We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel....But location and getting to the hotel really complicated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto
Ranked #60 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Even for the locals is hard to find a parking place around and also after that youneed to go by foot 5-7mins, as the hotel is exactly inside the galleria.
To get to hotel you need to use elevator, sometimes it asks 10cents to get up or down (you can ask at the reception). Anyway the elevator is really small and sometimes some "smart" guests dont close the door of the elevator, so you couldnt use it. Its really seems like a problem.
Hotel by itself is really sweet, nice decorated rooms.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms dont have access to fresh air, as they are inside the galleria.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svetlana_zam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stay one night coming from Positano but the lady at the reception very rude with tremendous aptitude and arrogant
And the hotel very good location but you hear everything about the guess next room even when the use the loops ridiculous

The television doesn't work.
Te breakfast ok very poor really cold
I never go back to that hotel
And the idea to put a coin if you want to use the elevator

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ady M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed for 1 night in june on our way back from the Amalfi coast. Naples seems like world's apart from the charm of Amalfi and we felt distinctly uncomfortable walking around on the streets in the historic center. The hotel is located inside Galleria Umberto which seems like a relatively safer area with easy access to monuments and shopping. We actually got an upgrade to a suite with windows overlooking galeria umberto. Word of caution - It gets very lonely at night, so it's safe to get back to the hotel before it gets dark. The elevator is old style which is characteristic of historic buildings in italy. The lobby was decorated with interesting sculptures. Unfortunately that night the wifi just would not work which impacted our ability to plan the next day. The breakfast was decent but the hotel seemed relatively empty when we stayed there. The front desk was very friendly and helpful but they could do nothing about Wifi that night. Naples is still considered dangerous, so it's best to avoid an overnight stay in Naples if you can. I feel bittersweet since the architecture of the buildings in Naples is so beautiful but unfortunately the people don't care enough to keep it in good condition. The vibe seemed to indicate that Naples is on the rise again but hardly found any tourists at important sites compared to other places in Italy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelmusings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The art hotel is amazing.
I went there with a friend on may and we loved it!
The hotel is situated in the center of Naples, not so far from all the attractions and the historical center. Outside the hotel there's a good pastry front desk where we had delicious fogliatella.
The hotel itself is very cool and it reminds me living in the 18th century.
The breakfast was good and coffee excellent.
The staff was very kind, helpful and friendly.
The room was a bit small but with a nice balcony.
the only thing I didn't like was the lift to reach the hotel on the 4th floor: we had to pay 10 eurocents every time. I think the hotel should give some coins to customers because it's not so good to stay in a 4stars hotel with the services not included.

Room Tip: ask to have a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The location of the hotel is very good, close to the city center and to all the nice places to see in Naples.The hotel is a perfect for a city break. It offers great value for money.
The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Overall this place is fantastic with lots to offer and rooms that are well thought out to please. I have stayed several times and this last room was the nicest. Big downside is the fact the bathrooms are next to (or seem to be) the bed and you get washed away.
Nice breakfast choice abd staff are very friendly and happy to help!
Relatively good value for money off season too

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tav5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

My wife & I arrived there on our honeymoon. The hotel is in the beautiful Galleria Umberto. When we arrived we were suprised with a free upgrade on our room because we were on our honeymoon. The room was fantastic spacious, beautifully furnished and clean.

The hotel had great service and we enjoyed chatting with the staff in the breakfast room in the mornings. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lukenuke777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artresort, Direttore at Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Good monring from Art Resort,

we thank you for your beautiful words with which you describe out hotel and the kindness of our staff.

We hope to have you in future again here.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Oriente
#10 of 185 in Naples
1,110 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
San Ferdinando
Partenope Relais
Partenope Relais
#48 of 185 in Naples
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
San Ferdinando
Hotel Santa Brigida
Hotel Santa Brigida
#63 of 185 in Naples
392 reviews
Romeo Hotel
#16 of 185 in Naples
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto

Address: Galleria Umberto I 83 | Campania, 80132, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Naples
#41 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £88 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto is a small jewel settled in a historical monument in the very Heart of Naples. A luxury 4 stars rated recently opened hotel in renowned Galleria Umberto I, nearby Piazza del Plebiscito, the Royal Palace, San Carlo theatre and Maschio Angioino, priceless places to visit for tourists coming from all over the world.Conceived and furnished in a XIXth century Patrician house style, Art Resort is a rarity to be unveiled, in a typical Baroque style ambience. L'Art Resort Galleria Umberto e un piccolo gioiello incastonato all'interno di un monumento storico nel cuore di Napoli. Un lussuoso hotel 4 stelle aperto di recente nella celebre Galleria Umberto I proprio accanto a piazza Del Plebiscito, al Palazzo Reale, al Teatro San Carlo e al Maschio Angioino, mete imprescindibili per i turisti di tutto il mondo.Concepito e arredato nello stile di una casa patrizia di meta Ottocento, l'Art Resort e insieme una rarita tutta da scoprire e un tipico ambiente barocco napoletano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Galleria Umberto
Art Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing