again in the our hotel, we will make sure change your mind on the structure, and on the our staff.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed at Hotel Albergo del Golfo in July, 2012. We took a triple sharing room. The room was great. It was large with a TV and lots of cupboard space a small balcony. The bathroom was a good size compared to what one gets in Italy. A newly renovated hotel. The location wasn't bad, it was a 15min walk to the main station and a 10min walk to the pier where one can catch ferries to Capri etc. The fort was also 15-20min walk. The area was quiet and out of the hustle bustle of Naples. But safe. Our room was inclusive of breakfast. But the breakfast was complete trash. One Croissant, horrible coffee. We spent 2 nights here. Both times they ran out of food. We got 2 croissants to be shared amongst 3 people. So I would not recommend the breakfast. Right next to the hotel there was a small shop run by an old lady, which served water, beer etc., which was dirt cheap. The lady herself was extremely sweet. The person on the reception was rude, and provided no help what so ever. He just did not seem interested. The staff was sparse and not service oriented. There was free wifi, but to avail the facility, one had to really argue with the person on the reception.
I would recommend the rooms and the location for the price but the service and breakfast was atrocious.

Room Tip: Do not take the room with breakfast. The room itself was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JA_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#46 of 186 in Naples
931 reviews
Pendino
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#101 of 186 in Naples
103 reviews
Hotel Naples
#55 of 186 in Naples
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Le Orchidee
#89 of 186 in Naples
195 reviews
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#6 of 186 in Naples
477 reviews
Hotel Lento
#60 of 186 in Naples
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Golfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Golfo

Address: Via Sedile di Porto 23 | (near Piazza Bovio), 80134, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Price Range: £49 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Golfo 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo del Golfo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Golfo Naples
Albergo Del Golfo Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing