We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will stay here”
Review of UNA Hotel Napoli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
UNA Hotel Napoli
Ranked #20 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We will stay here”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We chose this hotel as a base for day trips to Pompeii, Procida, and Ischia. It is close to the train station, an easy bus ride from the airport (Alibus)and within walking distance of the port. While not in the prettiest part of town, we never felt unsafe even when walking around after dark. The soundproofing made the spacious room an oasis in busy Napoli and the free minibar and wi-fi added to our enjoyment.

Room Tip: superior rooms with free wi-fi and free minibar are well worth it if you plan to use those services
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2 Thank twobadgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here because it is near the train station. The area around the hotel is not so great (as others have mentioned), but it's a convenient, central location. The hotel itself was excellent. It was the best of the four hotels in which we stayed in Italy. The price we paid was a bargain (perhaps because we were there in August). Our room had beautiful modern decor. The included breakfast on the roof was very good. We usually don't eat in hotel restaurants, but on our last night in Naples there was a severe thunderstorm, so we ate dinner at the hotel restaurant to avoid going out in the rain. We were glad we did; the food was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1 Thank TravelingMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Upon check in i found 4 cockroaches in the bathroom of our room, number 508, the hotel tried to tell me they were mosquitos to my face despite the fact i caught one and showed the porter (I didn't need my PhD to know they were cockroaches but it helped) and the only way we could move rooms was to upgrade and PAY EXTRA. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5 Thank DrSMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaglione, Direttore at UNA Hotel Napoli, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor.
We regret to see that you didn't enjoy your stay at our Hotel. As reported by several members of our staff, the insects you found in the bathroom of your room were actually gnats and not cockroaches. I can assure you that we take extremely care of the cleanliness of our rooms and similar episodes are unknown among our guests.
Hoping that in the future you will give us another opportunity to show the truly professional care of our services, best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is lovely, very beautiful renovated rooms, and a fab breakfast in their rooftop restaurant, but the location is not great. I felt really uncomfortable walking even during the day, lots of beggars on the streets.

However if you're looking for a great pizza we would highly recommend Sorbillos - easily the best pizza I've ever had!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
1 Thank Shielseey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I did choose this hotel because of the reviews on here as well as it's location near the train station. As some of the reviewers say on here, the area is a construction site in between the hotel and the train station. Also the area is very poor and quiet rough in places. At night I felt rather uncomfortable too.
You can quite easily get the tube or bus to the centre rather than walking it, which doesn't take long.
Having said that, the hotel is amazing. It feels quite posh inside and I was pleased to see it was in the "luxury hotels" section of my travel book.
Our room was a superior with a large bedroom and bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and I did sleep very well.
When I asked for extra hand towels as they had forgotten them, the staff seemed suspictious and motioned to search my wardrobe. He seemed annoyed and rude. But he gave us some anyway. This, I wasn't happy with.
As the hotel is near the busy train station, the roads outside are very busy. You have to be very careful crossing them, like most Italian roads. The windows are sound proof but a little noise does come through. I am a light sleeper and I didn't have any problems sleeping.
My only criticism is with the bathroom door.... it slides shut and doesn't close properly. It is also has misty glass in it. This is particularly annoying if one of you goes to the bathroom during the night. The bedroom lights up.
The windows have shutters on to prevent light coming through, however if you want them open to let the breeze in, you will not have any privacy as there is not net curtains.
The breakfast bar on the roof is outstanding. The food was good as well as the staff, who were very helpful.
Eventhough the area isn't great, I would staff there again. Although I wasn't the biggest fan of Naples itself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, which isn't silent but is quiter than the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1 Thank ChrisW1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Don't stay at this hotel. They treated myself and my traveling friend with disrespect and discriminated against us.
They had no excuse for the embarrassment they caused on checking in at the desk. I recommend avoiding the potential for similar embarrassment by a desk manager who needs a lesson in customer service and manners.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
6 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
300 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

There are many good things to say about this hotel but the best, by far, is the rooftop terrace, views over the town one way and Vesuvius the other. An ideal location for your breakfast, lunch or dinner, morning coffee or afternoon beer. OK it's not cheap but it is decent value and there's always a bonus with your drinks, say a pastry or biscuit with coffee, peanuts or crisps with your beer or devils on horseback or olives with your aperitifs. Hardly need to buy food! Staff are friendly and have enough English to cope.
The rooms are not huge but modern and very stylish, huge king size bed, decent lighting, marble bathrooms with decent water pressure, some with baths some with showers. Reasonable workspace with power, big wardrobe but an acute lack of drawers, i.e. none. So the beds are very firm but we slept well on them, helped by the quiet and efficient air con.
Hotel decor is modernist and minimalist but sits very well in this tastefully restored building.
Reception staff are friendly and helpful, particularly with booking cabs, even comping our wifi for which there is nominally a charge, with good reception throughout including aforementioned terrace.
The area is not wonderful but safe enough during daylight and who wants to walk the streets at night if everything you need is in the hotel or a short cab ride away?
Super hotel in a wonderful city.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
2 Thank manofekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#11 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#3 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Napoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Napoli

Property: UNA Hotel Napoli
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Garibaldi 9/10, 80142, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Mercato
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Naples
#12 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#13 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#22 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Napoli 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A six-story historical building in a central position opposite the railway station, accurately restored to its 19th-century grandeur. The interiors, recalling local traditions - decors, rough tuff stones, Pompeian red, Pulcinella shapes - with impressive architectural design, give life to 89 well appointed rooms, a bar, and a restaurant on the panoramic roof garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your UNA Hotel Napoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing