We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A highlight of our trip to Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Franca Pompei
Ranked #13 of 67 Pompeii B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Villa Franca is an a very unusual place. If you are looking for luxury accommodations, this is not for you. But if you want to connect with local people and meet other Europeans, this is a great choice. At our other hotels we always went out to dinner. But based on the advice of other Trippers, we decided to kick back, relax in the pool, and see what was served at Villa Franca instead. That was a great decision because the food was great! This is a fairly short walk (maybe 6 long blocks) from the Pompei Scavo station, but it seemed long in the heat with our luggage. The pool was very welcoming so be sure to bring a swimsuit. A highlight of our stay was listening to Domenic sing in Italian as he prepared dinner.

Room Tip: We stayed in a family room near the pool. The train goes right by the B & B, but does not seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingal63126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

Our stay at Villa Franca was amazing! We travelled all around Italy and stayed in different types of accommodation but this one was properly unforgettable.
We had some trouble finding the place because of our lousy GPS system but when we contacted the hotel the owners were able to get us there quickly. The welcome was a true blessing as we were invited to unwind and have a drink at the pool while we were given some precious advise on the organisation of the visits we had planned. In addition to being fantastic hosts, Dominique and his son are great cooks. The food at breakfast, lunch and dinner, as well as the wines, were perfect and very reasonably priced. We felt sad leaving this family to continue our journey and we invite you to book this place when you're in the neighbourhood. Pierre, Chantal & Killian

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chantal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

All I can say is wow! Lorena and Giuseppe went out of their way to look after us and we couldn't have asked for better hosts. The food at the villa is absolutely amazing and for the cost is extremely good value. I am missing the food already (and the 5 courses served every night) and the breakfasts are lovely. The location is ideal and you are on the train line to Sorrento and Naples and there is lots to do..we were there for a week and still had lots of things that we wanted to do when we left. We also got engaged whilst staying at the villa and Guiseppe went out of his way to drive us to and from a nice restaurant and paid for our dessert and drink when got there. We were astounded...such lovely people. We would love to visit again and we would highly recommend that everyone stays in this villa.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemmabrimblecombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We were a family of five staying at the small hotel while visiting the fantastic ruins of Pompei. We loved the atmosphere and the pool. The pool is clean and so good to have after a day in the heat among the ruins. Great to have a room for five people. They speak English really Well.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leneflensborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

First of all, Guiseppe and his family are wonderful and great persons. Always having answers to the questions and always spreading good mood in this wonderful place.
Second the food they are serving is very good and worth much more then they are charging. Really delicious "homemade" italian food.
Third, the villa franca is located a few minutes away from the ruins of Pompei and the railway station and more or less in the middle of the spots to see (Sorrento, Amalfi coast, Naples ...)

Would my family and myself go there again ? Yes I could suddenly fligh to our new "friends"
again.

Would I tell my friends to go there ? Yes I,ve already done.

Thank you for everything they did for us and I promise, that we will meet again one day

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank scottulm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We booked the villa but were put on the other side of the tracks in the garden rooms and frankly werent prpared to stay there. Aftewr talking to Guiseppe he talked to his cousin who owned the villa diomede next door and we stayed there at the same rate. Please remember that this is a budget hotel at 58 euros a night which is cheap by any standards but really is extremely handy for Pompeii and close to the train station and obviously links to the other sites. Guiseppe, his dad Pepe and his family made us very welcome throughout the week and his food at 15 euros per head is awesome. A former cook from covent garden his food is fantastic and beer is very cheap at 3 euros for half a litre. So if you want a relaxing hotel close to the sites which is cheap and one that you can have a dip in a pool after visits, this is the one for you. And lastly the trains, well they stop from 1030 until 0630 anyway!

Room Tip: next door in the villa diomede
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jezz c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed at Villa Franca for seven nights between the 3rd and 10th June 2013.
We arrived late afternoon on the 3rd, finding the location with ease. We were emailed by the proprietor, Giuseppe on the day before our arrival to see at what time we were likely to arrive and also to ask if we would like food on our first evening, an offer we were happy to accept.
Giuseppe himself welcomed us with the drink of our choice- cold beer in even colder glasses, straight from the freezer. It was a pleasure to sit by the pool in the late afternoon sun after the long journey. We settled into our room and unpacked in time for our evening meal. Were we glad that we accepted the offer of food!
The meal on our first night was excellent and plentiful. The food was simple Italian cuisine made from very fresh ingredients, all cooked superbly by Giuseppe and his father Dominico who were to become our food gods over the next week. Indeed we only chose to eat elsewhere on one evening during the week, so good and reasonably priced was the food on offer at Villa Franca. The meal they served us of local Neapolitan rustic dishes (including delicious baby octopus) was one that I will remember forever, it was so good :-)
Our room was a good size, spotlessly clean, cool and simply furnished. We were offered an "upgrade" to their flat located in the next building but we were happy with the room we had and enjoyed its position adjacent to the pool and the dining area, all too convenient! My only suggestion would be to have a small table and chairs in the room (which was large enough to easily accommodate them) though this really isn't essential as there are plenty of tables and chairs around the pool.
The location is excellent for the ruins and for exploring the surrounding area by train (station opposite the entrance to the ruins) or by car and there is secure parking available. Giuseppe and his lovely wife Lorena were more than happy to offer help and advice on the local area, where to go, what to see and the best way to get there.
The thing we enjoyed most of all about this wonderful and memorable holiday was the way we were looked after by Giuseppe, Dominico and Lorena. It felt less like staying in a hotel and more like being staying with friends and family, so welcoming was the atmosphere. This family feeling passed on to the guests too, with most of us sitting and talking like old friends, long after dark. When checking out, I asked Giuseppe to pass on my thanks to Lorena for helping to make our stay so memorable (she was away looking after the children), he actually rang her so that I could say goodbye in person. Such a nice and thoughtful gesture!
Overall, I would recommend the Villa Franca to anyone looking for simple, unpretentious base to explore this wonderful area, I doubt you will ever find a warmer welcome on your travels.

Room Tip: There is a railway line running net to the property but this never was a cause for concern even thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsahabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 26 in Pompeii
1,094 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa dei Misteri
Villa dei Misteri
#21 of 26 in Pompeii
163 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 26 in Pompeii
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Bosco de' Medici
Bosco de' Medici
#3 of 26 in Pompeii
199 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Visagi
Hotel Visagi
#11 of 26 in Pompeii
170 reviews
0.9 mi away
B&B La Casa di Plinio
B&B La Casa di Plinio
#1 of 67 in Pompeii
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Franca Pompei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Franca Pompei

Address: Via Diomede 6, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Pompeii
Price Range: £37 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Villa Franca Pompei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing