We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Not for me'”
Review of Hotel Clarean

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Clarean
Ranked #142 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and would not return. Hotel was fine. Clean on the surface but not so clean underneath. The staff were friendly enough and did what they had to. It is positioned very close to the train station which was great for us. Although on the main street leading to the hotel there were gangs of men hanging about eyeing up people which was very uncomfortable. We was very careful with our bags, day and night! Also on the evening there was literally a prostitute on every corner, or more which also isn't great outside your hotel. There was a very nice restaurant across the big road close to the train station with wonderful food and so cheap! The only thing we would return to Naples for would be the food! The hotel was fine for 1 nights stay but the location is terrible. I would rather stay further away from convenience and enjoy the surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah87-Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

My booking was 4 nights beginning 23 April 2013. Front office staff were efficient, friendly and chatty. My room was facing Piazza Garibaldi, which is still a construction site, first seen in December 2008. Naples, like Rome, never sleeps, and there is continual noise from the piazza; the hubbub of people and traffic. Fortunately the management has installed 2 sets of doors to the balcony facing the piazza. Both doors are made with double glazing, and these are very effective at controlling the noise and the heat from the sun.

The bathroom, with its shower, toilet, washbasin and bidet was always clean and fresh, with new towels and cosmetics provided daily.

The bed was comfortable, but the linen and covers, while clean, were showing signs of wear.

The hotel room was a pleasant refuge from the hustle and bustle of the streets of Napoli; where pickpockets are aggressive, beggars are whining and persistent for cash, and trading tables around Piazza Garibaldi obstruct pedestrians and are run by adult street urchins who have aggressive sales tactics. [business being slack due to economic crisis]

Oresta, is the Ukrainian lady who prepares breakfast in the small dining room on the ground floor, and efficiently serves a choice of hot drinks. Later in the day she services the hotel's rooms keeping them clean and presentable.

The Hotel Clarean is fairly close to Napoli main train station and the Metro underground trains.

I recommend it to budget-conscious travellers

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanM31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Stayed here 1 night, 2 adults and 2 children. We had a family room which was 1 bedroom with a double bed and door to close, there is a bathroom, shower only and tiny bathroom then a room for
the kids. 2 separate beds for the kids. A TV in each room but TV in kids room did not work. It cost us 90Euro for 1 night, room only, a little expensive. I do not like this area at all. Its very busy and very dirty with alot of garbage in the streets, there are alot of police sirens going off all the time. It looks like a dangerous area. I did not like this area at all. Lots of shops and restaurants around the around but its just a dump of an area, they really need to clean it up. I would not return back to Naples, very dirty. Hotel is good for a couple, make sure you take a meter taxi from airport and should be 15euro only...dont get ripped off.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VISCIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Front desk staff are very helpful and most speak some english. Hotel was clean, smoker friendly, small dining room down stairs. All food is 1€, one Moretti beer 2.5€, one night stay 50€. Prices are excellent overall. I looked at other hotels but went back to Hotel Clarean. Bus ride to Napoli airport 3€.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia8313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I am afreyd this is not a hotel but a pension,becouse,has not a bar,not a restaurant,not a room service,and nowere to seat,if you are awaiting sombody to come.The reception is made aut of a desk,a chair,and some people with a menacios look.brrrrrrr.Plus you don`t sleep ,becouse is trafic all all night long.

Room Tip: Just don`t go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pizzamaster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We arrived early on a Sunday evening. The front of the hotel was lined with market stalls and overflowing rubbish bins. The surroundings detract from the overall impression of the hotel. The reception area is pleasant enough, the room sizes were adequate and breakfast is basic continental. We stayed in rooms 102 and 107. The shower in room 102 still had the previous occupants part used shower gel in it and so had obviously not been cleaned. The floor had also not been cleaned in while. There was scaffolding outside the window covered in cigarette butts and leftover food. Room 107 had a view over garages and was noisy for most of the night. It was ok for a stopover and only 5 mins walk to the bus stop for the alibus to the airport but we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bps-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We arrived late in Naples and were grateful the airport shuttle dropped us off right in front of the hotel! (Great proximity to the train station, as well!!) Staff was very welcoming, nice lobby, nice room (with VERY much appreciated a/c)... pleasant all around! Sadly, neighboring area was very dirty and, at night, filled with quite a questionable cast of characters... we had no specific problems, but it was definitely not the place you wanted to linger outside at night.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cynbose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Eden
#154 of 185 in Naples
134 reviews
Hotel La Stazione
#78 of 185 in Naples
44 reviews
B&B Hotel Napoli
#45 of 185 in Naples
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Sayonara Hotel
#73 of 185 in Naples
148 reviews
Mercato
Hotel Potenza
Hotel Potenza
#123 of 185 in Naples
127 reviews
Hotel Ideal
#140 of 185 in Naples
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarean

Address: Piazza Garibaldi 49, 80100, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Price Range: £52 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Clarean 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Clarean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarean Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing