We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”
Review of UNA Hotel Napoli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
UNA Hotel Napoli
Ranked #22 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2011

A lovely hotel, with modern design tastefully done. Friendly helpful staff always say hello with a smile making you feel welcome. Fabulous breakfasts and well located for little local restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catsmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,841)
There are newer reviews for UNA Hotel Napoli
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

652 - 658 of 1,842 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2011

The reception was warm and hospitable. Amusing decor with partially exposed stone walls. Very comfortable bed. Huge bathtub with great water pressure and plumbing. Room was toasty warm on a cold January day. Sleep quality on the first night was great although room faced the hectic traffic of Piazza Garibaldi. The window shutters made the traffic sounds seem distant and barely audible on the first night. On the second night there seemed to have been some awful traffic congestion and drivers leaned on their horns incessantly. I thought I had not closed the windows properly, but could not figure out the problem that allowed the noise to be muffled one night and not so the next. Perhaps a room not facing the piazza would not have the traffic noise. Free 24 hour internet in room, and thereafter a modest fee.The hotel restaurant served well-prepared, fresh and tasty meals in a comforting environment. Location is great for bus, subway and rail connections. All in all great value.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CathyNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We were only in Naples at the begining and end of our trip to Italy so the hotel worked well for us to get in and get out of the city via the train station which is a 2-3 minute walk away. The historic district is about a 10-15 minute walk away and the best Pizza place is about 5 minutes away.

The breakfast was good. The staff was fine and helpful, but did not go out of their way to be friendly. The room was clean and the bathroom was nice, but the air quality was poor possibly due to the highly trafficked location outside. The AC was off in December so the room was warm.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoTraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We stayed just one night to catch a flight the next morning. We went there because others in our group found it on line.

Una is new and rather sleek, just as the photos show. Interesting design and use of bold color, we liked it. There is a BIG difference in room and bathroom size depending on the room you are assigned to! Ours faced the front square, it was large, with a balcony, and the bathroom was HUGE. Our friends had one just across the building facing the other way - no balcony, small bathroom, smaller room. So ask to face the square if possible. The amenities in the bathroom were really nice quality. The styling of the rooms is very nature-chic - warm earth tones, brown and green and woody and sleek lamps, sexy recessed lighting options, a universal control by the bed for all, and good quality beds and bedding.

I would say the service was efficient. Not gracious and warm, but fine, and when their internet connection kept kicking me off, he credited me with 15 minutes once he believed I was not just trying to steal more time.

In the morning we were leaving before breakfast began, so they put a to-go bag together for each of us. Just fruit, crackers, a roll or two, some jam and Nutella, but something to eat on the way to the airport, which is 15 minutes with no traffic at 5 a.m. (up to 45 mins in rush hour, which is INSANITY in traffic, close your eyes...).

We had a drink upstairs at the roof bar, it was a quiet night and we were there late. But the attached outdoor patio had a great view at night, worth wandering out for a look. Drink prices were no bargain, but not higher than any other sexy hotel or bar. They had a food menu, but we had already eaten pizza.

TIP: Tens of thousands of birds sleep in the tree just outside the front door. We began to watch from our balcony. A little while before dusk they begin to fly in huge swarms, circling the sky around the square as if flying formation. Soon each squadron settles into the tree. Group after group they come in as the sky darkens. Finally the tree is SO full that the bird chirping noise actually began to drown out the traffic noise! Once it is dark, they quiet down and the show is over. Totally surreal to have stumbled onto this show that goes on for at least 20 minutes...

There is some seediness in the area, but we walked back from pizza (wherever the taxi driver decided was great, NOT the one all the tourists go to) and a stop for coffee at Mexico (also recommended by the taxi driver). Mexico is a coffee shop on the other side of the square from Una that closed at 9 pm (no idea why the name, nothing about it is Mexican). DELICIOUS coffee there, the best espresso we had all week, and the hot chocolate is not milky stuff like we drink in the US, it is like a liquid candy bar, divine to sip.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelPhotoWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

We stayed in UNA Hotel, Napoli, for a day while in transit from Sorrento to Rome.
Its location is quite good - just about 400 m from the Napoli Centrale Train Station.
However, the rooms were small and gave a cramped feeling. The bathroom smelt bad.
Definitely not worthy of the four star rating that it claims to have.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vpsharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

The hotel is right opposite the train station and although it is extremely busy there it was the perfect base for us as we spent most of the time out exploring. Probably not the best area if you want to go out locally in the evening but we walked out to dinner and back again late one night and were fine no different to station locations in other cities, just use a bit of common sense. The staff were good, once you started talking to them and ask any questions they became more friendly and very helpful. The room was much larger than I expected, you could fit a bed in the bathroom! Modern and clean with very comfortable beds. We also had a little balcony with a view across to the station and with the volcano in the distance. Breakfast was lovely, lots of pastries, some hot items and cheeses and of course the coffee was good. Not many healthy options for breakfast, some cereal but not a lot of fruit so don't diet while staying there, enjoy the cake. Sitting on the terrace for breakfast in the morning was lovely, don't sit inside.
In the room there is a safe and small selection of items in the mini bar, room service stops when the restaurant closes so is not 24 hours. The snack cart in the street at night outside the hotel sells beer by the way and it is very reasonable! There are no robes, tea & coffee making facilities or complimentary water in the room. Shampoo and shower gel is provided and replenished.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halcyon_days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Just a few minutes from the train station, this hotel had a very comfortable king-bedded room with good sized bathroom and a great breakfast buffet, with a large variety of foods. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#12 of 185 in Naples
497 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#5 of 185 in Naples
453 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#10 of 185 in Naples
1,040 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Napoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Napoli

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Garibaldi 9/10, 80142, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Mercato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Naples
#13 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#14 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#22 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £80 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Napoli 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A six-story historical building in a central position opposite the railway station, accurately restored to its 19th-century grandeur. The interiors, recalling local traditions - decors, rough tuff stones, Pompeian red, Pulcinella shapes - with impressive architectural design, give life to 89 well appointed rooms, a bar, and a restaurant on the panoramic roof garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your UNA Hotel Napoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing