We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and great host!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Domus Gemi B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Domus Gemi B&B
Ranked #12 of 619 Naples B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Perfect location and great host!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

What I was really impressed with is that Pasquale, the owner, went out of his way to help us and point out things to do on a Naples map. He also helped us navigate a taxi to and from his place and met us outside the b&b. He is very friendly and welcomes you into his "home." It's very clean and there is plenty of water stocked up in the fridge for you. We also bought some wine and cheese and stored them in the fridge and later enjoyed them before we went out for dinner.

The B&B is perfectly located in the historical center and we just walked everywhere. Definitely try the limoncello factory nearby and pizza joints! We also loved our Neapolitan breakfast treats and espresso at the cafe across the street.

Naples has some character and can be a bit noisy at night, but we really enjoyed our 2 1/2 days there...eating and sightseeing!

Room Tip: Recommended: Large corner room facing the San Paolo Maggiore Church
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerberagirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    96
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
60
205
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Himself and I stayed in the 'grande room' (the one pictured in the profile of Domus Gemi) for four nights and we were certainly not disappointed!

On arrival into Napoli Centrale station (first time I'd been to Italy) and then the walk with our cases up to Via dei Tribunali, I wondered what on earth I'd got myself into... it was loud, dirty, chaotic and seemed dodgy - even the street numbers didn't seem to make sense! We found #309 to much relief and Pasquale greeted us at the door shortly after we buzzed. He kindly lugged my heavy case up the three flights of stairs to the entrance to Domus Gemi then sat us down for cold sparkling water whilst we relaxed - just what we needed.

Pasquale then talked us through all the different sights etc we should see (in his very broken English) and is clearly passionate about his city. Afterwards he showed us to our room and we were amazed at both the size and the location of it!

Our room was huge (with an equally huge adjoining bathroom) and sat on the corner with two windows/balconies from which you can observe the street life (which in itself is a lot of fun). There is also a big couch which is very welcome when you want to come home and just relax for a bit away from the hustle and bustle.

The rest of the B&B has a small kitchen, fridge (but watch the top shelf - it froze our tomatoes and rocket solid and they didn't recover...) as well as a communal computer for use. Wifi in our rooms was also great.

The free breakfast is across the road - a pastry of your choice and a hot drink (tea if you don't like coffee was very pleasing to Himself) though if you need extra fibre in the morning you could easily store milk, fruit and cereal at the B&B as well.

Location was perfect - a bit of a walk to the station (we did this trek quite a bit going to Pompei, Vesuvius and in and out of Naples) but right in the centre of the old town and only a stone's throw from some of the best pizzerias in Naples. This makes it great to just pop back for half an hour or so of relax time if you need it or to drop things off (be sure to try the Limoncello place just up the road too...).

On leaving, Pasquale again carried my case down the stairs (so helpful of him!) and wished us well on our travels. We would definitely stay here again when in Naples and will recommend it to all that plans on exploring this interesting city!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spbeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

This is the second time I have stayed here. It really is the perfect place form which to see Naples: you are in the heart of the city, away from the Train station (where things can get dodgy), on a beautiful square that bustles with life.

Pasquale is the ideal host -- he wants to share the joys of his city. This isn't a luxury hotel, but it does quickly come to feel like a home. The breakfasts are a treat: you go across the street to a little cafe, where fancy coffees (or transcendent hot chocolates) and local pastries are provided. You feel like you are part of the city, sipping on the coffee as the bustle of Naples walks by.

It's an easy walk to the museum, and this area of naples is safe to explore on foot. I really recommend the Underground Naples tour, which is just across the street. It's maybe a 15 minute walk to the train station for getting to Pompeii or Herculaneum.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

Room was large and clean, the breakfast across the road was great, perfect location with easy walking to the port, shopping streets and all the best pizza places. Pasquale was very welcoming and helpful with all of our requests. Will definitely come back to stay here when we return to Napoli again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Highly recommended B&B - spacious if not luxurious (tiny shower cubicle!). Pasquale is the perfect host - we phoned from the train station and he drove immediately to pick us up, also carrying our luggage up the stair case! We did think the walk would have been ok though. Good amenities - Wifi did not work so well in the rooms, but was fine in the common areas (there is also a computer available). Private bathrooms, but as mentioned the shower cubicle is tiny! Also a nice kitchenette area, perfect for making a cup of tea!

Perhaps brush up on your Italian (we found it easiest to text when needing to communicate with Pasquale).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katyfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Our experience in Naples could not be so amazing as it has been and this especially thanks to the owner Pasquale and his B&b in the hearth of the city. He helped us from the beginning (carrying our luggage to 3rd floor where the b&b is located) till our last minute in there. We cannot ask for a better room. Look is not like a B&B room. We like to travel a lot and in most of cases we didn’t find rooms like that in a 4 stars hotels. Air conditioning (we didn’t need to use because there was an unusual weather in Italy), LCD TV, Wi-Fi (but Pasquale permitted us to use the pc in the lobby, especially when we had to print out our check-in) and clean and fresh refurbished bathroom (big and comfortable). Our room, actually what the owner call “suite”, but he showed us the other rooms and the different is just in the presence of 2 balcony just on “piazza San Gaetano” and “San Gregorio Armeno”, where you can find very original figurines made by hand (we took for our-self William and Kate, such cute and nice). Situated in a strategic position. We visited the most important places of the historical centre just walking, walking and walking. Everything it’s close to it, except “Pompei”, a city completely hided from one of the last Vesuvius explosion; an experience that will touch your hearth and you can't miss it if you looking to go in Naples. Pasquale advised us also some “pizzeria” and local restaurant where we really ate good and not so expensive. We can just say thanks to B&B Domus Gemi that gave us the opportunity to have an amazing time and to discover most of the hidden parts of the city and also to understand how the Neapolitan people are worm. We advise this B&B if you want to feel as a home and we are sure that you will be exactly like as when we left…. Just want to go back and live again that magical feeling with this magic country. THANKS, THANKS, THANKS!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulinka010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

I stayed 1 week in April with my friend. The location was great, near everything we wanted. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I would recommend it & I will go there this year also. The owner Pasquale, was such a help!!! He helped us even during our trip to book in very low prices other b&b in other cities in Italy. very nice of him...
From Lebanon. Sandra

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#3 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#4 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#11 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Pendino
Atmosfere del Centro Storico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Gemi B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Gemi B&B

Property: Domus Gemi B&B
Address: Via Dei Tribunali 309, 80138, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 619 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Gemi B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property located in the heart of Naples just a few meters from the sites most 'important large rooms with private bathroom, air conditioning and TV. Furthermore the rooms overlook the famous street of cribs "San GREGORIO ARMENO ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domus Gemi B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing