We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hidden boutique gem in a 16th century mansion”
Review of Hotel Micalo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Micalo
Ranked #100 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hidden boutique gem in a 16th century mansion”
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Extremely helpful and firendly staff, great price / service ratio. Very personal. Hard to find, which makes it all the more fun. Great rooms, mine was on two stories with a little balcony. Perfectly quiet courtyard that is classic Naples. I will definetely go again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaihenniges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    31
    16
    12
    3
See reviews for
21
66
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2010

A very nice hotel in the nice but not so clean town of Naples.

It´s designed with light coloured nature materials and the room was fantastic with bathroom one floor up and a magnificent wiew of the ocean. Very comfortable beds and perfect temp with A/C.

The breakfast was absolutely perfect with fresh juice, musli, fresh fruit, good coffe and pancakes to die for.....

Overall a perfect boutique hotel in Naples.

Regards,

Maria & Thomas

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thompa66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Don't listen to the guide books (Rick Steve in particular) there is a lot to do and see in Naples and it deserves your time. We stayed at the Micalo and it was fantastic. We traveled with our young children, my sister and a friend and needed many rooms. All rooms were clean and modern. We LOVED the linen sheets. Such a treat. The staff were incredible. The young lady in the front Adrianna was exceptional. She helped us with tours arrangements, dinner reservations and all other silly small things. This is a gem of a hotel. In a great location within walking distance to the Historic Center. Strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaliL_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2010

My wife and I enjoyed a one stay at this small hotel in the Chiaia area of Napoli. If you are a walker, you can walk to most of the attractive areas of the city from here. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2010

We booked this hotel via the internet and sent a detailed email that we needed rooms for 9 persons over 3 nights. On arrival we were informed that on one night we were one room short so to make up they added a portable bed into an already crowded triple room and charged us an extra 45 euros for their mistake. On the final night for 6 persons they had booked 4 rooms when we only required 2 triple rooms and insisted we pay for the extra room. We disputed this and they agreed not to charge us for the extra room which was not required in the first place and also to waiver the portable bed fee despite the fact they had erred in not booking the extra room in the first place. On departure we settled the account but on our return to Australia there was an email from the hotel that they had deducted from my credit card 180 euros for the extra room that we never wanted in the first place and also the 45 euros for the portable bed. The poor attitude and unprofessionalism displayed was the worst we have experienced and I would never recommend this hotel. Also be advised that although the rooms themselves are of a good standard, the front courtyard is unpleasant and the sole lift is extremely small.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuidoAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We picked up this hotel in Chic Retreat and felt it looked good. However, how wrong can you be. I checked before confirming our booking that the Road Works had finished outside the hotel. We were told that the works had indeed moved down the road. That's a lie. They hadn't and indeed are still right outside the hotel. The noise though to be fair is not the bad from the front and was tolerable. So why you may ask am I complaining. Well I will try and be as non partial as I can.

We stayed in a room with a sea view at the front, costing 200 euros a night. We expected a good standard of hotel.

The entrance to the building is situated between a launderette and a car mechanics garage. Also the courtyard leading to the hotel is disgustingly dirty and it felt like you were entering a prison. The Hotel is one floor on the 2nd. The entrance is ok. Daniel who greeted us tried to keep us happy, but our dissapointment at the first impression clear for him to see. The room itself looked out on to the building works and the gardens beyond.

The room itself is split into two levels, the bedroom itself is relatively small with no tea making facilities but does have a fridge. Cloth storage space is minimal. The air conditioning system doesn't work. With the windows closed at night and the padded shutters to reduce noise, it becomes very stuffy and you need fresh air!

The stairs up to the en suite are in my opinion very dangerous and very steep. THe ensuite itself is ok. However the climbing in and out of the shower is slightly tricky with a climb over and into the bath/shower made all the more difficult by the almost 1ft thick side panel. When the bath is wet, watch how you climb.

Breakfast is expensive and very nice when you get it. However each breakfast is individually made and takes ages. Even simple things like Yogurt, coffee and a bowl of fruit took 15 minutes and there was only 5 people in the breakfast area.

Location, not good. It states that it is within easy reach of the harbour for trips to Capri and Sorrento. Technically yes, but when you realise only one sailing goes from this port a day to Capri and that leaves late afternoon, you begin to realise this Hotel is not located ideally. The other (main) port is a good 35 minute walk. The main places of interest are all at least 20 minutes walk.

I would not recommend this hotel at all. Other more minor comments- Cleaner dressed in Jeans, Owner (British woman) has no interest in how you enjoyed your stay. Lumps of 'artistic' rock strategically placed to trip up on or crack your shins.

Sorry but this is not a good place. We will never be going again to this hotel. Definately not one to recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritchieWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micalo, Owner at Hotel Micalo, responded to this review, 29 April 2010
I am sorry that these clients did not enjoyed their stay with us. Most clients sent to us through Chic Retreats do. They are very selective and only accept certain types of hotels. We are a typical Chic Retreats type hotel.
I will respond to this client’s comments.
1) Micalò is set on the second floor of an old 17th-century Neapolitan palazzo. The setting is typically Neapolitan in that it is disordered and surrounded by various merchants (although the mechanic is more than 300 yards alongside the church down the road from us). Riviera di Chiaia is considered one of the most upmarket areas of Napoli, and we can be found right opposite the American consulate. We may not be the choice of someone seeking a classic 5 star hotel but the palazzo is very characteristic of the city.
2) There are a minimum of ten transfers between Napoli and Capri even in low season, so I cannot understand this comment.. Maybe there was very bad weather and some services had been suspended.
3) There are two ports near us, Mergellina across the road (5 minutes on foot) and Beverello, 5 minutes by taxi using the tunnel. If you want to walk the scenic route along the seafront in and out of the bays, to Beverello it can take 35 minutes.
4) Breakfast is ALWAYS included in the price. What does he mean it is expensive?
5)We are very clear on the website that the rooms are all duplex except on request for groundfloor bathroom.
6) Within 10 minutes walk from Micalò you will find Pan modern art museum, the Aquarium, Villa Pignatelli, Castel dell’Ovo and the main chic shopping centre. Within 15 minutes walk there is Piazza Plebiscito, San Carlo opera house, Galleria Umberto, Palazzo Reale, Napoli Sotterranea … The central historical area is easily reachable by underground, 2 stops from Mergellina station, which is 3-5 mins walk away. With respect to sight seeing I really would like to Know which other hotel is so well placed!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2009

I have never writen a review and do not like the ability of people being able to influence a person's business (in this case a family run hotel) without proper appeal. However, I have to add my comments to the Micalo review site because some of the comments I read are unjust and wrong. We stayed for 4 nights and, well, it's different! It is expensive but you get what you pay for and if you want plastic accommodation with a pool and disinterested staff, well, go look elsewhere, the Micalo is none of these, it is however, 'different' and in a way sums up Naples, in that it is a wonderful, friendly hotel with a whacky entrance that you could easily miss but, who cares? You are not staying in the entrance; so go in and see what it's all about.

Clean, excellent breakfast, really helpful people, stylish (not for the very overwheight or disabled) rooms with a mezzanine bathroom which has really cool fittings. Great bed and sheets and fluffy towels (one of my indicators of lushness!). The great misfortune are the works out front, they are very noisey and look as if they will last a while. The lads fire up the machinery at 7.30am and work on Saturday, so no lazy 'meridionale' workers here. Once the works finish the view will be super; our view was poor but, with rooms like this, you are not going to be looking out that much. I felt very sorry for them but it is completely out of their control.

One last point, Naples has many 'challenging ' locations; the Micalo is in a super place, really interesting area 10 minutes walk from the historic centre and it feels safe. I was a little concerned about what I had read but we had no problems at all, indeed the Neapolitans were friendly and helpful; a colourful bunch and boy can they talk, but we were totally knocked out by the place. Came back with wallet and watch intact. It might be the location made all the difference so if you are concerned about location in this wild, noisey, dirty and exciting city you could do a lot worse than stay in the Ciaia district.

Richard

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Partenope Relais
Partenope Relais
#40 of 186 in Naples
369 reviews
Pendino
Hotel Costantinopoli 104
Hotel Costantinopoli 104
#63 of 186 in Naples
406 reviews
Chiaia
Pinto-Storey
Pinto-Storey
#86 of 186 in Naples
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Hotel Santa Brigida
Hotel Santa Brigida
#59 of 186 in Naples
373 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Chiaia
Hotel Exe Majestic
Hotel Exe Majestic
#33 of 186 in Naples
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Micalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Micalo

Property: Hotel Micalo
Address: Riviera di Chiaia 88, 80122, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Micalo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Micalò si trova sul lungomare di Napoli nella zona più suggestiva e centrale della città, a pochi passi dallo shopping più esclusivo e dai migliori ristoranti.All'interno di un caratteristico palazzo del 1600, il Micalò è un'incontro tra una "Guest House" e un "Boutique Hotel". Piccolo, accogliente e dal design elevato.A pochi passi dalla metropolitana per raggiungere il centro storico (Museo Archeologico, i decumani e San Gregorio Armeno) e la Stazione Centrale di Napoli in sole 3 fermate. Di fronte il Porto di Mergellina per raggiungere le isole pontine, isole eolie, Ischia e Procida. L'aeroporto di Napoli Capodichino è distante soli 10 km.Un garage costodito è distante soli 150 metri ad una tariffa in convenzione.Su richiesta è possibile prenotare una vettura privata per trasferimenti ad e per l'aeroporto, la Stazione Centrale il Molo Beverello, ed escursioni private per Pompei, Ercolano, Vesuvio, Sorrento e la Costiera Amalfitana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Micalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Micalo Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing