We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another happy stay at this great value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto
Ranked #54 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We’ve just returned from another Amalfi Coast holiday and stayed in Art Resort Hotel Galleria Umberto for 4 nights before the long flight back to Australia. Again, we were very impressed, and will stay here next time, too.

The reasons are simple. The location is fantastic, the hotel has all the facilities one could reasonably expect, the staff are very helpful and a pleasure to deal with and the room cost is terrific value for what you get. Decision made!

I’ve re-read my October 2011 comments and they were equally as true on our April 2012 trip. Two things that I could have added were:
1. Galleria Umberto itself (in which the hotel is located, on the 4th floor) is magnificent (like the galleria in Milano) and is a tourist attraction in itself. A glorious Italian public shopping gallery, with 4 glass vaulted wings and a huge dome in the middle, all of which leaves you full of awe and respect every time you see it. You come home to this each night and that is a treat in itself;
2. Speaking of treats, Sfogliatella Mary is on the ground floor in the galleria, right near the exit to Via Toledo (via Roma). It’s reputation is rightly famous. We’d heard about it but it was only after tasting some that we realised what a gem was near our hotel. Wicked little treats - the “crema” at Euro 0.6 was exquisite :-) - just downstairs!!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artresort, Responsabile reception at Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Dear Guests,

What to say? Thank you thank you thank you! We're really happy to read these kind words from you again.
You are really wonderful people and it was a big pleasure to help in having a great moment here.
We hope to meet you again!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed here at the end of March as a base for visiting Pompeii, Herculaneum and Vesuvius and it was perfect for our needs. The Alibus from the airport stops conveniently only a short distance from the hotel. The location is great for looking around Naples and not too far from the circumvesuviana train station for Pompeii etc. The hotel rooms are comfortable and the breakfast, aperitifs and room service (drinks) are very good. The staff were all friendly and helpful including help with restaurant recommendations etc. As the hotel is situated in the Galleria Umberto the area felt very safe when travelling to and fro in the evenings.
Would recommend this hotel for any short stay to Naples.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Having travelled last evening from Venice, we were booked for 3 nights at the Hotel Art Resort. I had received confirmation three days ago that all was well with the booking, but upon arrival the look on the receptionist face was all that it took to get me worried. The manager then came out and quite bluntly said that they were fully booked and I was going to be transferred elsewhere. I did ask if any rooms were still awaiting other arrivals and was, once again, bluntly told that this wasn't the case and all rooms were occupied. This was a blatent lie as I was on an organised trip to Pompeii today and met four people who had arrived late last night and were checked in. We actually picked them up from outside the hotel.

Very bad behaviour and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Getting it wrong is one thing, blatently lying in another!!








ist

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
10  Thank BKSK2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I'm sure that Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto is the best place to stay in Naples, not only because the hotel itself is very nice, but also for its location inside the beautiful Galleria Umberto and especially for the kindness of all the staff. Everybody was very nice and helpful. Our room was overlooking the Galleria, very well decorated and the view was incredible. The bathroom was a little small but it was enough . Breakfast was also very good. It is located in a very nice and safe area, you can walk everywhere of interest and we felt safe all the time. I strongly recommend this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank conxita100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Naples can be chaotic, loud and exhausting as well as beautiful, exhilarating and delicious! At the end of a hard day's touristing, I can think of no better place to stay than the Art Resort in the supremely elegant Galeria Umberto. Yes, the hotel is on the 4th floor of a 19th Century shopping mall. High up and close to the intricate glass domes, decorated with statues and reliefs that the regular shoppers down below probably never see.

The hotel is elegantly decorated in 19th C period style with new bathrooms and comfortable beds. Good double glazing and the location (high and in the shopping arcade) means that this may be the most peaceful place to sleep in Napoli.

The location is excellent - close to the sea, high end shopping, street market and key tourist sights. It is also well connected to public transport which is how one should visit Naples. Don't bring a car as you will suffer the grief of not finding parking, chaotic driving styles, and possible crime.

The staff in the hotel are super friendly and helpful - even though Naples lost their football match to Chelsea that night! - there is a welcome complimentary aperativo until 8 and breakfast is surprisingly generous for an Italian hotel, with too many delicious cakes to try.

There are only about 10 rooms in the hotel, each named for an artist with a tile replicating a famous work by that artist on the room door - though this seems to be as far as the art theme is taken. This gives the hotel an intimate atmosphere.

The location may make this hotel seem a bit quirky, but in our opinion it's what made it special and will make us go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMTMRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

24-26 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend and it was absolutely excellent. The staff were extremely attentive and made our weekend special.

Our room was in fact a small apartment, with a kitchen area, which was fully stocked. There is also a large fridge with a supply of minuture drinks and snacks etc. Our room was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet and very clean.

The hotel is split into two. You check in at the main hotel and then you are taken to the annexe.

Between 6 pm and 8 pm the hotel supplied sparkling wine etc and nibbles free of charge.

Breakfast was continental and there was plenty of food.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaureenGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The location was right in the heart of the city. But if you decide to go there by a rental car, beware we had to spend one and a half hour just to park the car. It was a nightmare. Only after one and a half hour of going around the city, the hotel management decided to help us to find a garage. they could have done this right at the beginning.
Carrying luggages to the room was a problem as the lift is far away from where you can drop them.
Breakfast was poor, rooms ok but the walls too thin and you can easily hear the next room.
I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Almiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artresort, Front Office Manager at Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comment. We always like to recevie feedback form guesta because this helps us to improve our service.
Anyway we'd like to sadd something.As the problem with the car, if we didn't send anyone before the time when we sent, it was because he was not here. As soon as he arrived, he came and helped you. To reach our lift form the entrance of the hotel, which is INSIDE the monument Galleria , is just 5 minutes on foot, since we're are on the left when you enter the Galleria.
As breakfast...I'ma surprised to read poor, becasue I remembr you rellay appreciated it. Our selection, among other things, includes: fresh fruits, yogurth, at least 5 kind of cakes, 3 kind of biscuits, 3 kind of bread, croissants (marmalade, cream and chocolate), cereals, eggs, bacon, wurstels, cheese, processed cheese, processed cheese slices, butter, marmelade( all fruits), nutella, 3 kind of juice, fresh orange juice and so on... poor? Besides, there are some photos took by guest of our buffet which can proves our wide selection for breakfast.
We're sorry to read this feedback and that we have know only now, so when nothing we can do, about your not satisfying stay.
We hope to have you again as guests and offer you a better service

The Staff and the Management of the Hotel Art Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#3 of 185 in Naples
985 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Oriente
#8 of 185 in Naples
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
#23 of 185 in Naples
1,267 reviews
Romeo Hotel
#15 of 185 in Naples
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto

Address: Galleria Umberto I 83 | Campania, 80132, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Naples
#37 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £82 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto is a small jewel settled in a historical monument in the very Heart of Naples. A luxury 4 stars rated recently opened hotel in renowned Galleria Umberto I, nearby Piazza del Plebiscito, the Royal Palace, San Carlo theatre and Maschio Angioino, priceless places to visit for tourists coming from all over the world.Conceived and furnished in a XIXth century Patrician house style, Art Resort is a rarity to be unveiled, in a typical Baroque style ambience. L'Art Resort Galleria Umberto e un piccolo gioiello incastonato all'interno di un monumento storico nel cuore di Napoli. Un lussuoso hotel 4 stelle aperto di recente nella celebre Galleria Umberto I proprio accanto a piazza Del Plebiscito, al Palazzo Reale, al Teatro San Carlo e al Maschio Angioino, mete imprescindibili per i turisti di tutto il mondo.Concepito e arredato nello stile di una casa patrizia di meta Ottocento, l'Art Resort e insieme una rarita tutta da scoprire e un tipico ambiente barocco napoletano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HostelWorld, Splitty, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Galleria Umberto
Art Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing