We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week for two in Naples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto
Ranked #53 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Week for two in Naples”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed 7 nights (8 were booked, but an electrical fault meant we had to stay one night in a nearby Mercure; this was all arranged very capably and politely by the staff at the HARGU). We didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel, leaving before 8 every morning for sightseeing (there is a very convenient bus connection to central station, for Pompeii etc.) and returning late in the afternoon for a short siesta and shower before dinner in one of the nearby restaurants. The hotel more than met our requirements, although if you don't like lots of stairs it may not be for you (there is a small lift!). The unobtrusively polite, friendly and competent service is one thing I will remember, also the individual decor (much nicer than clinical blandness of the corporate chains). We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    166
    50
    36
    28
See reviews for
85
224
24
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. Grandparents,3 Adult children, their spouses and 9 grandchildren under the age of 12 yrs. There is no parking or loading zone outside this hotel. It is impossible to stop a car to unload passengers and suitcases. Access to the hotel which is in a shopping center is difficult having to haul suitcases up steps to enter the center. My eldest son and his family were given a room with a leaking air-conditioning unit. It leaked at an alarming rate. The hotel solution was to place a red plastic cleaning bucket/pail under the unit to catch the water. It filled up and overflowed constantly. The marble floor was wet and slippery despite the number of bath towels we put down.The hotel made no apology and no attempt to fix it. I have pictures and video of this. They offered us a 10% discount on this one room out of 4. Our rooms were small and badly furnished with one cupboard to hang clothes. We did not unpack , we lived out of suitcases. The bunk beds for the children,for which they charge an additional fee, had flimsy metal struts and did not look safe..
The main bed was the hardest bed I have ever slept on. The bed-linen was cheap and we had one flat pillow each. The bath surround was dirty with mold and mildew, the shower curtain was also stained and mildew. The breakfast was not good, in fact it was dreadful. The elevator/lift was a classic we had to feed coins in to make it work and if somebody stopped it on the 2nd floor we had to put more coins in to reach the 4th floor.It was easier to walk up to the 4th floor. The hotel was noisy at night time with loud music until midnight. I would not recommend this hotel. This was the worst hotel during our 3 week stay in Italy.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artresort, Direttore generale at Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear Madame,

We remember you very well.

As soon as you entere you diecide you didnt0 like this hotel, withiout even stay here 10 minutes!
All you family were happy here.
Since you didn't like this palce, we offer to find for you another location more suitable to you, but you refuse. So, if you really dislike this place so much, why you didn't agree to change?
Your critics arent' constructive, they are only offense to us and to the city.
You write dowm some critics about the city as well, but this have nothing to see wht the hotel.
We only undestand you like most the nort than the soyht of Italy.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Great hotel. Possible down side first - you do need to go up and down in the lift, only three people at a time, or walk three flights of stairs. You have your own key to get into the front door. Obviously, only a problem for some people, no problem for others. There is 24 hour reception once up the stairs and you can ring for assistance whilst downstairs.
We stayed in the annexe. The room was the standard double. High ceilings, big windows overlooking the galleria. Our friends, another middle aged (young at heart!) couple, had a room overlooking the street. Bed comfy. Decor good. Air conditioning great. Bathroom was ample, with a jacuzzi and over bath shower. Our friends also had a huge shower head. Breakfast room was a lovely open balcony, with a roof, overlooking the galleria on one side and the street on the other. Breakfast was fine, egg bacon bread croussants tiny cakes lovely fresh fruit yoguart. Tea. Coffee was good. Fresh fruit juice. We enjoyed free drinks and nibbles in the late afternoon on the breakfast balcony. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Taxi from the train station to the hotel cost 15 euros. Back to the station it cost 11 euros. The area was a good area, no trouble, very central, a short walk to the waterfront. Seeing the galleria from 'on high' was an added bonus and having breakfast on the balcony was a wonderful start to the day.

Room Tip: The rooms we had in the annex, standard doubles, were excellent. One overlooked the galleria, one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed in 7 different places in Italy during the trip and it was the worst place. Real disappointment! fake style! The hotel itself is very old and non-renovated, in rooms you can find even dust! Don't try to use jacuzzi! In other all your bathroom will be dirty. The breakfast is awful - nothing to eat....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Viktorija_lt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artresort, Responsabile reception at Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having found the time to leave your feedback here.
We're sorry to read you didnt' satisfy your stay here.
We would have done anything to improve your stay, if only you had said something during the stay. Complaining now after leaving our hotel doesn't allow us to offer your a better stay.
As for the breakfast, everyday we're ready to prepare anyhthing you wish, it's suffice to ask.
We generally offer: yogurt, fresh fruits, cakes, croissants, tomatoes, cheese, ham, bacon, eggs, sausages, cereals, milk, bread (different kind), butter, marmalade, fresh orange juices and so on...
We welcome any kind of comment from our guests, because this hels us to imrpove our service, but we invite any guest to speak with us to solve ANY problems.
We hope to see you again in future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentonville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2012

A great place to stay in a perfect location to see Naples and to enjoy great food and wine Caesar and the staff provide great service with attention to every detail. The Galleria has good shopping and good restaurants are near by. The Brandi restaurant is the home of Pizza Margareta. This pizza is great and the local wines are perfect.
Try a cafe de creame for a dessert treat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the main floor near the front desk and breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alton E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This hotel is unbelievable. You feel like you are in a Queen's guest house. All the furnishing were appeared to be stolen from a palace. From the reception area, to the hall way and then to the room were all spotless. I forgot to mention the bathroom which is spotless too. I want to specially emphasize about the breakfast. Freshly squeezed orange juice, freshly cut fruits, crosscents and the hostess fried the eggs to our liking and cooked the tasty sausages. I forgot to mentioned that the hostess made the best coffee in Italy. (I have to ask to make my coffee a little bit hotter which she kindly obliged.) The wifi internet worked perfectly too. There is no weakness of wifi signal at all. We asked the reception staff to booked a taxi for us as we were worried about notorious taxi drivers and we were surprised that the taxi driver gave us a written receipt. What else do you want ! We were placed in the second part of the hotel (which is in the same complex) and the hotel porters took our bags with smiling faces. BRAVO boys ! Now the negative part about this hotel. THE LIFT. You need to take the lift to reach the 4th floor of hotel reception. This lift is antique. Put Euro 0.10 coin into the coin box to make it moved. I was a tourist and I have a lot of notes in my pocket and finding Euro 0.10 coin was very painful to me. The room that I got was facing the shopping area arcade so it has a terrific view. Early in the night, there were some kids playing ball so there were a bit of noise. By 11:30pm they all went home and it was very quiet. I hope my experience at staying at this hotel will help other travelers to size up this hotel is suitable for them to stay. If you are a traveler looking for some unusual experience and value for money accommodation, you should definitely go there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandySydneyAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed in this hotel after Med cruise prior to departing thru Naples airport. You won't believe your eyes and the "lift" is a classic ! ! Situated on the 4th floor within Galleria Umberto and surrounded by sumptious decor and period furniture and fittings.
Truely an experience to behold.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a spare 10c coin in your pocket for the "lift" just in case to open the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiri49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Hotel Santa Brigida
Hotel Santa Brigida
#57 of 186 in Naples
370 reviews
San Ferdinando
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
#23 of 186 in Naples
1,174 reviews
Porto
Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 186 in Naples
954 reviews
Palazzo Turchini
#48 of 186 in Naples
403 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto

Property: Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto
Address: Galleria Umberto I 83 | Campania, 80132, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Naples
#37 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto is a small jewel settled in a historical monument in the very Heart of Naples. A luxury 4 stars rated recently opened hotel in renowned Galleria Umberto I, nearby Piazza del Plebiscito, the Royal Palace, San Carlo theatre and Maschio Angioino, priceless places to visit for tourists coming from all over the world.Conceived and furnished in a XIXth century Patrician house style, Art Resort is a rarity to be unveiled, in a typical Baroque style ambience. L'Art Resort Galleria Umberto e un piccolo gioiello incastonato all'interno di un monumento storico nel cuore di Napoli. Un lussuoso hotel 4 stelle aperto di recente nella celebre Galleria Umberto I proprio accanto a piazza Del Plebiscito, al Palazzo Reale, al Teatro San Carlo e al Maschio Angioino, mete imprescindibili per i turisti di tutto il mondo.Concepito e arredato nello stile di una casa patrizia di meta Ottocento, l'Art Resort e insieme una rarita tutta da scoprire e un tipico ambiente barocco napoletano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Galleria Umberto
Art Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing