We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic Pompeii”
Review of Scavi di Pompei

Scavi di Pompei
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45.57*
and up
Ancient Pompeii Guided Small-Group Tour
Ranked #1 of 90 things to do in Pompeii
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Home of the world's most famous volcanic disaster when Mount Vesuvius erupted in 79 A.D., Pompeii is now a significant archeological site that provides an amazing glimpse into the daily life of an average Roman town over two thousand years ago.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Epic Pompeii”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Pompeii is amazing! It look us 7 hours. But this was also because there were quite a few rain showers. There is a cafe near the forum in the middle of Pompeii and I would recommend this as a good rest area when you need to refuel and keep going... Don't bother with the guided tours, the audio guide gives enough information and you can go at your own pace. Downsides of Pompeii were the many areas closed off and lack of information and signage throughout the historical site. Have fun, wear good shoes, take an umbrella, hat, sunscreen, pack food, a drink bottle (there are many water fountains) and give yourself the whole day.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Josepine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14,442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,861
    3,267
    848
    305
    161
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Novo Mesto, Slovenia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This was my second time in Pompeii and I must say even while seeing it the second time, the place didn't lose its charm. We spent a large part of the day walking around the ruined city trying to see as much as possible of what's left of this once great city. It is a huge place though so before we started our walk we marked squares, houses, theaters that we wanted to visit which made the walk a whole lot easier for us because we weren't just wandering around aimlessly but actually got to see most of the main attractions. It was also pretty great having the audio guides because actually knowing what some building or room was used for helps your imagination recreate how things actually looked.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pompeii”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

A great day trip. A must see. 97AD like it was yesterday. Take a guided tour from a local guide for best results.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank dshetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I have been wanting To visit Pompei for yrs And it was soooo worth it!!
It was hot, yes, but we managed a great deal of the site with two tired children in tow.
Ideally we would have split the day into 2 visits, as we ran out of steam before the end, but we had promised the kids an afternoon at the hotel pool in reward for surviving the long hot walk.
Saying that, we saw enough; The people, theatre, stadium, inside houses, the main square, the potters workshop, And even decided To leave Herculaneum!!

Tip: stay in the shade (there was usually a strip along each road created by the buildings.)
The children liked stopping at the numerous water fountains To wet their heads!!
We sat down for a little picnic half way around.
We also brought a book for the children on what the sites looked like before And after the eruption.
When they got tired, We let them sit in the shade outside some of the buildings whilst we looked inside.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A sight worth viewing”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Having viewed this ancient site, with loads of work still to be done to uncover the vast amount of ruins it was humbling and stunning to visit this site, and to see an ancient city was amazing.

There is so much to see, almost too much to see and we used the maps and the booklet provided, this was great however on the map there were more numbers than there were in the guide book, and it was so easy to get lost walking down the endless roads.

To see the old bath house and the theatre were some of our highlights from here.

We were staying in Sorrento so it was so easy to get the train from there to Scavi station and its a 5minute walk, our advice would be to get there early, as it opens, by doing this you avoid some of the heat that is unforgiving - there is no shade or escape from it. You will also get there before any of the cruise or other tour groups so the queue is non existent. As we were leaving the queue was huge.

Whilst you could stay here all day after a morning of walking around we had seen enough.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kslade86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scavi di Pompei also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Ercolano, Province of Naples
 

Been to Scavi di Pompei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing