We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel with wonderfully friendly and helpful staff”
Review of Santa Caterina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Caterina
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Pompeii
Reviewed 22 September 2006

This is a great hotel. It might look a bit tacky from the outside as most of them do in Pompei, but Hotel Santa Caterina was beautiful inside.. and the staff!! They were fantastic. You can't go to Europe expecting everyone to speak English, but most of the staff spoke good English. And they were so friendly and helpful. On our arrival the receptionist escorted us to our room and gave us a mini tour, showing us how to use the Sky television, etc. and showing us our beautiful view of the volcano! Having spent a month travelling through Spain, France and Italy, this sort of service is not common, expecially when it is clear that you are skint backpackers! But they were really kind and friendly to us, taking a genuine interest in where we were heading next, and making sure we got to breakfast on time! It was just lovely.

The room was huge, much bigger than what we had experienced elsewhere, and for much less money. We had stayed in a different hotel in Pompei the night before, £5 more expensive with a much smaller room and we would have had o have paid extra for a volcano view. So this was great. The room was clean and well equipped.

The location of the hotel is excellent. Within easy reach of the train station. We lugged our huge backpacks to the hotel easily, and right opposite the entrance to the ruins, an information point which we found really helpful, and also right opposite the world's BEST (so we think anyway) gelatti.

Breakfast was delicious and again the staff were on hand to get you anything you needed.

If this hotel is within your budget I would really reccommend it for a pleasant stay in this wonderful town.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaynebiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Santa Caterina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2006

My friend and I were travelling budget for five nights in Pompeii. I found this hotel on the internet, made reservations, but then got worried when the latest reviews were from 2005!

Well, first of all, very few Americans actually stay IN Pompei, the new town, and that's where this hotel is. Hotel Santa Caterina was a short walk from the Pompei train station. With wheels on our luggage, it wasn't a problem finding it. A lot of people, including Italians on the train, had warned us against staying in Pompei and other cities near the Vesuvian ruins. However, I never felt threatened or ill-at-ease in Pompei city.

Now, the hotel! Hotel Santa Caterina is a small property and the rooms were small, but we didn't spend our time in the room, so that didn't matter! Breakfast is a simple continental breakfast taken on the roof-top, and that made it special, looking out over the city towards the mountains.

The staff is friendly, but only two of the three spoke English, and only one spoke English well. However, they were all very friendly and helpful if we needed something. They provided train/bus schedules from the internet for us and were happy to give directions. I speak French, so was able to communicate fine. As mentioned before, Americans who don't speak an additional European language may struggle getting around.

One really cool thing about Hotel Santa Caterina is its location. Each evening, the town came alive, and there are some tasty little restaurants, shops, Convent, and a beautiful Church, tower (be sure to go up in it....it's only 1 euro)! The gelato shops are all quite good and if you're looking for jewellry, try Il Karato.....really nice people in there. Best of all, you're only two or three minutes from the amphitheatre entrance to Pompeii ruins, and about the same distance to catching the Circumvesuviana, the train line that can take you to other locations around the base of Vesuvius.

The rooms are clean, and if I could change one thing, I'd want a safe. However, you are able to "lock" things up in a lockable closet, so just don't get anything really expensive until you're ready to leave. We found the staff to be very dependable, however. The hotel tends to cater to European business travellers, but there were a few other Canadians and Europeans there through the week on vacation. No Americans, though. However, I found that refreshing.....sort of felt like I was experiencing "real Italy" during my stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hyker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2005

We wanted to visit Pompeii and Herculaneum and so decided to stop over in Pompei for the night. It was not easy to navigate and find the hotel since Pompei seems to lack street name signs but once found it proved an excellent choice. The Santa Caterina is very convenient for the Pompeii site (although not the main entrance) and has a good sized private carpark.
The desk staff spoke excellent English but supported our efforts to speak Italian! They were very helpful and provided us with maps and advice for our trip to Herculaneum via the train.
Rooms were comfortable although the one at the front of the hotel over the main road was rather noisy. The air conditioning was excellent with a remote control and the bathrooms were clean and well appointed. The only gripe would be the very basic breakfast which had nothing suitable for my sweet hating son!
Overall we were pleased with this very reasonable hotel which provided us with an oasis in this very touristy hectic town.

Stayed: August 2005
3  Thank Spiral2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2005

The Santa Caterina Hotel was a very pleasant surprise! This small hotel has it's enterance on a side street and doesn't look like much from the out side, but the room we had was clean, spacious and comfortable. We had a family room which sleeps four. The room had a room divider in it which effectively separated the one larger bed from the two twins, adding to our sense of privacy. The bathroom was a good size, though the shower was small. Our room looked out on the main street in town and even had a small balcony! We were quite delighted with it over all.

The staff was very courteous and went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable, even though they don't speak much English. The breakfast was light fare, but very good and they encouraged our two teenaged boys to eat all they wanted, even though it looked like they didn't have that much out for others - perhaps there was more in the back.

The location of this hotel was very good, though to get to it you have to be careful which train line you take out of Naples. It is very close to one of the enterances to the ancient city of Pompeii, but very far from the 'main' one that most tours and tourists enter through, the one directly in front of the 'usual' train station to Pompeii. Be certain that you are going to New Pompeii to avoid a long walk around the outside of ruins to the hotel. If you do get off at the right place, it's only a short (less than 1/4 mile) walk to the hotel.

The opening close to the hotel is the one near the coliseum and the necropolis rather than the temples. Still, it was a very good place to stay while visiting this ancient place.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cpstabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank amedeopesce1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincenzo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiziana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#8 of 26 in Pompeii
556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 26 in Pompeii
1,560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 26 in Pompeii
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#5 of 26 in Pompeii
1,369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pace Pompei
Hotel Pace Pompei
#7 of 26 in Pompeii
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bosco de' Medici
Bosco de' Medici
#3 of 26 in Pompeii
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Caterina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina

Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 4, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Pompeii
Price Range: £46 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Caterina 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are equipped with all comforts: private bathroom with shower, colour TV , air conditioning hairdryer, bar fridge, direct phone line,Internet access and parking.Each morning our guests are served a generous, delicious breakfast based on typical Neapolitan pastries, such as Sfogliatelle. The hotel, in a century old building, which has been completely restored,it's well furnished with taste and elegance, is located in the historical centre of Pompeii , at a distance of 100 mt from the Sanctuary and from the excavations, 400 mt from railway station and 1,5 Km from the gateway motorway A3.Ogni mattina serviamo ai nostri ospiti una colazione abbondante e deliziosa a base di dolci tipici della celebre tradizione napoletana, come ad esempio le sfogliatelle.Tutte le camere, di cui dispone la Ns struttura, sono arredate con gusto ed eleganza, richiamano i particolari dell'antica cittadina.Le camere sono dotate di ogni confort: bagno privato (con vasca da bagno o doccia),TV color , aria climatizzata-riscaldamento centralizzato, frigo - bar, telefono diretto, accesso ad internet ed area parcheggio adiacente. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Caterina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Pompeii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing