We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here. Period.”
Review of Hotel Amleto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Amleto
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Pompeii
Abbeville, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay here. Period.”
Reviewed 17 April 2011

The staff was exceedingly helpful, friendly, and competent, among the very best we've ever experienced. Our room was very clean; altho not terribly large, it was very comfortable and we didn't lack for useable room. It was very charming, and everything worked like it should. We had a small balcony, but also had a large area with tables and chairs just outside our door that had a good view and gave us a place to go enjoy and evening outside. The hotel is within walking distance of shopping, transportation (train, etc) and the ruins. If we were going back to Pompei, we would unhesitatingly stay there again. Most highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacaruu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    80
    34
    14
    5
See reviews for
53
75
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Great location. Clean hotel with air conditioning that actually works. front desk very helpful. Easy to find with GPS and they have their own garage. Breakfast was better than most. Street noise a little high but manageable. Free internet. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KP303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

nice, very serviceable hotel close to everything (including both rail stations). its not a palace but comfortable and friendly.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ahoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

The Hotel Amleto was a great place to stay in Pompeii. It was in a very convenient location, about 2 minutes' walk to the side entrance of the ruins and only about 10 minutes from the main entrance. The employees at reception are all friendly, they all speak a bit of English (at least, some more than just a bit), and are more than willing to recommend eateries, give directions, etc. The rooms are sparkling clean and spacious by European standards. The AC worked well (and we were in control of it, which is always nice). Breakfast was typical, but good. The only tiny complaint I had was that we noticed a sour smell in the bathroom the first evening when we returned after a day of sight-seeing, and realized it was coming from the towels. They obviously wash them in vinegar, which does not leave a pleasant smell.

The hotel is located on the Piazza Bartolo Longo and a main drag of shopping and restaurants is just around the corner. If I can give one bit of advice, it would be to advise you NOT TO EAT at La Vinicola, which is attached to the hotel. The food is barely passable (we should have been alerted when the only other people in there were a rowdy student group and another table of Americans).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSKorelys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Wonderful stay, very close to the Ruins, the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjgcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Only stayed one night, but it was a really pretty, clean room with character and all mod cons for a very small price.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thissystemisapain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We found this hotel after visiting the ruins of Pompeii. Given the area, our main concern was finding a safe place to stay and a safe place for our rental car. The Hotel Amleto turned out to be a great fit.

The hotel appears to be the only one in Pompeii with a parking garage. The very friendly staff at the reception desk will drive your vehicle into the small basement of the hotel. This is not something that you want to attempt on your own! We tried it when we first arrived and scraped the car against the wall of the building.

The four star rating represents a southern Italian hotel and should not be compared to four star hotels in the United States or elsewhere in Western Europe. The public areas of the hotel are nice but the guest rooms were outdated and lacking (see pictures). Between my group, we had two rooms. Both were nearly identical and each had two small beds, basic furniture, and a balcony. The bathroom very clearly shows its advanced age but was clean. The A/C unit worked well and is operated by a remote that is given to you during check in. The mechanical exterior shutters worked well to block out light and noise. Internet access was free. There was a rooftop seating area that we found perfect for eating.

The hotel is adjacent to the main town square of the “new” Pompeii. There are several restaurants in the area and a McDonalds is right across from the side of the hotel. There are stray dogs in the area and we noticed a lot of garbage and construction debris right outside the hotel.

It is important to keep in mind that your hotel options in Pompeii are very limited. This hotel is more than adequate for a one or two night stay while visiting the ancient ruins.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e2637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 25 in Pompeii
1,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 25 in Pompeii
1,524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#5 of 25 in Pompeii
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#7 of 25 in Pompeii
521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bosco de' Medici
Bosco de' Medici
#3 of 25 in Pompeii
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palma
Hotel Palma
#12 of 25 in Pompeii
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amleto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amleto

Property: Hotel Amleto
Address: Via Bartolo Longo n. 10, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amleto 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Amleto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amleto Hotel Pompeii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing