We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location”
Review of Hotel del Sole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel del Sole
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Pompeii
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good location”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel del sole is located right next to an entrance to the Pompei ruins. 3 minutes from hotel to the ruins entrance. Wifi worked perfectly in our room. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and their english was good which is not always the case in Italy. We had pizza in the hotel restaurant and it was tasty but not too expensive. Our car was parked in the hotels parking area which is free for hotel guests. Air conditioning was working ok.

Negative sides: At least our room was a bit worn out and it had a funny smell (maybe bug spray). The bathroom had also seen its best days.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ihmejannu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    214
    107
    45
    18
See reviews for
167
175
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Says it all, easy to find, 5mins to entrance to ruins(not main one), about 15mins walk to both train stations with cheap connection to Sorrento(get ferry here to Capri), Naples, Herculeum, short stroll into main square for restaurants and shops. We left our hire car in the safe, free carpark for the duration of our stay. Reception staff very helpful, room clean but as we were directly over the restaurant/pizzeria, very noisy at night. Bed hard but after 4nights got used to it. Breakfast was plentiful if you liked cakes, cakes and more cakes. Only concession to savoury was last night's pizza and a few slices of stale baguette with a small amount of sliced cheese and plastic ham. How the Italians retain their figures with such a huge sugar rush each day is beyond me! A couple of chairs on the balcony would have been appreciated after a long day sight seeing to have a breathe of fresh air and enjoy the sun and smell of lemons from the garden

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14, directly over pizzeria at back of hotel, extremely noisy at night, particularl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Very good hotel close to an important archeological site.
The location is perfect as it aims the visit of the archeological site early in the morning and on the other hand, Pompeii is close to the autostrada.
The friendly ladies of the reception is the best asset of this hotel. They helped as a lot!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spyros L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Ok if you just want somewhere to sleep. I had a single room which was bit like an oblong shoe box, very clean and functional but not comfortable.The single bed would have been small for a big person. The balcony faced a building a few feet away so wouldn't have wanted to sit out, no chair anyway. Breakfast was 15 varities of cake and not much else and cold coffee at 7am.. Staff were very friendly and helpful and there was always someone on reception. Hotel is situated very close to the ampitheatre entrance to Pompei Scavi, the square, shops and restaurants. Not my first choice for my next visit to Pompei.

Room Tip: If you fancy sitting on your balcony and watching the world go by don't have a room at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here for one night to enable us to visit the ruins nice and early the following day. The location could not be better, right opposite gates at the bottom of the site and by using these, we had the unexpected pleasure of virtually having the ruins to ourselves for the first hour and a half of our visit, getting some really great photo's for my son's school project.

The rooms although a little dated and basic, were clean,comfortable and had everything we needed. There was a good variety of sweet croissants, pastries etc for breakfast, which delighted my son. I would have preferred more savoury options but that's just my personal taste!

The staff were polite and helpful throughout our stay and I will definitely stay again next time we visit Pompeii

Room Tip: Great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuscanyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights and could find no fault with the hotel.. very good value for money; clean; friendly helpful staff and excellent location for the entrance to ruins and main town square. 3 train stations near by which allowed easy and cheap travel to the coast and places of interest.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle8986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed with a tour group for a few nights while in Pompeii. Rooms were a good size, though the doors echoed a lot when closing - seems like an old building so understandable. Food was ok, first morning they served the teenagers in our group only one croissant and two pieces of small dry toast. One of our adults had a talk to the reception and they were then allowed to have the buffet. First night dinner was not a pleasant experience as they outsourced our dinner due to another event, took a very long time to get to the other hotel - traffic around some sort of political event - food was average there as well.
Reception was friendly, cleaners took ages to sort out the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillipa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#4 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#11 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iside
Hotel Iside
#10 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Degli Amici
Hotel Degli Amici
#19 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Sole

Property: Hotel del Sole
Address: Via Plinio 15, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing