We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for seeing Pompei” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amleto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Amleto
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Pompeii
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect for seeing Pompei”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2007

My wife and I stayed here 2 years ago, but, having just signed up on TripAdvisor, I'm just getting around to writing about it now. We had a lovely stay. We were in the corner room on the first floor - beautiful cool tiles everywhere, a charming balcony and perfectly useful bathroom. The breakfast was really great - a huge selection of pastries, meats, cheeses and fruit. We got a kick out of the internet in the lobby but resisted any temptation to check e-mail. The Hotel Amleto is beautifully situated for seeing the excavations. You're just a couple blocks from the rear entrance, so, if you get there early in the morning, you have Pompeii all to yourself. It can really be magical without the hordes of tourists. Pompei is actually a semi-charming little town with several very nice family-run restaurants. The hotel is also just a few blocks from the Pompei Train Station, making it easy to get to Naples for the Museum and Herculaneum - truly a must-see. Stay at the Amleto a few days - you won't be sorry.

  • Liked — Location & style
  • Disliked — A bit noisy in the evening
  • Stayed September 2005, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nickelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    79
    33
    13
    4
See reviews for
51
75
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2007

I believe the hotel is rated a 4 star....I found, as an American, that Italian hotels were generous in their rankings. We had a family room with bunk beds. The bunk beds appeared to be extremely old and could really use updating. The shower was very, very small and the street noise was very loud. To walk to the hotel's main entrance, you have to pass a couple seedy stores (tatto parlor). Given this, it was probably still one of the best hotels in Pompeii- which tells you a little about the town. The sites were worth it. The breakfast was good and the staff was helpful. You can get a 10% discount at the desk if you pay cash. Overall, it's do-able but don't expect a 4 star hotel.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Expatsbrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2007

A great little family- run hotel convenient to anyone driving as it's located right off of the Naples-Salerno autostrada. Very clean with adequate rooms. The staff parked our car for us in the garage located below the hotel. You would not want to try this yourself. Breakfast was continental and ok.
Located a few blocks from the Pompei ruins which was our destination. The staff acted very promptly in extracting my wife from an ancient elevator which had jammed between floors. Meanwhile I was having breakfast. Would use this hotel again and make my wife use the stairs.

  • Liked — Close to Pompei ruins: room had a great view of Versuvius
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elprao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Amieto for two nights in early June. This is not a luxury hotel but it is a good hotel - staff extremely helpful, room ok but comfortable. Breakfast ok. Pompeii itself is well worth visiting and staying in (but for a short time). Overall good value for money. We stayed in a room in the front - one reviewer has mentioned the noise and it is an issue but not sure that any other hotel could have avoided this (room at the back might be better). The people of Pompeii like to drive around the main square at night in droves tooting their horns at each other - that is what makes the bulk of the noise and they like to do it for a long time. We stayed a Tuesday and Wednesday night - Tuesday the tooting went on until 2am at least, Wednesday until about 11pmish. As the route around the square runs right by the hotel there is not much they can do about it. But they staff were fantastic and helpful beyond the call of duty - the receptionist drew us a detailed map of how to get to Sorrento (biggest issue was getting out of Pompei! ). The ruins are well worth seeing (advise getting a audio guide before you go in as these are only available at the tourist tent on the main drag not in the ruins themselves - and once you buy a ticket and go in you cannot come out and go back in again without buying another ticket.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2007

This is a great base for visiting the ancient sites. The hotel is 5 minutes' walk from the back entrance to the ruins (though you'll have
to go to the main entrance, 15 minutes' walk, if you want an audioguide or the best selection of books). It's also 3 minutes from the Circumvesuviana station which takes you to Herculaneum and Oplontis.

The rooms are airy and spacious, with cool tiles on the floor. Our bathroom was a bit cramped. The location is a corner site, so there seem to be no really quiet rooms. Although not on the main road, traffic and the bells from the adjacent church can still be intrusive
if you leave your windows open.

Breakfast is generous and is served in a nice, bright room. The staff
are unbelievably helpful and welcoming, and they speak good English. Note that they don't have secure booking on their website, and won't take credit card numbers over the phone: you have to write/fax in to confirm.

Don't believe those who say you should stay in Naples or Sorrento. Modern Pompei is quite a charming, small suburb with some decent restaurants and none of the hassle of the big city.

Remember to head for Pompei Santuario (sometimes, confusingly, just called Pompei) station if taking the Circumvesuviana railway, not Pompei Scavi (which is also called Pompei Villa dei Misteri). If coming from Naples, the trains you want will be heading towards Poggiomarino (not Sorrento). There is a third station for the main line railway (simply called Pompei). This is also only about 5 minutes' walk from the hotel and is a faster journey from Naples.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank brodygrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2006

We stayed at the Amleto for 3 nights at the end of October. Pompei itself is a small town with an above average number of hotels as a result of the 4 million plus religious tourists/believers whose visits focus on the religious devotion centered around the stunning cathedral. The four star Amleto is in the town centre and only 150 m from an entrance to the world famous ruins. It is the location which is the reason for the only drawback - traffic noise. We found the hotel to be immaculate, the rooms generous in size and very well equipped; the roof terrace to be a lovley calm place to enjoy the autumn sun; the public rooms to be comfortably furnished. The staff were very helpful and provided general and specific guidance when consulted. Only breakfast is served but this was fresh, plentiful and varied in ingredients with especially nice coffee!!
However even sleeping with the windows and shutters closed, the traffic noise is intrusive and if you like some fresh air during the night the noise can be very disturbing. Maybe some rooms are marginally quieter but for the benefits of such a central location in a lovely hotel there is a price to be paid in terms of noise.

  • Liked — cleanliness and immaculate presentation
  • Disliked — traffic noise
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for the quietest rooms - third floor
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank bobfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2006

This is a very elegant hotel with a wonderful winding marble staircase. It is about 5 blocks from the Pompeii entrance near the amphitheatre. We stayed here for four nights, and were happy with the hotel.

PROS: A very nice breakfast is served. Free internet access is provided. Close to Pompeii, the Circumvesuvia train (about 3 blocks away), and the FS train (about 4 blocks away). Rooftop balcony provides wonderful view of modern Pompeii on one side, and Vesuvius on the other side.

CONS: Walls are thin, so you can hear showers and toilets. Construction is going on the building across from the hotel, so the view across the street is mainly scaffolding and the street sounds are not muffled. The nearby church rings its bells at 7AM. Also, don't do your laundry at the hotel - we had a half load (3 days of clothes) and it cost us 68 euros and took 2 days. There's a lavanderia just to the right of the Circumvesuvia station which has got to be cheaper.

Overall we liked the hotel very much, just don't plan on sleeping in due to the city and other room noises.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank orbops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palma
Hotel Palma
#12 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#4 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#7 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Iside
Hotel Iside
#10 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amleto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amleto

Property: Hotel Amleto
Address: Via Bartolo Longo n. 10, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amleto 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Amleto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amleto Hotel Pompeii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing