We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely perfect hotel, incredible service!”
Review of Hotel San Pietro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel San Pietro
Ranked #12 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Absolutely perfect hotel, incredible service!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and used Naples as a base to get everywhere which meant the hotel was well located for getting a train to Pompeii, Vesuvius and Sorrento. The best thing about the hotel was the incredibly kind and accommodating staff, I've genuinely never felt so looked after! The breakfast was gorgeous and the room was spotless! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you so much for making our holiday so great!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanpietrohotel, Direttore generale at Hotel San Pietro, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Google Translation
Gentilissima Georgie,

Siamo felici che il nostro servizio sia stato soddisfacente.
Daremo sempre il meglio di noi affinché tutti possano sentirsi soddisfatti quanto Lei.

La ringraziamo,
La Direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    159
    36
    6
    6
See reviews for
67
207
32
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

AMERICANS AND FOREIGNERS BEWARE DANGER

Before I go into the details on exactly what happened, I will ask you a few questions
(1) Are you fluent in Italian?
(2) Do you Value Life?
(3) Do you like reasonable accommodations?
(4) Do you like convenience?
(5) Do you want to leave your hotel room at all?

If the answer to the above questions are yes keep reading...

First the room had no tissues, complete amenities, the smallest safe in the world and small beds. The room key is a traditional key, not a card and weighs like 2 pounds. You have to carry 2 of them. What's worse is the number of the room you are staying in and the hotel name is on the key. This is dangerous. How was this rated number 1 out of 193 hotels?
Location: Dangerous Dangerous Dangerous. I don't care how much money you are trying to save, your life is important. There were mafia people left and right. We passed by buildings that had been sprayed with bullets. I was robbed and dragged 50 feet. I could have been killed. You are not safe when walking back to the hotel at night. If you risk staying here, you better catch a cab from the door of the hotel, but even then, it is dangerous because when you get to the door you have to pretty much knock it down for the hotel staff to walk to the door and open it with a key. At one point for a minute and a half our lives flashed before our eyes as we were looking over our shoulders until they opened it. You know it is bad, when the police and pedestrians look you in the eyes and tell you, this is not a place to be. What is worse is the hotel staff should warn their guest and at least advise them of safety or of the time when they lock their doors so that guest can either be aware or make it back in time. But then that beats the whole point of vacation, having a curfew. On your walk back you will see a lot of shady behavior.

Convenience: Everything is a nuisance. We asked how to take the boat which would have been like 35 minutes to 1 hour. They tell us to take a bus and train. The bus took 2 hours and a half and the train took about 2 hours (standing). Why would they recommend this or tell us that it was only 1 hour. We literally arrived as the sun was going down and stayed for 10 minutes when we decided to get back again due to location. Upon our return I was robbed in front of the hotel. Although I am not holding them completely responsible for the robbery, in hindsight we spent a whole day traveling thanks to them. 9 hours in total is like a flight to New York. In fact I had to go back and forth with hotel staff on changing a room because of safety. I shouldn't have had to do this, they should have moved me anyway as the heavy rock of a key was in my bag which was stolen and had the room number and name of the hotel. On top of that my colleague left a day earlier and wanted to settle the bill as I had no money or funds due to the robbery and asked to pay all taxes, the guy gives her a number, she pays it. When I leave the following morning, the staff tells me I have to pay more taxes. Are you serious? This was insulting especially after the experience.

In the end the decision is yours. My experience was not good, we warned others that were around to be careful. I have traveled the world and been to every continent. When I say that you are better off in Bogota or Congo during a cilvil war, then you better reverence this review. TripAdvisor is a powerful tool to keep others informed. It is unfortunate that I have to write this review, there was one male hotel staff that was courteous and a cleaning lady but sadly that is not enough to allow future guest to have the same or even worse experience. Ten Cuidado!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Kassi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanpietrohotel, General Manager at Hotel San Pietro, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Google Translation
Dear Kassi O,

We sincerely regret for what happened to you in our city ... However, Naples is one thing and the Hotel San Pietro is another ...
All of our staff remembers you with affection and how well you've been in the hotel since the time of the incident.
To criminalize the Hotel for a theft occurred on the street (not a robbery as you indicate) just seems to be not honest and misconduct by You.

When you write that we are not "completely responsible" for what happened to you, that implies and insinuates a partial responsibility on our part, and we do not see how this is possible...
From what you say then there would be grounds for charges against you for libel.

When you write about being dragged for 50 feet it does not respond to true: we have video proof that it is not and this video is still being studied by investigators.

You cannot deny that when you were mugged you have been rescued and sustained readily, coming to get you a room change (as you required) and providing all our physical and moral resources.

If it is true - as you write - that our keys are not modern cards, it is also true that to bring them with you when you go out is useless, and You should know that, since as you say you've traveled to every continent.

It is true that the hotel is locked at night, but it is also true that our staff provides readily open to guests when they come knocking.

About the ship and train: that kind of service with the ship is not currently active, which is why we have recommended the train. In addition, the Metro del Mare from Napoli to Positano does not exist: you would first have to go to Capri and then to Positano, but this solution was not compatible with your schedule.

When you say that you are better off in Congo during a civil war we can not help but smile for your words, which alone help us and other people who read to better contextualize Your review: it is just an irrational outburst of anger that has yet to cool off and for that you have our full understanding.

What we're sorry, we repeat, is that you put all your eggs in one basket.

Best regards,
The Management

_______________________________________________

Cara Kassi O,

Siamo sinceramente rammaricati per ciò che Le è accaduto nella nostra città… Tuttavia Napoli è una cosa e l’Hotel San Pietro è un’altra…
Tutto il nostro staff si ricorda di Lei con affetto e di come è stata bene in albergo fino al momento dell’accaduto.

Criminalizzare l’Hotel per uno scippo subìto in strada (non una rapina come Lei indica) ci sembra un comportamento scorretto e poco onesto da parte Sua.

Quando scrive che non ci ritiene “completamente responsabili” per quanto Le è accaduto ciò implica ed insinua una responsabilità parziale da parte nostra, e non vediamo come ciò sia possibile…
Da quanto dice quindi ci sarebbero gli estremi per denunciarLa per diffamazione.

Quando scrive di essere stata trascinata per 15 metri ciò non risponde al vero: abbiamo la prova video che non è così e questo video è tutt’ora al vaglio degli inquirenti.

Lei non può negare che quando è stata scippata noi l’abbiamo soccorsa e sostenuta prontamente, arrivando a farLe cambiare camera (come da Lei richiesto) e mettendo a Sua disposizione ogni nostra risorsa fisica e morale.

Se è vero – come Lei scrive – che le nostre chiavi non sono delle moderne card, è altresì vero anche che portarle con sé in giro per la città non serve a nulla, e questo Lei dovrebbe saperlo, visto che come dice ha viaggiato in ogni continente.

È vero che l’hotel è chiuso a chiave di notte, ma è anche vero che il nostro staff provvede prontamente ad aprire ai clienti quando bussano.

A proposito della nave e del treno: quel tipo di servizio con nave non è attualmente attivo, ecco perché Le abbiamo consigliato il treno. Inoltre la Metro del Mare da Napoli a Positano non esiste: sarebbe dovuta andare prima a Capri ed in seguito a Positano, ma questa soluzione non era compatibile con i Suoi orari.

Quando dice che si sta meglio in Congo durante la guerra civile non riusciamo a fare a meno di sorridere per queste Sue parole, che da sole aiutano noi e chi legge a contestualizzare meglio la Sua recensione: è lo sfogo irrazionale di una rabbia che deve ancora sbollire e per questo Lei ha tutta la nostra comprensione.

Ciò che ci dispiace, lo ripetiamo, è che abbia fatto di tutta l’erba un fascio.

La salutiamo con affetto,
La Direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very nice hotel with comfortable, quiet and clean rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. The location is close to the airport and train station but was not so nice neighborhood. Excellent value. Free WiFi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATR3678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanpietrohotel, General Manager at Hotel San Pietro, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for your very good review, we look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel if you'll be back in Naples.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Firstly let me say I never write reviews and after years of travelling this is my first. The hotel San Pietro isn't in the best area of Naples but I loved being among the local side and seeing how real people live in the sprawling and vibrant city. It's also close to the station and excellent value. As the other reviews say the hotel has been completely refurbished and offers superb, ultra clean and smart accommodation - fantastic rain shower in the bathroom and, in fact, the best we had from 8 different hotels during our travels. How ever, our stay was made by the courteous service and informative advice from Enzo. He ensured our car and luggage was safe while we travelled to Sicily, gave us tips for travelling around the city and far exceeded his duties. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and will definitely go back again next time I visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanpietrohotel, General Manager at Hotel San Pietro, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Tessa,

We really thank you for your wonderful words, and we look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel San Pietro during 4 nights and had an amazing and very pleasant stay. The staff was very welcoming, nice and helpful during the stay that we really felt well treated. Regarding the hotel, it was entirely renovated this year. The interior is very well decorated and the hotel has a very nice rooftop where you can have your breakfast or a drink. The room was very spacious, new and clean. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom very nice too. Regarding the breakfast, the hotel proposes a very complete breakfast (and of good quality) to well start the day. The location can be seen by some as not convenient but in reality, you are not fare from metro and train station, close to the historical center, nearby restaurants. I highly recommend to stay there during you trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevinworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanpietrohotel, Direttore generale at Hotel San Pietro, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Google Translation
Gentile Kevin,

Tutto lo Staff La ringrazia vivamente per la Sua squisita gentilezza nel trovare l'Hotel di Suo gradimento. Ci piacerebbe averLa qui nuovamente per le Sue prossime vacanze.

Cordiali saluti,
La Direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A marvelous small hotel at the heart of Naples, a few steps closer to world-famous pizzeria Da Michele than to Stazione Centrale. Quiet, cool, and welcoming inside. Great breakfast. Cleanest room. All the right touches. Exceptional staff. Recent remodeling puts stylish art all around. The hotel bar is a nice place to gather quietly. Internet is fast in every location I tried it: my room, the lounge, the rooftop garden. The delicious breakfast featured spectacular fresh Neapolitan pastries, fresh ingredients for insalata caprese, rolls, juice, yogurt. The rooftop breakfast room may provide access challenge for a few guests, but the views from rooftop are very pleasant, offering diversion and a spot to soak up sun in the center of this gritty and vibrant city.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quieter, but the market side rooms have small balcony, direct morning sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Provoensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanpietrohotel, Direttore generale at Hotel San Pietro, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Google Translation
Gentile Ospite,

La ringraziamo vivamente per la splendida recensione. Facciamo sempre del nostro meglio affinché i Clienti siano soddisfatti fin nei minimi dettagli.

Speriamo vivamente in un Suo soggiorno se dovesse trovarsi nuovamente a Napoli.

Distinti saluti,
La Direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#3 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#4 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Mercato
UNA Hotel Napoli
UNA Hotel Napoli
#19 of 186 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Pietro

Property: Hotel San Pietro
Address: Via San Pietro Ad Aram 18, 80139, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Mercato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#9 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#12 Family Hotel in Naples
#13 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Pietro 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located between the sites and monuments the most admired in Naples, close to the historic Piazza Garibaldi, the original structure was built many years ago. Recently it has been renovated (2013) now becoming a modern 4 star, outlined by a sleek design, conceived through the careful combination of natural materials. The San Pietro **** highlights the elegance of a design hotel in the heart and central "heart" of the city. The spacious and renovated rooms and suites, all 35 defined in every detail have been designed to offer maximum comfort to guests. You can easily reach the hotel from anywhere because it's close to metro stations, the central station, port and the airport. The area around the hotel is very characteristic because the hotel is located in the very historical center of the city. We have a roof garden which has an amazing view on the dome of the Church of San Pietro ad Aram, one of the most ancient churches in Naples. The hotel has a very central position in the historical center of Naples. The rooms are all new and styled with the latest fashion and design trends and facilities. We have a restaurant and a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pietro Hotel
San Pietro Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing