We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Quite What We Expected.”
Review of Pompei Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pompei Resort
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Pompeii
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not Quite What We Expected.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

if arriving by train the taxi is €15-20 euro from the "old town" at Pompeii Scavi to the hotel. The hotel is a good 20 to 30 minutes to the ruins depending on which entrance you use. Our bathroom didn't have a toilet seat, the room did not have a safe as advertised and the shuttle bus wasn't working yet the hotel offered no alternative to transfer you to the ruins. Big disappointment as "not as offered". Breakfast was pretty sparse. - there were cereals on offer, sweet cakes, bread and cheese.. But only a bit. Unless you really want to stay in Pompeii, do as a day trip and give the hotel a miss. We clearly stayed at a bad time noting the other positive reviews.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wayleybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    441
    139
    30
    25
See reviews for
288
552
29
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay, the rooms were big and clean and the bathrooms were all nice and new. The breakfast had a really big variety, too bad we were in a rush to the airport that morning. Beds were comfy, and there was no noise at all during the night. We loved the robes made into swans on the bed. The staff seemed a little overworked and tired. An amazing restaurant right across the road called Ristorante Maccarone - do not miss it!! Wifi was ok.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bardrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Modern hotel, clean rooms and for me, travling with a car, very apropiate with parking.
Close to the "Ruins" and the city centrum.
The staff were very helpfull both in the hotel and in the restaurant.
Kindly recomanded!

Room Tip: Are YOU traveling with a car YOU have here a very good hotel alternative!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biju_gbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torquay devon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel is situated some 20 minutes ( pleasant) walk to the excavation and is nicely away from the hussle and bustle with good views from the room balcony.. If you have a car, there is hotel parking and the hotel is situated only 400 metres from the A3 exit ( signed Pompeii Est, Scafati).- ensure you get the correct exit. There are eating places close by but the hotel evening meal choice is to be recommended. We left some very expensive jewellery at the hotel by accident and the hotel staff were honest enough to retrieve it and keep it safe for us to collect - how refreshing!! Would stay again.

Room Tip: get one with a balcony, well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckieTorquayDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is modern with bright colours. Our room was clean and had a balcony with electronic shutters that kept the room cool. The shower had multiple settings and there was a good selection of toiletries provided. Car park is large and secure. It is a 20 minute walk to the ruins and approx 15 to the centre/square.
The best thing is the staff who were really friendly, let us practice our Italian and provided guidance -though their food recommendations are only sister hotels so we went with tripadvisor recommendations!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is located at a distance from the center and quite a long walk from the archeological sites and from the better restaurants. Our room was relatively large by Italian standards and had a balcony overlooking its beautiful grounds. Unfortunately, the toilette did not have a toilet seat and the bathroom window came off its hinges and almost fell on my daughter. When we complained, they offered to move us but to a much smaller room. Some of the staff was friendly and eager to please, particularly Ornella. However, if yo ask them to recommend a restaurant, they refer you to two affiliate restaurants. One is a food court style place with very mediocre food. The breakfast was limited and not at all fresh. The coffee was horrible which in Italy is inexcusable. All in all though, it is relatively inexpensive and a good value.

Room Tip: Don't ask for food recommendations from the staff as they will send you to their affiliate resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pompeiresort, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Pompei Resort, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,
first of all I would thank you for the review posted on Tripadvisor. I'm sorry about some of the matters mentioned in your review.
Our staff following with concern the guests stay and we noticed that you had not shown disappointment on breakfast.
All windows have two types of opening, the traditional and wasistas so the windows could not fall.
Finally we required a toilet seat but unfortunatelly did not arrive at the right time.
We hope that this inconvenience has not interfered consistently on your stay with us.
All the staff of Pompei Resort will be more than honored to welcome you in the near future with all the greatest attention of our truly 4 star service.
kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Our trip to Pompeii was a golden wedding present from our sons, we had no idea what sort of holiday this would be! The hotel staff were friendly and helpful with transport, travel advice, where to go, how to get there and what to see. The general manager, Ornella Gramaglia, always had a bright smile and provided excellent service from early morning to late evening. She went the extra mile on every occasion even asking the manager of the ruins to have his staff search for my (sentimental value) sun hat and providing me with another when it was not found! The hotel was a longish walk from the Pompeii Scavi station but the quiet situation of the hotel and the peaceful view of the garden from our room made up for this. Our room was spacious, with a comfortable bed and a balcony with the imposing Vesuvius in the background. Everything in the hotel was spotlessly clean. A wide choice buffet breakfast was served by smiling staff at tables with crisp linen. We enjoyed staying in Pompeii as it was convenient to travel to Sorrento and onwards to the Amalfi coast and Capri and back to Herculaneum and Naples. There is a frequent train service in both directions which is reasonably priced but often crowded. There is plenty to see from the ruins in Pompeii and Herculaneum to the breath taking views of the Amalfi coast and Capri which we saw by bus and boat. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Pompeii Resort and I would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 26 in Pompeii
1,536 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 26 in Pompeii
1,025 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bosco de' Medici
Bosco de' Medici
#4 of 26 in Pompeii
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#6 of 26 in Pompeii
527 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Visagi
Hotel Visagi
#8 of 26 in Pompeii
161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Maiuri
Hotel Maiuri
#7 of 26 in Pompeii
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pompei Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pompei Resort

Property: Pompei Resort
Address: Viale Unita' d'Italia 16/A, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pompei Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute stroll from Pompeii's ruins, stylish and modern Pompei Resort offers a convenient location near the motorway, the main railway station and the Circumvesuviana line. A free scheduled shuttle takes guests to the town centre. The luxurious rooms are beautifully decorated and well-equipped, containing hydromassage showers and saunas as well as standard amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Pompei Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing