We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired”
Review of Hotel Micalo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Micalo
Ranked #108 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Reviewed 1 May 2014

its a retro place to stay but getting tired and left out. BUT THE STAFF and service is one of the best. Its a pity the owners have not made an effort to update the hotel. HOpe they do because the service of their staff is unbelievable. BRAVO

Room Tip: Try to get a room without climbing the stairs to go to the confort room. )
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gorichville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed with my family 3 weeks ago. The hotel is actually situated far from the city center / shopping street, but it has its advantages. Location is Quiet at night (as the shopping strip can get noisy). There is construction happening in front of the hotel. i think they are building the underground train system.

Hotel rooms are basic. beds are clean, however the bathroom needs a bit of work. We heard noise from the pipes when we would flush the toilet, and the lavatory did not drain well. (i had to remove the drain cover, in order for the water to drain), shower was basic. Our towels were not changed.

Dimitri (the receptionst) however was the saving grace of the hotel. He gave us advice on where to go, what to do, and where to eat. He went out of his way to even help us track down an Ipad we left at the Orly airport. Without his help we would have not found my Ipad and would have not found the gardens w/ great views. Take the funicolare to the top of the mountain. You wont regret it.

breakfast was so-so...

All in all, i think that the place can be a great hotel. It just needs to be improved. Hopefully management can do something about my comments.

cleanliness is key.

thank you so much for having us!

Room Tip: some rooms have the bathrooms on the 2nd floor of the room.... not really that great especially if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retsckor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

About to compose a mini-essay on the charms of Naples and Micalò, I first read prior reviews. Now, all I need to do is endorse them: the warm welcome from Michele and Dimitri and their spot-on advice/helpfulness, the light, art-filled contemporary decor, *most* comfortable bed, delicious breakfast, and, the perfect location. The Metro construction someone commented on may be a bit of a drag but we faced the sea and it didn't hamper anything and waking up to look out on the sea was absolutely worth it.
A visit to Naples should be on everyone's itinerary. Micalò too.
Grazie mille, Michele e Dimitri.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

With the waterfront on one side with all of its restaurants and shops and on the other side narrow streets lined with bars, restaurants, and shops, and art museum, the Micalo is the perfect location in Naples, particularly if you like to walk. However, it's best asset is, Dimitrios, who is a wealth of enthusiastic information about Naples. Once he "got us" he had an uncanny sense of coming up with suggestions for things to do and see that were always spot on.

Kudos to Dimitrios and all of the hotel staff for making our stay in Naples far exceed our expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jTrigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Our second stay after 5 years and the hotel is as unique and charming as before, the staff are exceptional, the owner, bellissima. I feel so sorry they have had to suffer the ongoing works in front of the hotel, but once the new metro is open it will be a positive, but don't let that put you off, the location is perfect for those brave enough to stay in central Naples,......actually no bravery required, the Neapolitans are warm friendly and extrovert but not to be feared! Taxi drivers are a tad annoying, whilst I have passable Italian I was still the subject of ''stealth'' but done in a charming way.

This is a very unusual hotel and for people who want something different. Ritornaremo!

Room Tip: All rooms are quirky and different, but might be worth NOT having sea view due to works to the Metro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Micalo’ si the perfect place to stay in Naples. First of all the location is the best in the Gulf. Located along the Riviera di Chiaia, MIcalo’ is right in front of the spectacular Lungomare with the magnificent Mediterranean gardens between Mergellina and Castel dell’Ovo. Some of the best views, restaurants, elegant boutiques, and trendy bars are just around the corner. Unfortunately, at the moment some construction work for the subway limits a bit the beauty of this particular place which enchanting drama has been the subject of poems and paintings by some of the greatest intellectual travelers of the Grand Tour. Second I loved the transition from the hustle and bustle of the city into the immaculate comfort of the interior. Some of the contemporary art works create a colorful fascinating ambiance versus the white tonality of the general space. Rooms and bathrooms are extremely quiet, nice and comfortable and I found the duplex (bed on the ground and bath on the upper floor) very original in concept. Mattresses, duvets, towels, toiletries are of an exceptional quality! Breakfast in the morning is served in a nice luminous room which could be in Ischia or Capri. The most special character of this boutique hotel is the manager-director extraordinaire Dimitris. A Greek-Italian man who welcomes you calling you by name and with unexpected kindness (truly!!!). Dimitris puts the work of a manager at a higher level. He is truly extraordinary and literally tries to help guests like no other in the world ( and here I could make comparison with the best 5 star hotels in Italy). Beside the fact that he knows Naples well (its restaurants, theatres, monuments and museums) he has a genuine elegant and professional predisposition to be in this field. I would say that Micalo’ without Dimitris would be like Naples without Vesuvius…still a beautiful place but without a source of inspiration.

Room Tip: They are all similar and comfortable. I had a beautiful duplex connected with another room with fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sportecultura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The staff of this hotel are its greatest asset. Warm and friendly welcome from Demitri, who gave us his card and instructed us to call him if ever we found ourselves in an uncomfortable situation whilst in Naples – he would come get us in his car, even if we called after we’d checked out of his hotel. Impressive and quite reassuring on our first trip to Naples! Be aware that the hotel is not clearly marked from the street – you have to know what you are looking for (a locked and barred door onto a courtyard, which is basically a normal Naples apartment building). After you ring the bell and are buzzed through, you walk across the courtyard to another locked door (also buzzed through), and then you have to negotiate a small elevator. When it stops, you are greeting enthusiastically by Demitri, who makes you feel at home from the minute you arrive. The room we were given, #5, had a great view onto the park and the sea, although the construction outside could be bothersome at times. The room was quirky; a rock was suspended from the ceiling on a wire, and the bottom-most stair of the staircase was a rough-hewn piece of granite fashioned into a step. About that staircase: If you are elderly, overweight, or unfit (or all three, as we were), it is tough to negotiate. Steep, slippery, narrow steps with no handrail of any kind, and you must use these steps every time you visit the bathroom – very difficult in the middle of the night. Once you get to the bathroom, it’s nice, although it was hard not to get water all over the floor, even being careful. Also, the tub was difficult to enter and exit, as it was so high above the ground. The other things we didn’t like: The room’s door was flimsy with no deadbolt; the fridge was broke, as was the AC; the walls could really use a new coat of paint; the breakfast was not great, as we are used to protein (meat, eggs, etc.), but breads and cereals, with a little bit of kiwi fruit, cheese and tough salami, were the only choices here. What we did love: the view! You can walk out on the early nineteenth-century balcony and see the sun come up over the Sorrento hills, see Vesuvius in the pink sunrise, and the Villa Comunale’s palm trees over the sea. So beautiful! Also, the staff here are amazing. The room’s design is very pretty, and the restaurant choices nearby are plentiful and delicious. The location can’t be beat, with the area around the hotel being the safest and richest in Naples (we saw stores for Prada, Gucci, etc.). Also, the wifi was free and worked flawlessly. Would I stay here again? Definitely, although I would ask for a room without the upstairs bathroom.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RavennaEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Chiaia
Pinto-Storey
Pinto-Storey
#88 of 186 in Naples
266 reviews
San Ferdinando
Partenope Relais
Partenope Relais
#41 of 186 in Naples
393 reviews
Romeo Hotel
#15 of 186 in Naples
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Caravaggio Hotel
Caravaggio Hotel
#118 of 186 in Naples
250 reviews
Pendino
Albergo del Golfo
Albergo del Golfo
#64 of 186 in Naples
302 reviews
Week-end a Napoli
#31 of 186 in Naples
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Micalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Micalo

Address: Riviera di Chiaia 88, 80122, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £117 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Micalo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Micalò si trova sul lungomare di Napoli nella zona più suggestiva e centrale della città, a pochi passi dallo shopping più esclusivo e dai migliori ristoranti.All'interno di un caratteristico palazzo del 1600, il Micalò è un'incontro tra una "Guest House" e un "Boutique Hotel". Piccolo, accogliente e dal design elevato.A pochi passi dalla metropolitana per raggiungere il centro storico (Museo Archeologico, i decumani e San Gregorio Armeno) e la Stazione Centrale di Napoli in sole 3 fermate. Di fronte il Porto di Mergellina per raggiungere le isole pontine, isole eolie, Ischia e Procida. L'aeroporto di Napoli Capodichino è distante soli 10 km.Un garage costodito è distante soli 150 metri ad una tariffa in convenzione.Su richiesta è possibile prenotare una vettura privata per trasferimenti ad e per l'aeroporto, la Stazione Centrale il Molo Beverello, ed escursioni private per Pompei, Ercolano, Vesuvio, Sorrento e la Costiera Amalfitana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Micalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Micalo Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing