We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible”

Pompeii - Archaeological Area.
Book In Advance
More Info
US$23.76*
and up
Pompeii Archaeological Area Entrance Ticket
Ranked #1 of 80 things to do in Pompeii
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Home of the world's most famous volcanic disaster when Mount Vesuvius erupted in 79 A.D., Pompeii is now a significant archeological site that provides an amazing glimpse into the daily life of an average Roman town over two thousand years ago.
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

What an amazing place. Taken by a tour guide who brought the place to life. Little shade and a very hot area so take plenty of water and Wear a sun hat!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19,321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"audio guide"
in 942 reviews
"wear comfortable shoes"
in 206 reviews
"free map"
in 182 reviews
"we spent hours"
in 133 reviews
"bucket list"
in 277 reviews
"ticket office"
in 248 reviews
"walking shoes"
in 192 reviews
"plaster casts"
in 194 reviews
"bring water"
in 180 reviews
"bottle of water"
in 138 reviews
"main entrance"
in 224 reviews
"circumvesuviana train"
in 141 reviews
"huge site"
in 142 reviews
"lots of water"
in 105 reviews
"an amazing place"
in 150 reviews
"own pace"
in 158 reviews
"porta marina"
in 102 reviews
Filter

922 - 926 of 19,321 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2018

We went here at 3pm in early June during the season when it closes at 730pm. The crowd was thin and we rented the audio guides which is very handy and a map was provided from the rental booth. You have to exchange your passport or identity card for them and retrieve it to you when you return the devices. They don't provide you with the earpiece, so if you want to be comfortable instead of holding it against your ear all the time, bring your own. It will be useful when you visit other museums. Having visited countless museums, the disposal earpieces provided with the audio guides are barely audible . The place is so huge that only certain sections of the pompeii was excavated. To see everything you really will need a whole day to appreciate the lives of people who once lived there. Whether century ago or modern time, the fundamental of civilization is the same. It is really a beautiful place (my top fave in Italy) and really glad to have the opportunity to visit having heard so much about this place. Outside of Pompeii, there is no shortage of souvenir shops touting by roadside, cafe etc. It is not as "ashy" as imagined.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Pansy_Seah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

We drove to Pompeii from Sorrento and did the trip independently, we would recommend visiting early morning as it gets very hot walking around and it gets busy with groups by mid morning

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank KIm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Pompeii is absolutely amazing. Getting to walk around the real, perfectly preserved streets of the ancient Roman settlement is surreal. It is definitely a must see.

We went first thing in the morning and spent 3 hours. We used the excellent Rick Steves Audio Europe app guide as PompeiiMap apps to guide ourselves and I think we got everything we needed to from those - no need to pay for tours.

I would recommend going first thing as Pompeii has no cover and is so hot trying to tour in the heat of the day would be difficult. Take a water bottle to fill at the numerous fountains around the site.

I have marked down for 2 reasons.
1 - the obnoxiously huge tour groups of 10,20 or 30 people who stick together constantly and take over any small area of interest (of which there are many) I would certainly suggest groups like this should be banned and split into no more than 10 to make the whole experience better for everyone

2 - the pre-booked ticket system is pointless. buy a ticket online, only to queue and exchange it for another ticket before going to the gate. There are dedicated 'online ticket' queues, but they hardly move faster, and there is so much misunderstanding people take a long time at the counter asking questions as they are often in the wrong line.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank andysE1144ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Me and my family wanted to see the city of Pompeii which we had heard so much about. We bought a book before went in, but we had no guide. We went around the city while looking at the map. We didn't go everywhere, but we got to see a lot of interesting things. I enjoyed our trip. I'm really glad we went. And i would recommend it.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Hisakata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pompeii - Archaeological Area. also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
 
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
Anacapri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Pompeii - Archaeological Area.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing