We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmmm Nice room.... Thats it.”
Review of American Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
American Hotel
Ranked #91 of 186 Hotels in Naples
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Hmmmm Nice room.... Thats it.”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

There are a number of things that I don't understand, quantum physics for instance, why do men have nipples is another, but why oh why would you build a hotel here? There must be a reason as the owners have built two right next to each other. I stayed in the suites, the newer of the two, the room was large and clean, the shower good and the bed nice enough. The downsides, if you want to buy a car, you are in the right place, if you want to eat out you have a 10 min walk to the nearest pizza joint (though a not very nice road). Coupled with the smell of sulphur when the wind is in the wrong direction, the fact the air con doesn't 'do cold', the nightclub 20m away playing music till 6am and the very sullen staff, this would not be somewhere I would stay again. The restaurant in the hotel next door is bordering on robbery, bad food, terrible service..... like really terrible.
I have however given a average rating as the staff could have just had an off day and at least you get free internet. If you need somewhere to crash for the night then great, clean and comfy enough, if this is your holiday..... Avoid.

Would I stay here again. Nope.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alistair78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    89
    70
    49
    52
See reviews for
54
82
13
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed in The American Hotel for 3 nights and had a wonderful experience. Our first morning, after traveling from the US, we slept long after the breakfast time, but we found a very attentive front desk attendant, Rocco, standing by, to make sure that we had coffee and a great breakfast. We were offered a full breakfast and the service was excellent. Our rooms were large and extremely clean. Perhaps the hotel has been renovated recently. The personnel at the hotel were very helpful in providing directions and arranging transportation. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GayleZTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

The Hotel is in the middle of an unattractive Industrial Estate which has very pot-holed and filthy litter strewn streets. Hard beds, plain rroms and tiny bath. Not a tourist hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_helen_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Terrible hotel in every way!
I had the misfortune of spending one night in this hotel. On that occasion no member of staff spoke any English . The room was large but filthy!! The carpet had armys of ants carrying various bits of rubbish from the floor in a procession. The bathroom was not fit to use and smelled really bad! We had prepaid for evening meal and breakfast which were so bad that we were all very hungry until the cafe accross the road opened the following day. The airconditioning did not work and the staff insisted that they did not have another room available with working air con. The area is miles from anything and very industrial. We desperatly tried to move to another hotel but it was too late. I would strongly recommend that if you are considering this hotel you think again !!! Horrible

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zebraUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Naples hotels

Dallas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2008

This hotel is a 40 Euro cab ride from anything worth seeing in Naples. It is across the street from an abandoned US military installation in a neighborhood that is dismal. There are no stores or good restaurants within reasonable walking distance. The hotel is mostly empty, and while the staff were very accomodating and pleasant, the facility is depressing. While clean, the rooms are drab and the air conditioning feeble. The entire hotel reeks of a sulfur smell, so much so, that one member of our party became ill. There is a restaurant in the hotel, but it only serves breakfast.

I would strongly discourage anyone from staying at this hotel if you are visiting Naples for pleasure.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank svandegrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2008

I booked this hotel for a quick break wth my son to explore Naples and the surrounding area - the biggest problem is that it's miles from the centre of Naples, in a run down area, surrounded by concrete buildings, right opposite the American Army base - I guess hence the name. It was a huge disappointment and didn't bear much likeness to the description - hard to see how it's a four star hotel. The corridors had been recently decorated but the room it'self looked over a car park, was small and the bathroom was really tired - the airconditioning worked really well though, which was one of the few plus points. We got ripped off by taxi drivers taking us to and from the centre of Naples too and to be honest, we have since stayed in more expensive hotels right on the bay of Naples and by the time you take account of the taxi fares, it was much better value to do that. There aren't even any restaurants in the area, so you have to travel, which is costly and inconvenient if you don't want to eat at the hotel. The staff at breakfast were very friendly - reception staff either abssent or unhelpful most of the time. I wouldn't stay here again - overall not terrible but a very long way from good.

  • Liked — Air-con that worked
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 1965cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2007

This hotel (also known as the "American Hotel" gives a bad name to the term "American". It is somehow carrying a 4-star rating but I suspect that the management either paid off the rating agency or stole the 4-star plate from a more respecable hotel. In reality the hotel rates 2-stars and maybe, on a good day, 3-stars.

The hotel is on the outskirts of Naples and will cost you 30-40 Euro from the airport and just as much to get back into town. Bus and train connections are NOT conveniently located nearby. The hotel is actually across from the, now abandoned, US Navy Exchange and the street is lined with abandoned buildings and car dealerships. The surrounding area is more industrial than tourist and if you want sights, night-life, restaurants or activities for kids, DO NOT come here.

If you want to take your life into your own hands, you can walk around the area, while avoiding the insane italian drivers (pedestrians do not have the right-of-way), piles of garbage, broken bottles, large pot holes and feral cats. However, the ever present stray dogs were mostly harmless and will take a likeing to anyone who gives them something to eat and/or won't kick them. Also located nearby is the local transvestite hangout where you can watch them do a brisk business most hours of the day.

The hotel itself is fairly modern but the decor is minimal. Rooms and the hotel were clean but spartan. However, the elevator didn't work and we were foced to use the stairs our entire stay. The rooms contained a bed, small table, TV with CNN only english channel, hairdryer, telephone, small refrigerator with five small drinks. There was no alarm clock. View from my room was the parking lot of the police station next door. Air conditioning in one of the rooms created a lot of noise, but no cold air.

The bar (if you want to call it that) was closed more than it was open. Funny thing is there's a small sign at the reception desk that said "We invite our guests to the Hotel Bar for a complimentary drink". So one night we headed to the bar to find it closed (10pm). When we asked the receptionist, he said that the sign was only for "new guests"....it was our second night there so we were now classified as "veterans" by the hotel staff. However, the bar was rarely open and, when it was, the bartender was frequently absent. Decor in the bar was a few tables and chairs.

Breakfast was included and was OK. Not to standards for most european hotels but OK. Croissant, rolls, jam, butter, ham, cheese, juices, milk, coffee (very good), yogurt. I did not eat dinner or lunch there but those that did either said it was "good" or "unremarkable"

Parking was provided but the sign behind the receptionist desk said "we are not responsible for theft in the parking lot".

Reception staff rated from 'friendly and helpful' to 'don't bother me' with english proficiency from 'poor' to 'pretty good'.

All in all, if you want to see Naples, don't stay here. If you are going to visit the NATO Headquarters, it's about a 30-40 minute walk or a 10 minute drive. Even then, the Hotel Montespina is closer and worlds better than this place.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the stray dogs
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LtColG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Bagnoli
Best Western Suites & Residence Hotel
Hotel Lento
#65 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Bagnoli
Montespina Park Hotel
Montespina Park Hotel
#34 of 186 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fuorigrotta
Best Western JFK Hotel
Best Western JFK Hotel
#19 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Fuorigrotta
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#5 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Fuorigrotta
Serius
Serius
#73 of 186 in Naples
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Hotel

Property: American Hotel
Address: Via Antiniana 15 | Agnano Terme, 80078, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Bagnoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — American Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your American Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing