We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel in Naples”
Review of Hostel of the Sun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel of the Sun
Ranked #1 of 176 Speciality Lodging in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Hostel in Naples”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This capped a great trip with a great hostel and great staff. Was met by the amazing harriet and luca who offer you a drink before talking bookings etc! facilities were top notch! they sit you down and draw all over a map of where to eat and what to do! the local knowledge is second to none!! all the staff are amazing. great wi-fi aswell! met some cool people there aswell!

Room Tip: Trust them when they recommend food. it was 10/10 every time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    161
    37
    14
    6
See reviews for
40
103
220
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ufa, Russia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

When I arrived at the hostel, I was met a very friendly girl on the reception,Barbara. She gave me keys, showed me my room going with me on the other floor. While we were in the lift, she gave me a lot of information about the hostel and Naples. This hostel has cozy rooms and a kitchen where guests can cook or just have coffee or tea. I liked breakfast in the morning. The hostel is situated near the port and I could find it easily. Wi-Fi was quite good and there are TVs and computers near the reception. I can say that I would return this hostel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zhanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

As a group of 4 friends we had a great stay in this hostel. We had a spacious private bedroom with a good shower and working toilet. Only the Wifi-connection wasn't that great, but I personally didn't mind. You could always go upstairs to the reception and use the Wifi or the computers over there. You can even print some documents for free if you want. The staff is just so friendly, enthousiastic and very helpfull. Also some good breakfast for free, a nice chilling area and a little bar with some improvised cocktails for €6 (or 2 for 6 on the happy hours). Just based on the vibe of this hostel, I think this is the best one i've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8_M_A_I_K_E_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at Hostel of the Sun for 4 nights in a private room with ensuite - the room & bathroom were great, modern, spacious and clean. We also had a little balcony off the room with table & chairs, which was a nice surprise. The air-conditioning worked really well. Our room was on the 6th floor (one floor below reception). The staff were very friendly & helpful - the only negative was that they had charged my credit card for one night the day before we arrived in case we didn't arrive (I had a prepaid travel card which I wanted to pay on, and so it was a bit annoying that the night was charged before we arrived - if the hostel are concerned about this, they should charge a bigger deposit, as it is illegal to take funds without consent and I paid more with the exchange rate on my credit card). We did the day trip to Capri that the hostel endorse - we had a lot of issues with this trip, which were nothing to do with the hostel (the staff were excellent in helping resolve them). The hostel was in a pretty central location (fairly easy to walk around Naples) - just remember to take some 5 or 10c Euro coins to use the lift when you arrive with luggage (as it is on the 7th floor - the staff will collect you otherwise). The wifi worked well in our room. The breakfast was typical for a hostel - toast, cereal and juice (it is quite a small area so I'd recommend trying to get in fairly early or not be in too much of a rush to eat). Overall, I would recommend the hostel and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed in Hostel of the Sun on our first night for 3 days. There's a lot of steps to get there as its on 7th floor or you can take the lift if you fancy! We were welcomed so well! It felt like we had known these guys for ages! They advised us on all the sites and were so helpful! Lots of Bob Marley playing which keeps the atmosphere chilled. Breaky was fab, more than I expected! With 5kg pots of nutella! :) the dorms were fab; airy, spacious, well-equipped and had a balcony to hang clothes :)
Overall, fantastic stay and very friendly people, would definitely recommend as its situated very centrally too!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BecciWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Hard to find and its on the 7th floor. However, there is a good atmosphere and a cheap bar. The staff are very helpful and multilingual. Breakfast was basic with toast and jam. Pretty central to the centre of naples. Lots of activities available.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Key positives were the friendly, sociable vibe, the staff, and location. The staff were great - very helpful in attending to the queries/needs of the lodgers and dispensing with insightful and personalized advice and tips on getting around Naples. Location wise it is walking distance from a metro station and from a number of major tourist sites.

The way the hostel is sprawled across several floors in an apartment block may be a slightly unorthodox configuration but that didn't deter from a generally pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knack4wdst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#3 of 186 in Naples
424 reviews
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#4 of 186 in Naples
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,385 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#45 of 186 in Naples
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel of the Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel of the Sun

Property: Hostel of the Sun
Address: 15 Via Melisurgo, 80123, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 176 Speciality Lodging in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel of the Sun is located in the safest part of Naples and just a few steps from the ferry terminal and bus station. Experience our award-winning service yourself with a warm bed and 5 min walk for an easy day-trip to Pompeii, Capri, Ischia, Amalfi Coast, Sorrento, Mount Vesuvius and Hercolaneum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostel of the Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Of The Sun Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing