We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tribu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tribu
Ranked #228 of 619 Naples B&B and Inns
1 review
“Perfect home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

Tribu was the perfectly cozy place for me and my son to stay during our six day visit in Napoli. The artistic atmosphere created by the friendly owners, Gaetano and Alessandra, was so pleasant. Its location, in the heart of the old city, made it easy for us to explore by walking everywhere. Also, we spent an afternoon visiting Sorrento and another day in Pompeii, each an easy train ride away. We hope to return to Napoli, soon, and will definitely choose to stay at Tribu B&B, our "home away from home"!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azade123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    32
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
17
83
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

Picked here largely because it said it was run by artists, and so I thought it'd be interesting. Lived up to expectations - rooms really nicely done (minimalist so not going to be a pain if you don't like their art) and breakfast more like an art installation than a meal (bread/marmalade and a tiny cake was about all I was willing to touch each morning).
Best thing though were the owners, who were incredibly helpful: not just in the things you'd expect, telling me where to get transport and where to buy tickets for the Napoli soccer match, but also where you wouldn't, like encouraging me to go to an art opening on the night I arrived since they'd be interesting people there with stories to tell (I'm a journalist so always up for story).
Stayed, oddly, in two rooms in two nights - I'd booked a more expensive one, but they offered me another at a cheaper price after realising I was by myself.
Decided to try both. The first with a balcony was fantastic, the other on a mezzanine didn't have a window and was much less spacious so I'd recommend avoiding that if given the option.
It's in the atmospheric Centro Storico area of Naples, about 15 minutes walk from the station, near some great pizzerias. I found it perfectly safe and didn't mind wandering back at 2:30am on a Friday night... But each to their own.
Oh, only other thing is breakfast's at a set time in the morning, 8:30 Saturday, I think, 9am Sunday, and the rooms are near the kitchen so if you're a light sleeper like me you may get woken up by the sound of metal on cutlery. Check out's at 10am. Basically if you're the sort of person who likes to lie-in until midday, it may not be for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, TX
Level Contributor
260 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Enter through the giant, ancient, courtyard door into a modern decorated, clean, comfortable B&B. Several room configurations will fit your group. We especially enjoyed breakfast on the balcony. Great hosts who will spend the time talking and planning your stay. Go back out the huge door and you are back in the ancient city away from your peaceful oasis. We will be back for more adventures.

Room Tip: The rear room with the balcony was very peaceful and had a wee breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

This is our second stay here (four years ago we were here too) We have a nice room, with a mezzanine for our son. It is over 35degrees Celsius out, but inside it's better than expected because of the draught between windows, door and terrace...no airco here (that's the missing star). But there is a beautiful room (designed by owner/architect Gaetano) soberly but beautifully decorated with non standard furniture & terracotta of Alessandra, the other owner.. Good beds. Balcony. Nice breakfast on the terrace, fresh tomatoes & homemade jam. Terrace you can use all day,like the fridge, like the sitting room. Very welcoming hosts, who helped us plan the rest of our holiday & callup befriended b&b owners....if ever in Naples again, we'll stay here, in the middle of Spaccanapoli!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jooren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-on-Avon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We spent two nights here and would thoroughly recommend it. It's in a perfect location, right in the centre of the old city, with terrific restaurants and many of the most interesting sights on the doorstep. Gaetano and Alessandra are very welcoming and the contrast between the ancient and rather broodingly atmospheric courtyard and the bright and modern interior of the B & B is very striking. An excellent, interesting and unusual place to stay.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

I had a wonderful stay. A small family b and b in a 13th cent courtyard and palazzo in the heart of old Naples,perfect for a spring or autumn break. Gaetano and Alessandra are very warm and welcoming and the continental breakfasts on the terrace are a great feature. Inside, the noise of the street is lost and you can sleep peacefully and be ready for another hectic day. Day trips to Ischia, Capri ,Pompei Vesuvius and Sorrento are very easy by ferry or train so there is a huge variety of things to do. One small thing If you do go try to get them to buy a new front door lock wrestling with the key may be an extra security feature but in practice is maddening at the end of a tiring day.

All in all five star !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I just came back Naples Italy, I spent a few days at the Tribu Bed & Breakfast. It is funny and funky and very off the grid! The location on Via Tribunale couldn't be better. it's the center of the Historic Center of Naples with Churches and pizzaerias at every corner. The hotel is owned by two artists. It's a surprise in a ancient buliding. Totally modern and hip, up three flights of stairs,
quiet , with great light and a beautiful terrace for breakfast or just chilling. . You need to be the independent type to stay here. But if you are cool to figure it all out with a map and a little guidance from your hosts, Geatano and Allesandra, it's a very interesting choice in Naples.

Room Tip: It's a B & B. It has been newly remodeled. the rooms are homey and comfy. the bathroom are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jt1LosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Pignatelli Hotel
Pignatelli Hotel
#142 of 190 in Naples
3.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#4 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Pendino
Hotel Costantinopoli 104
Hotel Costantinopoli 104
#71 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Pendino
Re di Napoli Bed
Re di Napoli Bed
#226 of 619 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribu

Property: Tribu
Address: Via Dei Tribunali 339, 80138, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 619 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the Tribù Bed and Breakfast is on the centrally located Via dei Tribunali in Naples’ historical center. Gaetano and Alessandra, the B&B young, architects and artistic proprietors, have created a modern and invitino place within the walls of the Palazzo d’Angiò, one of the citi’s oldes residential buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tribu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing