We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Contemporary”
Review of UNA Hotel Napoli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
UNA Hotel Napoli
Ranked #20 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Big Sky, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Convenient and Contemporary”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We spent our last night in Italy here. With a very early flight I chose it based on the assumption it would be easy to get a taxi at 5:00 am. (We were at the airport in ten minutes given it was Sunday morning.) The superior room we booked included wifi and a free minibar with soft drinks and a couple of snacks. The décor is modern and soothing and the room was clean and spacious with the largest shower we found in three weeks of travel in Italy. We were able to walk to the Archeology Museum; less than a mile away. We had a very good late lunch in the restaurant adjacent to the rooftop bar. Later we stopped up there for a drink. The view is lovely.
The neighborhood is scruffy but we felt safe as it was heavily populated by shoppers. This is a good choice for proximity to the train station and the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    818
    176
    36
    34
See reviews for
256
884
109
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed in naples for two days as a base for visiting Pompeii etc.. Had read warnings about muggings in naples so my family and I were extra cautious walking between the hotel and station. The rooms were nice although after paying to upgrade for mini bar and wifi, the mini bar was poorly stocked and the wifi only worked intermittently by the toilet! Naples is a charming city and the views from the roof terrace and restaurant were breathtaking. Service was good albeit a little relaxed (slow!) staff were friendly, food was good although quite expensive. The piazza will be fabulous when the building work is finished, you need nerves of steel to cross the road and avoid the traffic which comes at you from every direction. Overall good stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Like others, we booked this for one night for its location near train station and airport bus stop. I booked via hotels.com on a deal that was cheaper to pre-pay and therefore expected a standard run of the mill room like in most chains, but somehow ended up with a massive room in a round tower part with 3 balconies and a separate living area, with free wifi and mini-bar! Not sure this will be the experience for everyone. The room was spotless, the bathroom luxurious (finally someone supplied toilet roll in italy!!) and the room big enough that we heard nothing from other rooms or hallway. The layers of screens and doors on the windows did a really good job of blocking street noise, although we were on 4th floor can't vouch for lower floors. The staff were friendly and efficient.

The only negative is apparently coffee at breakfast was terrible ;-)

Room Tip: I guess the higher up the better to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VEA20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seabrook, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Good location in a not very pretty area of the city by the train station. Modern and quiet and one of the best views of the city from the rooftop. Ask for a room facing the street. Great breakfast and very reasonable roof top bar

Room Tip: Take a taxi late at night when going out but very safe during the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeabrookJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

After reading the cautions about Naples, I have to say that I did not see any problems, even around the train station. The city is dirty with piles of garbage, and I hope some day they will discover garbage cans, but I have been in dirtier cities. If they ever finish the construction around Piazza Garibaldi, maybe the area around the train station won't look so bad.
As someone mentioned in a prior review, finding the hotel is easy- exit the train station, look across the piazza and you see the sign on top of the hotel. It is maybe 10 minutes with luggage to walk to the hotel. The interior is modern, with a good size clean room with a comfortable bed and even a balcony but my room was in back without much to see. One night there was excessive noise outside from a delivery to the hotel. The bathroom was large, modern, and clean, and had shampoo and bar soap. Wifi was intermittent. There is a room safe. Breakfast was an assortment of cereals, sweets, bread, yogurt, and also runny scrambled eggs and fatty bacon, but the service was poor.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickeyK50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel in Naples so we can be close to the airport to get our very early flight back to the states. The hotel, itself, is really nice. The rate is great! We had the entire day before we left, so we decided to see a little of Naples, and the train station is less than a 5-min walk from the hotel. The room is really nice and comfortable; hotel restaurant is nice, with excellent rooftop, outdoor dining.

However, the location is extremely chaotic. It is downtown, and there is much traffic (foot and motor), and all you hear are horns honking and emergency vehicle sirens all day and half the night. There are also some convenient stores nearby, where people seem to hang around. The area is very dirty as well (lots of trash in the streets). That was the first part of Naples I had seen, and I had a negative outlook of the city. Fortunately, we went to the Riviera di Chaia, which seems like a totally different world, than the downtown area where the hotel is located. We spent the entire day in the Chaia area, and did not return to the hotel until 9pm (just enough time to get showered, packed, and go to bed).

If this hotel could be picked up and relocated, it would be a much better place to stay. But, I guess for us, it served its purpose. We'd probably stay here again for this purpose only. But, I would not recommend this hotel for an extended stay, especially if you plan to get any sleep at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlmostaJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The very best of this hotel: the roof terrace with a view over the city and Vesuvius in the distance. They serve a decent if uninspiring breakfast here, but the view is just superb especially when the weather is good as is so often the case in Napoli. There's a bar so you can rest your feet after a days walking, once again with mentioned view.

As for the rest, it's a business type hotel with all pros and cons attached. Service is with a smile, everything is clean and well appointed (quite nicely actually, not to be compared to just your un of the mill Ibis or Holiday Inn), but it lacks the charm a smaller hotels can have. It's on the Piazza Garbibaldi where the train station is, a bit of a rough part at night (really not that bad) but an excellent base for exploring.

Note: the A/C doesn't work properly, it's a central system and it made no noticeable difference adjusting the temperature, no individual units which are way better (when renewed when they're past there life time).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sezofala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#10 of 186 in Naples
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 186 in Naples
1,014 reviews
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#3 of 186 in Naples
441 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Napoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Napoli

Property: UNA Hotel Napoli
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Garibaldi 9/10, 80142, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Mercato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Naples
#13 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#13 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#22 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Napoli 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A six-story historical building in a central position opposite the railway station, accurately restored to its 19th-century grandeur. The interiors, recalling local traditions - decors, rough tuff stones, Pompeian red, Pulcinella shapes - with impressive architectural design, give life to 89 well appointed rooms, a bar, and a restaurant on the panoramic roof garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your UNA Hotel Napoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing