We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel, brilliant staff, great atmosphere”
Review of Hostel of the Sun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel of the Sun
Ranked #1 of 206 Speciality Lodging in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay here. I met a great mix of people. The staff are amazing and make sure you have a great stay.

Location is good. Close to the port, so handy if arriving/departing by ferry. Close to a metro stop if arriving/departing by train. Really good directions are provided.

Breakfast was good. Muesli, yoghurt, bread and spreads provided. Coffee and juice too.

Nice social area has really good atmosphere and a small bar at the hostel has excellent happy hour deals. The staff took a group out on Sat night and these guys has an amazing time.

Laundry costs €5, can dry outside on the line or pay additional €3 to use the dryer.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed here for five nights while visiting Naples and surrounds. Staff were very helpful, had lots of ideas of things to do and how to plan my stay. The bar created a friendly atmosphere, there was always someone around for a chat. The breakfast doesn't deserve the hype, unless all you want is nutella.

Room Tip: If you want some quiet I'd ask to not stay on the same floor as reception, as you can hear the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cattytraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had a triple-room with ensuite bath, which was one floor below the main office. The room was spartanic, there weren't any hooks to hang coats or wet towels and it was barely big enough to have our three suitcases lying around. The bathroom was not well lit and quite mouldy. One of us is allergic to mold and began sneezing on our second day. I could go on about noises and so on, but a long story short is, that it is a worn-down place which is overpriced for what you get. HOWEVER, the staff is friendly, helpful and just terrific. They speak excellent English, provided more than one great advice for dinner and day trips and will go out of their way to care for you. So my advice is: If you are in for guidance and contact: stay there. If you want to get value for money comfort-wise: find something else. P.S.: I didn't see a single bed bug :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spusella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

“The staff was great Harriet and ! Very friendly and very helpful. Hostel of the Sun is very good in all aspects. And ideal location Rooms and bathrooms are clean and the wifi works Great environment to meet people as well. Enjoyed my stay here!” Mark from Amsterdam

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

From the moment we entered we felt like we were staying with old friends. Luca, Carla and Harriet remembered us by name and were so available to our every need. Beds were VERY comfortable, breakfast plentiful, location safe and best of all the atmosphere of Hostel of The Sun was everything you would want in a hostel. A really great atmosphere created by the staff which allows you to meet other travelers but at the same time have a good nights rest.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We were really excited to visit here after all the great reviews this place had, unfortunately we were slightly disappointed. Firstly it's quite hard to find despite following the specific instructions that they gave us as its in a block of apartments/offices on some of the top floors, you have to have eagle eyes to spot the sign from the ground.
We also didn't realise that the hostel is spilt across completely separate floors (floor 7 is the main reception and we stayed on the 2nd floor). We felt that this limited our experience of the hostel slightly we weren't really near the main hub of the hostel and hence didn't really make a connection with many other travellers there.
Our room was nice, but not as nice as the photos make the all rooms out to be and although the rooms were cleaned and beds were made everyday, we did get bitten whilst being there, not mosquito bites! Being on the second floor was also kind of annoying because there was a lack of 'crowd control'. Our floor was extremely noisy until early hours of the morning despite the signs, to the point where I had to go out and have a few angry words with the noise makers. Although I realise this isn't the hostels fault directly I felt that there wasn't anything in place to prevent this.
The staff were really friendly though and we were recommended some nice places to eat, helped us with the trains and to organise a Vesuvius trip. It seemed that some of the ferry times/prices had changed though and maybe they hadn't realised? We are still confused about that. The bathrooms and very clean and the shower facilities are good. Breakfast was also very decent and the kitchen facility would be useful for anybody cooking their own meals. There is a very good supermarket nearby which we used frequently to buy things for our lunches at a decent price.
So overall I'm not entirely sure if we would recommend this, if you go I would try to make sure your room was on the 7th floor so you feel more 'a part' of the hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becci K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is one of my favourite hostels in Italy. The staff were really friendly and helpful and Carla made my life so much easier. Everyone warned me about Naples and the problems you can face but the hostel made me reaklise that it is a wonderful safe city with such warm people.

If you go to Naples, definately stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#3 of 185 in Naples
979 reviews
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#5 of 185 in Naples
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 185 in Naples
1,051 reviews
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#47 of 185 in Naples
914 reviews
Porto
Napolart
Napolart
#7 of 741 in Naples
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel of the Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel of the Sun

Address: 15 Via Melisurgo, 80123, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 206 Speciality Lodging in Naples
Price Range: £12 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel of the Sun is located in the safest part of Naples and just a few steps from the ferry terminal and bus station. Experience our award-winning service yourself with a warm bed and 5 min walk for an easy day-trip to Pompeii, Capri, Ischia, Amalfi Coast, Sorrento, Mount Vesuvius and Hercolaneum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hostel of the Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Of The Sun Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing