We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for Pompeii” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camping Zeus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Camping Zeus
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good location for Pompeii”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights camping. The location is excellent for Pompeii and only a 30 min drive to Mt Vesuvius. You could take a shuttle bus to Vesuvius from the camp ground but it costs significantly more than it would to drive, pay for parking and pay for entry tickets.

The grounds are quite charming, with orange trees and lots of greenery and the price for two adults camping with our car next to our tent cost €22 per night so €66 for 3 nights. I found this quite reasonable as it is a tourist spot. The hot water for the showers was nice and hot. They had a decent wifi connection that cost €2 for 1 hour, €5 for 24 hours, or €10 for 72 hours. After the 3rd night the wifi is free. I think €10 for 3 days is pretty affordable.

Unfortunately there was also some negatives. The bathrooms were not the cleanest - the first time I went to shower there in the female showers there was animal droppings in the corner of the shower cubicle! They were too small to be one of the campsite cats but too big to be a mouse or rats and thankfully not human. There was no hot water to wash dishes in, the shop and restaurant on site (though not sure If they are affiliated) was quite expensive, and the campsite backs onto a train station so this can get a little noisy. However the worst thing about the campsite was the staff. They could barely bring themselves to look up from the computer or their mobile phone to assist you when you entered reception.

All in all an average run campsite in a great location for an okay price.

Room Tip: They tell you to pitch a tent anywhere but I'd avoid the grassed area near the bungalows as this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brendanandmerrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    28
    49
    38
    26
See reviews for
56
63
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

A handy place to stay for a visit to Pompeii, with an entrance about 100m down the road. Small sites and hours of entertainment watching the large campers trying to fit in while avoiding the trees. Sadly, it is noisy and doesn't have clean bathrooms. The mens shower area was disgusting, doors wouldn't close, no locks or hooks, with mould and rather nasty smells. The womens were a bit better but still smelt bad. Sometimes the staff were nice and sometimes not. Very touristy area, I wouldn't take the family out at night. If you need a place to stop to visit Pompeii then yes, otherwise no.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZtourier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pompeii hotels

Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Magnifique, Adorable, Admirable, Brillant, Céleste.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Feggaraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We booked a bungalow for 5 nights. The bungalows are located right on the other other side of the wall separating them from the train tracks. (This is not a problem unique to this campground, but the noise level was exceptional here) The bungalow was a nice size, with a large bathroom, but unfortunately it is equipped with only doors. Since we stayed there in the middle of a heat wave and there was on air conditioning, we had no way to ventilate the building unless we opened one of the two doors. At 2am it was an oven inside with a cool breeze blowing outside, which we could not take advantage of and sleep at the same time.
The restaurant closest to the campground is not part of the facility and closed at 8pm. there is no small store nearby. Closest food after 8pm was in the center of town.
Really it is only a place to sleep, not very welcoming at all. We left after the 1st night.

Room Tip: Bungalows have no secure ventilation. Only doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olgask8s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamata, Greece
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

Camping Zeus is ideal for visiting Pompeii, just a means to an end! Whilst the camp site is clean and well maintained the staff are totally unhelpful. The pitches are small (room only for caravan or average sized camper), large campers will have difficulties. Cars are to be parked away from the pitches. There are good toilet & shower facilities but no hot water in the washing up facility location. Access to water supply for refilling vans etc. is also difficult.
Outside the camp site there are ample eating places, but take care these closed at 1800hrs (this may be out of season only, but it was May), they are also quite expensive for what is served.
All said and done, the site cost is reasonable for its location and as I stated at the start, a means to an end!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGrocer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long beach, ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

I came prepared to camp out, but the bungalows were so reasonable that it made more sense to take one. This is very basic. But the en suite restroomis clean and the water is hot. It is literally next door to the ruins and to the scavi train stop. Also it is the jumping off point for the courtesy bus to vesuvius.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

we were camping here in late March. I guess it was an old orange grove because there were orange trees in all the campsites. it was very clean, quiet, and the people at the front dest were super helpful. this campsite is right next to the entrance of Pompeii. and pretty close to the cite center itself. i would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank royaannmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompeii
0.9 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#8 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa dei Misteri
Villa dei Misteri
#18 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
10.6 mi away
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio
0.3 mi away
Fortuna Village Pompei
Fortuna Village Pompei
#1 of 24 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Zeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Zeus

Property: Camping Zeus
Address: Via Villa Dei Misteri 3, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Camping Zeus 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Camping Zeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing