We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel - slightly dodgy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Piazza Bellini
Ranked #2 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The decor is fresh and modern - aimed at tourists as all the signage is in English using a very informal, cartoon-ish style. The room was a good size, with simple clean decor.
The staff were generally very helpful and friendly.
The breakfast selection was good - typically continental with nice pastries, meats, cheeses and a small cooked breakfast (scrambled eggs with bacon or sausage).
The piazza outside filled with students/youths every evening drinking from bottles, and was littered with glass and discarded bottles each morning. We weren't disturbed for the most part, our room was set at the back on the 6th floor.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter. Some have balconies or are on two levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

714 - 720 of 2,159 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

We spent two nights in the Piazza Bellini in mid-October, 2013. The hotel has an excellent location in the old part of Naples. Upon arrival, don't expect a flashy exterior or a bellhop to greet you at the curb. Instead, you enter the hotel through a small courtyard which is kept gated and locked so as to limit entry. We never had a problem with being buzzed through the gate. The lobby is spare and minimal, but the staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was quite large and bright, and it looked out onto the courtyard. The only disadvantage of our room was that you had to reach it by first going up the elevator, then following a hallway which took you to the other side of the courtyard, and finally descending a relatively steep staircase down a floor to our room. Fortunately, my wife and I are fit and have no physical limitations. We would have had trouble if either of us had mobility issues. The hotel and our room were a nice refuge from the somewhat manic pace of Naples traffic and street life. This is not the finest hotel we have stayed at, but it was very good.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems, make sure to get a room that does not require negotiating a stairway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The hotel looks wonderful from the website and reviews but we were a bit disappointed. it is set in an old palazzo (tr. building rather than palace - but certainly a large, luxurious old house), and it is nicely fitted out blending modern fittings with the old building. However the result is that it is al a bit cramped. Our room was 1/3 the size we had for little more than half the price at another hotel in the same city, with little room for us and two cases of luggage (we travel quite light too). The breakfast was a scrum the first morning, and it can be a long wait for the one lift (up to the fifth floor in our case). Staff were variable - reception staff very pleasant and helpful, even when I locked the key in our room, but catering staff were off-hand. Our room was hot (and this was November) but OK when we left the windows open. There is a security safe.
The location just off Piazza Bellini is nice, but be warned the squatre is heaving with students drinking and having a good time on Thursday, Friday and Saturday, and it is quite noisy.

Room Tip: Ask to see it first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HalfyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights. The staff was very helpful, service good, hotel and room clean. The breakfast was basic, but in a very nice breakfast room. I got a room in the attic which I thought will be romantic, but the storm and all night rain made any try for sleep impossible (nothing to do with the hotel tho!). The downside would be that it had only a tiny little window so the room was not really light. If you get a room in the 6th floor, please note there are few levels and stairs you need to walk up. So if you have kids/buggy or just a difficulty to walk, ask for room in a lower floor. The hotel is in very good location, you can walk to most of tourist attractions. It is located near University, so please expect loads of young people hanging around, having a drink, smoke or just a chit chat on the square and on the streets nearby. I would not think it was anything dangerous, but as I was travelling solo, I was not feeling safe after the dusk. Although my review might sound a bit harsh, it was one of the best hotels in south Italy I stayed and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petrita99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We really loved this hotel for our 4 nights in Naples. We asked for a room with a balcony and Mt. Vesuvius was right THERE! Room was compact, but supremely comfortable, clean and modern. Only problem was that we had terrible sewer gas smell that started the second day and didn't let up. Staff kindly moved us to a room lower down, so we suggest you avoid the top floor. Breakfast buffet was excellent with espresso on order and lots of variety of meats, pastries, juices, etc.-all in a cheery setting. Located within a short walk to the Archeological museum, great pizza places and lively people watching. It is our first choice if we return to Naples.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor because of possible sewer gas smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EatApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank poeschel
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Nice hotel with excellent staff, large clean room (with a bit of a view) strong free Wifi (get a new Wifi code each day) powerful shower (with slight musty smell), very comfortable bed, effective aircon, and reasonable buffet breakfast included in the rate.
Many historic sites within easy walking distance of the hotel and about 25 minutes walk to Central Station.
My guide book was useful but Naples is a city to wander round and explore, a good map and compass always helps me.
I visited Pompeii (good) Herculaneum (better) and Paestum (best). Paestum is about 90 minutes pleasant train journey using a regional mainline train, the only convenient outward bound one was at 8.30 am. Getting back was easier. Fare €6.40 each way.
Visiting Naples is undoubtedly an intense experience but one I found rewarding. Prices are generally low and the local people helpful and friendly. Whilst care is required in big cities I felt no more at risk here(except for the mopeds and other traffic) than in other European cities.

Room Tip: My room on the 5th floor was spacious, quiet and had a reasonable view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cortontrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#3 of 185 in Naples
984 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 185 in Naples
1,504 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#8 of 185 in Naples
1,071 reviews
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#5 of 185 in Naples
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piazza Bellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piazza Bellini

Address: Via Santa Maria di Costantinopoli 101 | Centro Storico, 80138, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#2 Family Hotel in Naples
#18 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £69 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piazza Bellini 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel, housed in a restored noble palace dating back to the end of 1500, reinterprets with fresh design this historical building to offer a unique experience blending antiquity and contemporary use of space. Sometimes the hotel hosts exhibitions and installations by emerging artists. The Hotel has 48 rooms on 6 floors. It is only a few steps from the most interesting places: the Archaeological Museum, San Severo Chapel, Duomo Cathedral, San Gregorio Armeno, Napoli underground, Santa Chiara complex with its majolica cloister. At the entrance a astonishing court with columns and a fountain with some 18th century busts where the vault rooms of the reception and the breakfast room give onto. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. The Hotel as also 3 internet point near the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Piazza Bellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piazza Bellini Hotel
Piazza Bellini Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing