We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto
Ranked #58 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The hotel is lovely and in a gorgeous setting. We stayed 4 nights in October. The room was great (310 beside reception), bed a little hard but we slept well! Had no problem with wifi. Breakfast had plenty on offer, cereals, fruit, meats/cheese and pastries. Staff were very helpful and always had a smile! Would stay here again.

Although people say it is dangerous around Naples at night, we found it no more so than any other city and so long as you are sensible, you get to see it in a different light.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aud12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

You will be taken care of from the minute you arrive until the moment you depart. All the staff are outstanding ESPECIALLY Vanna who is fluent in English and French (and maybe more). Vanna is a key member of the team and she and her colleagues (Sabrina, Enzo and Manuel) bend over backwards to help you in any way they can. Stephania served us breakfast and compilmentary apperitives, including Prosecco, in the late afternoon. She is very sweet and hard working. We had Room 101 for the 3 of us. 3 single beds. Immaculately clean. The air conditioning is a PLUS as there is a quite a lot of reverberating noise late at night from activity in the Galleria, and so you do not want to sleep with the windows open. I am thankful for my wax earplugs. A "MUST" when travelling. People make noises late at night, middle of the night or early in the morning which is normal. But I was not bothered as I had my earplugs!!! We did not have a problem with the elevator. Yes, it is old but it works. You sometimes need 10 cents to get it activated but not always!! The staff are happy to give you coins for coming and going. Just make sure you have some spare in your pocket. The location is perfect right in the heart of the city: A few mins walk from the funicular which takes you to Vomero (check this out online)..... and a few mins walk from major piazzas..... and minutes away from the "Hop on Hop Off bus" which is a brilliant way to see Naples. Loads of activity and interesting places to visit. This hotel is pretty, interesting, arty (sculptures, murals - especially the beautiful angels - and paintings) and clean.

Room Tip: Bring your earlplugs. We had a room 101 which we used for 3 (2 single beds and a single couch bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LovesAttnToDetail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Fantastic location, inside the Galleria Umberto. The Hotel is next door to Teatro San Carlo and close to the historic Palazzo Reale. The main thoroughfares, Via Toledo and Via Chaia are right there. The staff was friendly and eager to help. Sabrina and Vanna were wonderful to deal with and are a credit to their employer. The buffet breakfast and Happy Hour were nice touches.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RNL568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed August 16th through 19th 2013. Our experience was fine with the hotel. The people at the front desk were pleasant and helpful. It's an old hotel, but clean. I will say Napoli has a different feel than other City's visited. I did not feel comfortable and decided not to take the planned walk I had previously mapped out prior to arriving. Yes, I understand it is a very old city and that is one of the reason's I wanted to visit, however I found it very trashy. People litter the sidewalks with no regard and the graffiti is a shame. I did not take a lot of pictures while there due to this. My son and I stayed close around the Galleria during the evenings but did walk to the train station during the day to go to Ercolano. Next time we'll stay in Sorrento or Ravello which are absolutely beautiful villages.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Even for the locals is hard to find a parking place around and also after that youneed to go by foot 5-7mins, as the hotel is exactly inside the galleria.
To get to hotel you need to use elevator, sometimes it asks 10cents to get up or down (you can ask at the reception). Anyway the elevator is really small and sometimes some "smart" guests dont close the door of the elevator, so you couldnt use it. Its really seems like a problem.
Hotel by itself is really sweet, nice decorated rooms.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms dont have access to fresh air, as they are inside the galleria.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svetlana_zam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stay one night coming from Positano but the lady at the reception very rude with tremendous aptitude and arrogant
And the hotel very good location but you hear everything about the guess next room even when the use the loops ridiculous

The television doesn't work.
Te breakfast ok very poor really cold
I never go back to that hotel
And the idea to put a coin if you want to use the elevator

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ady M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed for 1 night in june on our way back from the Amalfi coast. Naples seems like world's apart from the charm of Amalfi and we felt distinctly uncomfortable walking around on the streets in the historic center. The hotel is located inside Galleria Umberto which seems like a relatively safer area with easy access to monuments and shopping. We actually got an upgrade to a suite with windows overlooking galeria umberto. Word of caution - It gets very lonely at night, so it's safe to get back to the hotel before it gets dark. The elevator is old style which is characteristic of historic buildings in italy. The lobby was decorated with interesting sculptures. Unfortunately that night the wifi just would not work which impacted our ability to plan the next day. The breakfast was decent but the hotel seemed relatively empty when we stayed there. The front desk was very friendly and helpful but they could do nothing about Wifi that night. Naples is still considered dangerous, so it's best to avoid an overnight stay in Naples if you can. I feel bittersweet since the architecture of the buildings in Naples is so beautiful but unfortunately the people don't care enough to keep it in good condition. The vibe seemed to indicate that Naples is on the rise again but hardly found any tourists at important sites compared to other places in Italy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelmusings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#3 of 186 in Naples
989 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 186 in Naples
1,080 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
#23 of 186 in Naples
1,284 reviews
Romeo Hotel
#15 of 186 in Naples
1,134 reviews
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto

Address: Galleria Umberto I 83 | Campania, 80132, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Naples
#41 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £81 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto is a small jewel settled in a historical monument in the very Heart of Naples. A luxury 4 stars rated recently opened hotel in renowned Galleria Umberto I, nearby Piazza del Plebiscito, the Royal Palace, San Carlo theatre and Maschio Angioino, priceless places to visit for tourists coming from all over the world.Conceived and furnished in a XIXth century Patrician house style, Art Resort is a rarity to be unveiled, in a typical Baroque style ambience. L'Art Resort Galleria Umberto e un piccolo gioiello incastonato all'interno di un monumento storico nel cuore di Napoli. Un lussuoso hotel 4 stelle aperto di recente nella celebre Galleria Umberto I proprio accanto a piazza Del Plebiscito, al Palazzo Reale, al Teatro San Carlo e al Maschio Angioino, mete imprescindibili per i turisti di tutto il mondo.Concepito e arredato nello stile di una casa patrizia di meta Ottocento, l'Art Resort e insieme una rarita tutta da scoprire e un tipico ambiente barocco napoletano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Galleria Umberto
Art Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing