We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for the prize”
Review of Camping Zeus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Camping Zeus
Ede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place for the prize”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We only stayed one night but it was quite nice! We stayed in one of the rooms which was quite nice for the price. We only had a little ant problem in the evening but it wasn't so bad that we made a big deal out of it. Pompeii is right next to it and that is what we were there for. The grounds have their own shop and restaurant though with a 20 minute walk you can also get to a large supermarket which is a little cheaper then the shop. The train station is right next to it aswell.

Overall decent room, nice staff and good location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RavenxAlmasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    31
    51
    39
    30
See reviews for
59
68
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

An excellent location for visiting Pompeii, and Naples. We stayed a few nights and visited both Pompeii and Naples.

You couldn't ask for a better location, in particular, for Pompeii which is right outside the camp site. There is also Pompeii station just next door. Strangely enough the train noise wasn't that big of a deal.

Our biggest complaint would be the showers. They dribble rather than run. Terrible!

Car spaces are quite close together but at least it is green. Hope you get reasonable next door neighbours.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank two_tees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This camp will always be busy due to it's excellent location right by the railway station and with organised buses to Mount Vesuvius. BUT!! Be warned, the welcome at reception is non existent, no greeting, no info, sort yourselves out because they do not give a damn! My refund request for the five euros (spent on the appalling wifi) nearly caused a riot! Get in, see the sights, and get out!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shirleyb759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pompeii hotels

North Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
194 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Although a campground in the middle of an orange grove..We stayed in their modern 2 story hotel the campground is on one of the circumvencia stops, no walking...the property has a restaurant and store ..the office is always ready to help. The Mt. Vesuvius bus is on the property..hop back on the circumvencia and in a few stops there's Herculaneum .. Entrance to Pompeii is just a few steps outside the campground ..the room we had was clean, beautiful tile floor, ceiling to floor glass doors with balcony..Reading other reviews I would hesitate to have stayed here.. There were no ants, the hotel was not under the the train tracks, the room was not shabby, the bathroom was new and clean no water problems..towels,sheets fresh and clean..with their rates so low I didn't expect much, but was pleasantly surprised. If your going to be exploring the ruins I recommend Zeus campground ...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigbillsbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Good bits. Location for Pompei excellent. Easy to find. Good size room. Lots of hot water.reasonably cheap. Staff helpful. Bad bits. Shabby. Window in bathroom would not close. Heating intermittent. Drains backing up through floor grating initially. Not very clean. Towels and sheets full of holes. Massive ant infestation in room. No toilet seats. Room shakes as trains pass. Very noisy as cleaners drag trolleys up and down till midnight servicing rooms that have been occupied for two hours by older men and young ladies. Paper thin walls. We heard it all.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villeneuve
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here in our motorhome for several days because it is so convenient for the train and the Pompei ruins. And - usually - Wifi covers the whole site (unless it is not working which happened several times and needed the staff to reset the system). The showers are - usually- hot. Those are the plus points. The major negatives are that our van quickly became infested with ants that were impossible to get rid of. The site is crawling with ants - despite changes of pitch we could not get rid of them, they came pouring in. The showers are very old and the sinks are bordered with the slime of years - I did not want to wash in them or even put my towel down near them. The staff are sometimes helpful, but often surly and unwilling to be bothered. The location is great but that's about it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vall47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailey, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed in room #3 at Camping Zeus for one night. It was right up against the train tracks, so we became intimate with the train schedule. The room was clean enough, though not spotless. The sheets, though clean, were a bit tattered. Bad lighting made the room dim. We had a good laugh at the sign on the door (in Italian) that warned us not to write on the walls. The worst part was the sound the toilet made when we flushed--it started as a low pitched but loud groaning and gradually increased in intensity and pitch over the next four to five minutes. I've never heard a toilet make that kind of noise. We laughed because it reminded us of Mt. Vesuvius every time we flushed. The location is good because it is very close to the entrance to Pompeii and to the Circumvesuviana train station, but you might be better off staying in Vico Equense.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twoskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompeii
1.1 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 25 in Pompeii
1,524 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 25 in Pompeii
1,015 reviews
10.6 mi away
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa dei Misteri
Villa dei Misteri
#19 of 25 in Pompeii
149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#7 of 25 in Pompeii
521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fortuna Village Pompei
Fortuna Village Pompei
#1 of 26 in Pompeii
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Zeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Zeus

Property: Camping Zeus
Address: Via Villa Dei Misteri 3, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Camping Zeus 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Camping Zeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing