We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely B & B, excellent location”
Review of Donna Regina B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Donna Regina B&B
Ranked #336 of 726 Naples B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 April 2011

This is a very beautiful bed and breakfast, very close to Naples' historic centre, but on a quiet side street - once you have negotiated the foyer and characterful lift, you find yourself in a wonderful, quiet building, with large rooms, and artworks everywhere. The rooms are large and I would only not stay here if you find the idea of mounting a cramped spiral staircase to get to your bathroom alarming. Breakfast is delightful in a sunny kitchen overlooking a cloister with church domes in the rear - the building was once a monastery. Dominic, the manager, is extremely helpful. I recommend this bed and breakfast very highly indeed.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hadrian07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Donna Regina B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2010

Donna Regina B&B is situated a stone's throw from Cavour and Museum Metropolitaine (subway) stations. It is in a building which used to be a convent: High ceilings, large rooms, incredible artifacts. The owner has decorated the walls with a large number of original art pieces and there are sculptures everywhere. he is extremely knowledgeable about history and the sites to see and takes a good deal of pride in indicating these on a map of Napoli. Best restaurants! He shows you where to start and what to see. The breakfast is superb.
We stayed on two separate occasions and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffreyVictoriaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2008

I have been in Naples twice already and i have not had a special experience. The classic" 5 stars" hotels are way too anonymous and expensive for a city which is the contrary of anonimity. So for this trip i let my mother pick this special hotel - DONNA REGINA - where she had stayed in the past and trusted her experience.
Well the experience has ben superb. it's a B&B, so do not expect any of the frills or concierge service BUT it feels as if you were staying in your own beautifully furnished Italian home. The overall feeling is warm, cozy, artistic, interesting, comfortable.
It's only 5 rooms, each of them has a different color. if you are on your own or in a couple i would suggest to ask for the "old" room, which has a balcony onto a gorgeous chiostro.
The owner, Mimmo, and his mother, Gabriella, have started the B&B 10 years ago. They have a special passion for it and you can feel it in the way they talk to you and give you insights and nice tips on the area and on Naples overall.
It's definitely a very Italian experience which i highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NY-Travel-Luxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2008

Whilst the room was pleasant, and the living room was spacious, we were saddened to have one of our passport s and other personal papers disposed of (presumably accidentally) by cleaning staff. Domenico's local recommendations were patchy. He didn't mention some excellent restaurants nearby but gushed about some poor quality places much further afield (e.g. a restaurant in Piazza Bellini). He offered use of the internet in the evenings to some other guests but not to us. The breakfasts were lovely and the kitchen was charming.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LG23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

Although we only had time on our travels for 1 day and 1 night in Naples, my husband and I consider this B&B one of the highlights of our stay! Walking to the residence from the train station, we were at first dissapointed at the run-down older buildings and dirty streets (and that says a lot living in Brooklyn!). However, when we walked into Donna Regina, we were pleasantly surprised to see a historical-looking, very clean and stunning residence, filled with antiques and beautiful paintings on the walls. Domenic, the owner, was extremely helpful in giving us a mini-history of the area and adapted our limited time there to the essentials we had to visit (mostly including the delicious food). He was dead-on with every recommendation. Our room was spacious and upon arrival we were immediately served espresso and sparkling water. Breakfast the next morning was divine. Many different items to choose from and a warm and friendly staff. A wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosefarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2008

We stayed for a full 10 days at Donna Regina. It is centrally located in Naples, so you can do it all on foot or with the efficient subway.
It is a beautiful place on the 4th floor of an old building. Very friendly people (Mimmo, Gabriella and Rowenta) took care for us. We enjoyed an excellent breakfast and were allowed to watch TV in the living room. We had a large 4 bed room with own toilet and shower. We can recommend it for a family with children older than 10 years. We had a great time there.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idegenvezetoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2008

My husband and I stayed 3 nights and really enjoyed the experience. Staying here was one of the highlights of the Naples weekend, Pompeii being another one. The artwork really dazzles you from the moment you walk into the property, there is so much of it everywhere, even in the bathroom!
The only person managing the B&B at the time was an Italian lady, who spoke no English but she was very warm and hospitable, and with some effort we managed to communicate and she pointed out some good restaurants on a map. One evening we weren't so hungry so we brought one pizza to share back to the B&B and planned to eat it in our room. She greeted us when we came in, saw the pizza box and opened up the big kitchen for us to eat it there, and offered us salad, slices of cheese and meat and a glass of wine to go with it! It ended up being a complete meal. Very generous.
You are given a key to come and go as you please, the location felt safe and is central, breakfast is good and is eaten in the kitchen at one big table together with the lady of the house and all the guests, the room we stayed in was large, and clean. I would come again and definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJMTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#47 of 185 in Naples
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
#24 of 185 in Naples
1,223 reviews
Zia Maria Home
#92 of 726 in Naples
197 reviews
Belle Arti Resort
#73 of 185 in Naples
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donna Regina B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donna Regina B&B

Address: Via Luigi Settembrini 80, 80139, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #336 of 726 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range: £79 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Donna Regina B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B DONNA REGINA The perfect place to be in Naples.For slow travellers, tourists and artists.This exclusive bed and breakfast is part of the “Donna Regina Vecchia” convent built in the XIV century according to the willing of the Queen Maria of Hungary. Nowadays a family of artists welcome their guests in this elegant and comfortable B&B situated at the 4th floor of this historical complex.B&B Donna Regina is situated in the heart of the old Naples: the Duomo,the Archaeological Museum, Spaccanapoli, and the most important monuments as well as some of the best Restaurants and Pizzerie are reachable in a few steps. At B&B Donna Regina, on request, you can experience a traditional Neapolitan dinner served in the warm and artistic atmosphere of the antique kitchen.Each room, furnished with original and antique furnishings belonging to the family, has its own individual identity and offer the personal artistic touch of Donna Gabriella.All rooms are spacious and have ensuite private bathroom with shower.B&B Donna Regina offers:Double Rooms, Triple Rooms and Double single use.Two of the double rooms have an overhead gallery with other two single beds.B&B Donna Regina is located in the heart of the old town centre of Naples, close to the Archaeological Museum, the Duomo, Spaccanapoli, and the most important monuments as well as some of the best Restaurants and Pizzerie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Donna Regina B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donna Regina Bed And Breakfast
Donna Regina Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing