We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”
Review of Pompei Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pompei Resort
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Pompeii
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Excellent service, very clean and modern rooms - I cannot recommend this hotel enough! Pompeii the town is very touristy and busy, hard to drive and get around. This hotel was a welcome respite from the very average town. The shower is awesome - it has 5 different settings including a massage setting and I think it's a feet cleaning/massaging setting. I was sad to leave this shower! We paid €59 for one night which included car parking and a great breakfast - best value we have had in Italy. It's close to ruins and tours will pick up from here. We had a view of Mt Vesuvius from the balcony (room 201). 2 of us had dinner and wine for €35, again well worth the money. Service was outstanding, you are escorted to your room and shown through. Bar is well stocked and all staff friendly. Has free wifi as well. If you go to Pompeii stay here!! The ruins are amazing, get a tour though, the history is amazing and you won't get it if you do the tour yourself.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drumrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2011

There are better hotels in Pompeii!! I have been to Pompeii several times over the past few years. We stayed here for 2 nights, 8th and 9th of December. Although the facilities at the hotel are very good - the shower being a particular highlight, the walls are so thin we could hear our neighbours switching the lights off in the next room. We could also hear talking from rooms several doors down from ours, which when we checked was just at normal conversation level. I don't usually have a problem with noise - people should enjoy themselves on holiday, but I do expect some privacy in my hotel room!
The location also isn't great, at my pace it's at least a 20min walk from the excavations, through a fairly run down part of Pompeii.
The breakfast was OK but not what I have come to expect from a four star hotel, my advice would be to shop around, there are much nicer, more convenient places to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faerieoracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and I would recommend this to everybody who visits Pompeii. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the location was fantastic- very close to the site, and the food at the restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. The breakfast was continental, but didn't have too many choices of juice and fruit, but after we shared this feedback with the staff, they changed it the next day. The rooms were cosy and comfortable too. Our experience was fantastic and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Axtab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

The hotel is easy to reach from the autostrada, and we enjoyed our stay just as much as the first time. Our room was extremely clean as was the rest of the hotel and again we really enjoyed the very good breakfast and the very kind staff in the breakfast room. We sure will go there again !!!!
A recommndation for dinner would be the restaurant Kobe nearby in Pompei, were we had the most tender beefs' I have ever tasted. Do try it

Niels

Room Tip: Rooms to the parking place ( the entrance ) has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niels k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

This hotel is very difficult to find. It's off the main street (and no signs), and have to go through a very quiet street that has literally nothing. It's very misleading to advertise walk-able distance to the ruin as we were driving around the ruin entrance for a long time trying to spot the hotel. To make it worse, it's not located on Viale Unita d'Italia as indicated, it's on Via Acqua Salsa!!!

The internet was not working for us, both the wifi and wall jack. I checked with the front desk late at night and was told the machine that print password was broken. I checked again in the morning, it's still not fixed. They eventually fixed it just before I check out.

Having said that, the hotel is decent. The shower is fantastic. Breakfast is good. Staff is always polite.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, particularly Michela ,also at breakfast [ Anna and staff were also very friendly ] our room was cleaned to a high standard daily. It was a joy to stay there I would recomend it to anyone .We walked to the centre of Pompei each evening and ate in the Pizza e Pasta on the corner of Via Carlo Alberto ,their food and local wine was so good 5 stars for them too

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Our first experience of the Pompei Resort hotel was when I phoned from the rail stn for directions. They told us to wait and sent someone out to pick us up. The hotel was spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and located in a quiet location. The staff were all very friendly & helpful, particularly Michela who's greeting each day made you feel you were the most special guest in the hotel. Our bedroom was of a good size with a great steam shower and balcony looking out to mount Vesuvius. The bedrooms were cleaned to a high standard daily. Breakfast was most ample with a full range of pastries, bread rolls, cereals, cheese & meat etc. Pompei town centre, which was lovely, is about a 15 min walk from the hotel. In day time it is absolutely fine to walk and we felt it was safe enough to walk back in the evening. However there is a great restaurant/pizzeria over the road from the Pompei Resort called the Maccarone that is very clean and friendly. We ate there 3 evenings and found it offered a varied menu with pizza's starting at less than £4.00. There is a little supermarket 10 mins from the hotel in the direction of the town centre. The Pompi archaelolgical site (scavi) has two entry points. The nearest to the hotel, which is just off the town centre, is about a 15 min walk. Note this is not the main one and, as such, does not supply the audio guide (approx £6.00 or £10.00 for two) which I suggest is a must unless you have got a good book/map. (Plenty of which are on sale around the Town). If you do wish to hire an audio guide you will need ID or bank card which they keep till you return it. The main entrance to the site is about a 40 min walk from the hotel but the hotel does put on a shuttle bus in the morning to take you there and will arrange a time with you to pick you back up. From Pompei Circumvesuviana stn we visited Sorrento that was well worth a visit. It takes approx 40 mins each way and costs about £4.00 ish, if I remember correctly. Another great site to visit, again reached the above station, is Herculanium. On getting og the train there is a mini cab company that will take you there and pick you up approx 3hrs later for 5 euros. They also do trips up mount Vesuvius for 18 euros. In hind sight we should have done both Vesuvius and Herculanium on the same day using this company. They would probably do you a deal and if you are fit enough it would not be to difficult. You can visit Vesuvius from Pompei town, which we did but was disappointed by the company we used Tramway. Although they gave you a discount vouchure it still worked out the same as they then 'over' charge you the entry charge to go up to the crater. Not only that but we were due to set off at 10 o'clock but we were still waiting at 10.30 as the rep was still trying to get more customers and then when we did he called the driver back as he had found a few more and therefore eventually setting off at 10.50. There was another company that did trips to vesuvius from Pompei that presented themselves more professional called Busvia Vesuvio. All in all the Pompei Resort is a great hotel in a great place to visit some great places.

Room Tip: Ask for views of Vesuvius
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 26 in Pompeii
1,568 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 26 in Pompeii
1,062 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bosco de' Medici
Bosco de' Medici
#3 of 26 in Pompeii
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#7 of 26 in Pompeii
566 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Maiuri
Hotel Maiuri
#6 of 26 in Pompeii
63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pace Pompei
Hotel Pace Pompei
#8 of 26 in Pompeii
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pompei Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pompei Resort

Address: Viale Unita' d'Italia 16/A, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Pompeii
Price Range: £47 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pompei Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute stroll from Pompeii's ruins, stylish and modern Pompei Resort offers a convenient location near the motorway, the main railway station and the Circumvesuviana line. A free scheduled shuttle takes guests to the town centre. The luxurious rooms are beautifully decorated and well-equipped, containing hydromassage showers and saunas as well as standard amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pompei Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing