We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bev & Gary”
Review of Pompei Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pompei Resort
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Pompeii
Birchington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bev & Gary”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Our first experience of the Pompei Resort hotel was when I phoned from the rail stn for directions. They told us to wait and sent someone out to pick us up. The hotel was spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and located in a quiet location. The staff were all very friendly & helpful, particularly Michela who's greeting each day made you feel you were the most special guest in the hotel. Our bedroom was of a good size with a great steam shower and balcony looking out to mount Vesuvius. The bedrooms were cleaned to a high standard daily. Breakfast was most ample with a full range of pastries, bread rolls, cereals, cheese & meat etc. Pompei town centre, which was lovely, is about a 15 min walk from the hotel. In day time it is absolutely fine to walk and we felt it was safe enough to walk back in the evening. However there is a great restaurant/pizzeria over the road from the Pompei Resort called the Maccarone that is very clean and friendly. We ate there 3 evenings and found it offered a varied menu with pizza's starting at less than £4.00. There is a little supermarket 10 mins from the hotel in the direction of the town centre. The Pompi archaelolgical site (scavi) has two entry points. The nearest to the hotel, which is just off the town centre, is about a 15 min walk. Note this is not the main one and, as such, does not supply the audio guide (approx £6.00 or £10.00 for two) which I suggest is a must unless you have got a good book/map. (Plenty of which are on sale around the Town). If you do wish to hire an audio guide you will need ID or bank card which they keep till you return it. The main entrance to the site is about a 40 min walk from the hotel but the hotel does put on a shuttle bus in the morning to take you there and will arrange a time with you to pick you back up. From Pompei Circumvesuviana stn we visited Sorrento that was well worth a visit. It takes approx 40 mins each way and costs about £4.00 ish, if I remember correctly. Another great site to visit, again reached the above station, is Herculanium. On getting og the train there is a mini cab company that will take you there and pick you up approx 3hrs later for 5 euros. They also do trips up mount Vesuvius for 18 euros. In hind sight we should have done both Vesuvius and Herculanium on the same day using this company. They would probably do you a deal and if you are fit enough it would not be to difficult. You can visit Vesuvius from Pompei town, which we did but was disappointed by the company we used Tramway. Although they gave you a discount vouchure it still worked out the same as they then 'over' charge you the entry charge to go up to the crater. Not only that but we were due to set off at 10 o'clock but we were still waiting at 10.30 as the rep was still trying to get more customers and then when we did he called the driver back as he had found a few more and therefore eventually setting off at 10.50. There was another company that did trips to vesuvius from Pompei that presented themselves more professional called Busvia Vesuvio. All in all the Pompei Resort is a great hotel in a great place to visit some great places.

Room Tip: Ask for views of Vesuvius
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    439
    138
    30
    25
See reviews for
287
550
29
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

i agree with many other reviewers. The hotel is clean and comfortable (though the bed was too hard for me). It is only around 10mins walk to town, I think the lady with children must have taken a bizzare route if it took 45 minutes, and we never saw a sewage plant.

I do think in this day and age, with satalite tv, more English speaking channels could be provided, particularly as it is classed as a conference hotel

I found the corridors were too dark, lights above the doors highlighting the room numbers, but dark floors, dark walls and no lighting was a bit unnerving.

The staff are helpful and the breakfast was plentiful if you like cakes and pastries, it would have been nice to have had boiled eggs also.

The shuttle bus times were displayed in reception and you needed to book for a specific time, it not, the driver would assume he was not required, which I think is reasonable.

I agree with the lack of local information. But this seemed to be a theme of Pompei as a whole, there were 2 Information Centres marked on maps but they both closed many months ago.

No tea/coffee making facilities? What is it with people. It is not standard in Europe to get a kettle in your room, it is a UK thing. take your own !

We would stay at this hotel again if we come back to Pompei and would recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: We were in room 211, at teh back of the hotel, all information states a view of Vesuvius, which we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Very nice stay at Pompei Resort with our 11 eleven-year old daughter (she liked the shower very much). Very helpful staff. The hotel is 15 min walk from Pompei centre, so it is quiet and the shuttle service makes it easy to reach the station and the ruins. Good value for money. There is also a nice restaurant and pizzeria just the other side of the road (Anfiteatro), which is worth a visit. We would definitely recommend this hotel for visiting Pompei ruins.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We visited Naples, Amalfi coast, Sorrento and Capri, and of course Pompeii ruins; for all this the town of Pompeii is located perfectly. The hotel served very well as a base for us: the staff was eager to serve in all occasions, the breakfast was plentiful, although a bit too sweet, the rooms and bathrooms were modern and well equipped, and the area was very peaceful. The surroundings of the hotel, however, could have been less ascetic; it seems that the area is still developing from a small-scale industrial area into a hotel one.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heikki_fiftyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Good hotel, good rooms and breakfast, very good location and excelent service (special thanks to Emilia from reception).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victorjurevich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed for 3 days in October. Very easy access to autostrada if driving and secure parking. 10 minute walk to town centre and 15 minutes to ruins. Hotel offers shuttle bus service but times are not very flexible. Very clean room, good size, smart ensuite with spa shower but difficult to adjust water temperature. Also you have to ask reception to adjust your room temperature. Excellent buffet breakfast with good range of choices. Very helpful staff throughout hotel. We had a pleasant evening meal for 2 (ask for "half board" menu) including wine for 45euro. We also ate at Restaurante Carlo Alberto for 35euro including drinks. We spent nearly 6 hours at the Pompeii site - go early and head for the Antifeatro entrance - much nearer the hotel, and quieter as fewer coach parties use this entrance. We consider this hotel offers a good standard for a very reasonable price, and recommend it. Whilst in Pompeii we also went up Vesuvius (you can drive yourself) and used the Circumvesuviana train to visit Naples. The Pompeii and other exhibits at Museo Archeologico Nazionale are tremendous.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed here for a week in October. The hotel is a good 20 minute walk from the ruins and although there is a courtesy bus into town, it wasn't always available when we wanted to go. Our room, 206 was small but clean. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom ( pink and green)was good and had a hydroshower which we had to figure out how to use ourselves. Breakfast was 7 - 10 am and on one morning there was no one around and we had to ask at reception for coffee. There was no hot food at breakfast and mainly pastries, but they were very good. The staff were helpful and polite, especially the girl at reception.The restaurant was very good but the menu remained the same. The restaurant staff were good . On one occasion we wanted an omelette but it wasn't on the menu. The maitre de asked the chef to cook it for us and he did. I think this a good family run hotel but as you would probably only go to Pompei to see the ruins, I think if I went again I would stay nearer the centre.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leegoffin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 25 in Pompeii
1,526 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 25 in Pompeii
1,017 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bosco de' Medici
Bosco de' Medici
#3 of 25 in Pompeii
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#7 of 25 in Pompeii
522 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Visagi
Hotel Visagi
#8 of 25 in Pompeii
160 reviews
1.7 mi away
Costa Hotel
Costa Hotel
#4 of 25 in Pompeii
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pompei Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pompei Resort

Property: Pompei Resort
Address: Viale Unita' d'Italia 16/A, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pompei Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute stroll from Pompeii's ruins, stylish and modern Pompei Resort offers a convenient location near the motorway, the main railway station and the Circumvesuviana line. A free scheduled shuttle takes guests to the town centre. The luxurious rooms are beautifully decorated and well-equipped, containing hydromassage showers and saunas as well as standard amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Pompei Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing