We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a 4-star....hahahahahha”
Review of American Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
American Hotel
Ranked #80 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Reviewed 12 June 2007

This hotel is somehow carrying a 4-star rating but I suspect that the management either paid off the rating agency or stole the 4-star plate from a more respecable hotel. In reality the hotel rates 2-stars and maybe, on a good day, 3-stars.

The hotel is on the outskirts of Naples and will cost you 30-40 Euro from the airport and just as much to get back into town. Bus and train connections are NOT conveniently located nearby. The hotel is actually across from the, now abandoned, US Navy Exchange and the street is lined with abandoned buildings and car dealerships. The surrounding area is more industrial than tourist and if you want sights, night-life, restaurants or activities for kids, DO NOT come here.

If you want to take your life into your own hands, you can walk around the area, while avoiding the insane italian drivers (pedestrians do not have the right-of-way), piles of garbage, broken bottles, large pot holes and feral cats. However, the ever present stray dogs were mostly harmless and will take a likeing to anyone who gives them something to eat and/or won't kick them. Also located nearby is the local transvestite hangout where you can watch them do a brisk business most hours of the day.

The hotel itself is fairly modern but the decor is minimal. Rooms and the hotel were clean but spartan. However, the elevator didn't work and we were foced to use the stairs our entire stay. The rooms contained a bed, small table, TV with CNN only english channel, hairdryer, telephone, small refrigerator with five small drinks. There was no alarm clock. View from my room was the parking lot of the police station next door. Air conditioning in one of the rooms created a lot of noise, but no cold air.

The bar (if you want to call it that) was closed more than it was open. Funny thing is there's a small sign at the reception desk that said "We invite our guests to the Hotel Bar for a complimentary drink". So one night we headed to the bar to find it closed (10pm). When we asked the receptionist, he said that the sign was only for "new guests"....it was our second night there so we were now classified as "veterans" by the hotel staff. However, the bar was rarely open and, when it was, the bartender was frequently absent. Decor in the bar was a few tables and chairs.

Breakfast was included and was OK. Not to standards for most european hotels but OK. Croissant, rolls, jam, butter, ham, cheese, juices, milk, coffee (very good), yogurt. I did not eat dinner or lunch there but those that did either said it was "good" or "unremarkable"

Parking was provided but the sign behind the receptionist desk said "we are not responsible for theft in the parking lot".

Reception staff rated from 'friendly and helpful' to 'don't bother me' with english proficiency from 'poor' to 'pretty good'.

All in all, if you want to see Naples, don't stay here. If you are going to visit the NATO Headquarters, it's about a 30-40 minute walk or a 10 minute drive. Even then, the Hotel Montespina is closer and worlds better than this place.

Stayed: June 2007
2  Thank LtColG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2007

Stayed here years ago for an extended period and hated every minute of it. Things have not changed. Here is a little of the laundry list of problems: security non-existent (found our door off hinges one day because they were remodelling!), smell of sulpher is prevalent, linens not always clean, carpet was gross, tv was from the 70s, very spartan.
This is in NO way a 4 star hotel so don't believe it. Also, it is expensively far from any attractions. Did I mention there is an insane asylum/retiree home next door. The hotel is just in a bad place and the staff is out to ask you for all sorts of favors -which is very akward.

  • Stayed: November 2003, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank PrinceArist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2007

We stayed here and found it to be about as far away from Naples as possible. To get into the city you have to take a bus for 15 minutes, to a commuter train for another 15 minutes, which puts you on the outskirts of town and a 1 mile plus walk to anywhere you want to be. They didn't even have any tourist information in the hotel, we had to get that at another hotel in town.
We can't even believe this was available on a website that puts together packages for tourists.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lcarnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Yuba City CA
718
Reviewed 7 May 2006

We stayed three nights. This hotel is not located in Naples but in an adjacent suburb. It is an expensive cab fare to and from Naples. For the price of the transportation you can stay at a better hotel more centrally located! The desk staff was rude and not helpful. The key to the room didn't fit properly, the air conditioner/heater didn't work, the telephone wires were bare and shorted when the phone was in use, the refrigerator didn't work and the shower head sprayed water everywhere except in the tub! Also the tub was so narrow you couldn't stand with your feet together! The worst room and desk staff of our entire stay in Italy. However---the resturaunt staff and chef were excellent. What the front desk and room lacked was more than compensated for by the resturaunt staff. Not only did they recommond and serve excellent cuisine, they provided helpful answers to all our questions and were extremely solicitious to our needs. They should all be working at a higher quality establishment!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2006

This hotel is billed as a 4-star hotel, 'a tranquil oasis ... set in parkland'. The setting was industrial, on a busy road with no 'parkland' in sight (though there were many, many car dealerships). The hotel had few amenities - no fitness room, no ATM, no internet access - and even the basics were disappointing or unacceptable - no hot water, a dirty tub, stained walls and floor, air conditioner not working. The location is the biggest downfall - it is very difficult to get anywhere without a car, and we were advised by a local travel agent to avoid the bus system at night. If you are a tourist, I would not recommend this hotel; it is not inexpensive enough to merit staying in, and certainly not 4-star. The public transport is difficult to use and taxi costs add up fast - 10-20 euros to the station to avoid the bus system.

Stayed: April 2006
Thank OxTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2005

Disappointed with this hotel (also known as "American Hotel") Locality described as "green" but was in industrial area with unpleasant smell. Carpets in rooms were stained.

2  Thank cheekytuckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Bagnoli
Best Western Suites & Residence Hotel
Montespina Park Hotel
#31 of 185 in Naples
577 reviews
Hotel Lento
#62 of 185 in Naples
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bagnoli
Miravalle Hotel
Miravalle Hotel
#115 of 185 in Naples
94 reviews
Fuorigrotta
Best Western JFK Hotel
Best Western JFK Hotel
#17 of 185 in Naples
667 reviews
Hotel Tiempo
#49 of 185 in Naples
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Hotel

Address: Via Antiniana 15 | Agnano Terme, 80078, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Bagnoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £45 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — American Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your American Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing