We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful place to stay”
Review of Donna Adelina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Donna Adelina
Ranked #189 of 816 Naples B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed three nights and felt very at home. Francesca and the others are really helpful and friendly, and the room was great- spacious and very clean. I stayed in the corner room, which opens out onto both Via Garibaldi and the Piazza Nolana itself, and it's busy outside, but what else do you expect in a big city? The windows are double glazed and there's air con if you want to shut the sound of the traffic out. Surrounding streets are a bit iffy but I felt fine there and it's a great location to get out and explore all day. To reiterate what others have said: make a note of the directions on the other reviews because it's hard to find without them, and give them some idea when you're arriving. And if you speak some Italian, all the better, though Francesca's English is pretty good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

B&B cf a hotel. Not easy to find in piazza. Is on the second floor of an old building. However is clean and secure, The Owner is very friendly and helpful. Quiet despite position and has air con. Ideally situated as a base if sight seeing via public transport. Local excellent quality restaurants. Very friendly locals. We had an excellent 4 day mini break celebrating our anniversary.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Georgina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at this B&B in Naples for 3 nights.

The location is very convenient as it is close to the central train station and the Circumvesuviana train station, but on the other hand the neighbourhood is quite shady and rough. It was easy to find, but it's a bit uncomfortable to walk around in the dark. We were supposed to check in at 7 pm, but our train was very late and in the end we arrived at 6 am and we were still able to check in without issues, which was very nice service. The rooms weren't anything special, but good enough. The rooms were not cleaned that well, there was a cigarette filter under the bed and the toothbrush cup in the bathroom clearly had not been swapped/cleaned. The rooms had air conditioning, but we couldn't find the remote - it wasn't that hot so we didn't ask about it. The inner courtyard is a bit noisy and could disturb lighter sleepers. The breakfast included in the price was convenient, but no freshly baked bread (only bread in plastic wrappers). Wi-fi is available.

All in all a decent experience if you don't expect too much.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Ill start with a refernce from mattfromlancs ... the place is hard to spot ... when you find the old gates of naples turn round... you will see a church in front of you... look to the left you will see the roma bar on the corner ... btw 1.20 euro for a beer .. fill up there before heading into town lol you'll pay average of 8 euro for the same bottle else where ... now between the church and the bar ... theres a big wooden door to a courtyard... ring the buzzer and ... up the stairs 2nd floor and your in ... theres a lift if needed ... the communal area is well equiped everything you would need and the room are clean tidy and better than most for italy ... francesca .. she owns the place is helpful not fluent in english but we got by cos i dont speak a word of italian.. i know im ignorant :P ... the place is a bargain for the price 45 euro works out round 39 quid i was staying in london few weeks back and you would pay a hundred there... if you want to have a secure clean base to explore from i would strongly recommend this place .... a final point ... matt i have to agree the cleaner was keen ... she must have two jobs cos she was hoovering outside to get our room ... i told her to go have a coffee she laughed and smiled and came back when we were ready to leave ... this place i would stay in again ... one final point... we got back round 12am and the only places open where a few restraunts near the station ... from the roma first right .... well priced and relaxed willing to feed and stay open as long as your eating and drinking... naples station is the roughest place ive ever been but 2 minutes away and you will be happy... naples and the surrounding area have alot to offer its a must visit... this place is well priced and a good base clean and tidy ... thankyou x

Room Tip: Find the Roma Bar and look for the big wooden door .. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

B& B Donna Adelina is in a great place from which to experience Naples.The area is busy & bustling but that's Naples.The B&B is a great place though. Everything has been thought about. The welcome was warm.We were given advice about where to go & the name of a brilliant restaurant.The rooms were clean. The breakfast was especially good considering the hostess doesn't live on site. We loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

First, a warning. The area around the hotel is rough; not 'a bit grubby' (that describes the whole of Naples), but properly seedy at night. We didn't feel any hint of danger, but don't stay near the train station if you can't cope with seeing tramps and prostitutes.

Second caveat: its hard to spot the actual entrance, read the tip below if you do stay.

That out of the way, this place is great value. We paid EU45 per night, staying 4 nights in total, and were given a plushly decorated suite, virtually an apartment. It came equipped with fridge, TV and air con. A family would have had plenty of room. The decore has definitely seen better days, but at this price range it was above expectations.

Francesca (the owner?) was extremely helpful and friendly, recommending some very nice restaurants. Donna Adelina is a pensione (private B n B), not a hotel, so she wasn't around much, but was available by phone, and lives next door. Breakfast was self service, but very pleasant, cakes and biscuits were great- more coffee needed!

The only significant problem was the housekeeping. The cleaner seem rushed, toilet roll wasn't replaced twice and towels forgotten once. All easily solved, but irritating. Overall cleanliness was acceptable.

Definitely worth it if you like an authentic experience.

Room Tip: To find the Donna Adelina: 1. Go to Piazza Nolana (5 min from the central train station). 2. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mattfromlancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Not only is B&B Donna Adelina in a perfect position, moments by foot to the train station, Piazza Garibaldi, Centro storico, Porta Nolana (etc., etc.) it is also an absolutely beautiful place to stay. Attention to detail in every aspect, it is the kind of accommodation that makes you feel instantly at home. Francesca and her sister are not only hospitable, but eager to assist and their sincere interest in making your stay pleasant is apparent. Hospitality aside, the rooms are impeccable, immaculately clean and elegantly decorated. The balcony overlooking Piazza Nolana was an unexpected amenity. This is a B&B I will return to every chance I get.
An added perk: it's only 500 meters from Napoli's famed L'antica pizzeria da Michele, home of some of the best pizza in Naples. Close enough to order take-out and enjoy your Margherita on your balcony, escaping the 2-hour wait times of those trying to dine-in.
With regards to those reviews criticizing the location as "dodgy", clearly they don't understand that every location in central Napoli falls within the "dodgy" category. Naples is not a village in Bavaria, this is Italy's Hells Kitchen. If you don't want "dodgy", then don't come to Naples. This is a disaster of a city, but that's what makes it beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SBrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Mercato
Napoli Suite
Napoli Suite
#39 of 816 in Naples
392 reviews
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#49 of 185 in Naples
950 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 185 in Naples
2,207 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#8 of 185 in Naples
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donna Adelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donna Adelina

Address: Piazza Nolana 13, 80100, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Mercato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 816 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range: £39 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Donna Adelina 1.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Donna Adelina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing