We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff & proximity to Pompeii”
Review of Hotel del Sole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel del Sole
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Pompeii
Elmore, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff & proximity to Pompeii”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Budget accommodations: This is a 15 minute walk from the train station but very close to an entrance to Pompeii. There is a fairly priced restaurant with VERY kind and attentive servers. I enjoyed my meal. The hotel staff was helpful in helping me determine how to get to the airport. I had read a number of reviews and for those interested in trying to get the Naples Airport: you can take a train 30-45 minutes to Naples and either take a bus or cab to the airport. The quotes I saw from Pompeii to the airport via cab were incorrect (quote was 30 euro but it was 65-75 euro in reality) Be careful in Naples not to get scammed by a taxi cab. Ask for the meter. My cab from the Naples train station to the airport close by was 7 euro. If you are heading to Amalfi, it is easy to take the train to Sorrento.

Room Tip: I had a room over the back of the restaurant. I was more interested in visiting the landmark than si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank migrantnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    217
    109
    45
    18
See reviews for
172
177
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Angelo, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We arrived late, long after the kitchen had closed but the staff were so kind they served us any way. I was really impressed with the staff. The room had AC that was amazing. It was a really cool place. It exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roundthaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencian Country, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Want to make your Pompey experience unforgettable? stay in Hotel del Sole.
They make you feel like you're at home.
Unbelievable food, family-like customer treatment, warm and friendly personnel, very clean rooms, few meters from Pompei scavations (Porta della Piazza) overlooking the wall, and placed in one of the cutest streets in town.
For me there's no other choice.
Greetings to my friends

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chef_Alejandr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We enjoyed our one night stay at Hotel del Sole. It is perfectly located for visiting the archaeological site, which is directly across the road from the property. An entrance gate to the site is located nearby, which is much quieter than the main entrance, so you can get in and explore a lot faster.

Our room was nice and spacious, with a balcony overlooking the ruins, which I had requested when I booked. I saw another review saying that there is no elevator, but this is not true, as we used the elevator to take our bags up to the second floor! It is old, but it does the job. The lady who checked us in was also lovely!

We had breakfast included in the room rate, which was great, but the selection is mostly sweet. There were a lot of cakes/desserts, and we even saw some of the tiramisu we'd had at dinner the night before on offer. But, for 49 euros for 2 people, including breakfast, you can't really complain! This hotel was definitely the best value for money of all our accommodation during our 3 weeks in Italy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebberz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The best about Hotel del Sole is the great location next to the Pompeii ruins. Free car park in the locked back yard is also a big plus. We were allowed to have our car there all afternoon also on the day we checked out.
On our reservation it said “Double room with balcony”. There was no balcony, which was a bit disappointing. Probably because the room was in the first floor – we saw that the upper floors had balconies. The advantage with first floor though is that you only have to carry your luggage up one stair – there’s no elevator, apart from a wheelchair access up to the first floor.
There were no towels in the bathroom when we arrived. We got towels on request right away so no problem, but we also discovered that the toilet had not been flushed after the last guest! So for a while we wondered if they had bothered cleaning the bathroom at all.
Our windows faced the outdoor restaurant, and there was lots of noise from the guests till late in the evening. They were sitting right outside, and we could’ve stared them in their faces had we looked out the window.
Mostly sweet cakes for breakfast isn’t what I call a good and healthy start of the day, but maybe that’s normal in Italy. The surroundings are nice with a small garden in the back yard, and the girl in the reception was really nice and helpful. Since this obviously is a low budget hotel, we’re all in all satisfied with our visit.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night, ask for a room that doesn’t face the outdoor restaurant. If you’re not ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norskgjest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel del sole is located right next to an entrance to the Pompei ruins. 3 minutes from hotel to the ruins entrance. Wifi worked perfectly in our room. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and their english was good which is not always the case in Italy. We had pizza in the hotel restaurant and it was tasty but not too expensive. Our car was parked in the hotels parking area which is free for hotel guests. Air conditioning was working ok.

Negative sides: At least our room was a bit worn out and it had a funny smell (maybe bug spray). The bathroom had also seen its best days.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ihmejannu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Says it all, easy to find, 5mins to entrance to ruins(not main one), about 15mins walk to both train stations with cheap connection to Sorrento(get ferry here to Capri), Naples, Herculeum, short stroll into main square for restaurants and shops. We left our hire car in the safe, free carpark for the duration of our stay. Reception staff very helpful, room clean but as we were directly over the restaurant/pizzeria, very noisy at night. Bed hard but after 4nights got used to it. Breakfast was plentiful if you liked cakes, cakes and more cakes. Only concession to savoury was last night's pizza and a few slices of stale baguette with a small amount of sliced cheese and plastic ham. How the Italians retain their figures with such a huge sugar rush each day is beyond me! A couple of chairs on the balcony would have been appreciated after a long day sight seeing to have a breathe of fresh air and enjoy the sun and smell of lemons from the garden

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14, directly over pizzeria at back of hotel, extremely noisy at night, particularl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 26 in Pompeii
1,536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 26 in Pompeii
1,025 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#5 of 26 in Pompeii
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bosco de' Medici
Bosco de' Medici
#4 of 26 in Pompeii
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pace Pompei
Hotel Pace Pompei
#9 of 26 in Pompeii
186 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#10 of 26 in Pompeii
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Sole

Property: Hotel del Sole
Address: Via Plinio 15, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing