We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”
Review of Hotel Diana Pompei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Diana Pompei
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Pompeii
Certificate of Excellence
Montreuil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We spent 3 nights in this very nice hotel, closed to Archeological sites, close to Naples and Sorrente by train. Nice staff, Clean and confortable rooms, very quiet place. good value.

To recommand for all travellers

Yves

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yves P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    511
    95
    10
    4
See reviews for
466
667
65
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wever, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Beautiful hotel and friendly and helpful staff. The garden was delightful as was the breakfast. Staff recommended a restaurant half a block away that gave us the best meal we had the whole two weeks spent in Italy and we were amazed at how inexpensive it was. (We'd just come from Venice where we had plenty of expensive, sub-par meals.) For the reviewer who said that the ruins were further than a 5 or 10 minute walk, you turned off to the left too soon, as we did the first time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Pompei is not really an exciting place to stay in Southern Italy, especially when compared with Naples, Sorrento, Amalfi, or other places. The city is rather run-down and the only reason to go is to see Pompei, which is one of the most fascinating ancient sites in the world.
If we had known this in advance, we would have stayed in Naples and taken the train to Pompei and back on the same day (which is easy and not far).
Nevertheless, we had made plans to stay in Pompei and we chose Hotel Diana because it was the best rated on tripadvisor.
The hotel is clean and in a good location (next to Pompei). The staff are very nice and friendly.
The rooms are average.
The noise level is high. There is no street noise, but because the noise transfers very strongly within the hotel because of the tile floors. Every small step or movement or sound outside the room echoes loudly. That was the down side.
The breakfast was somewhat disappointing as well, yet it was not bad.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank halacontemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
214 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The Diana was a lovely three star hotel only one minute walk from the railway station and ten minutes walk to the amazing Pompeii ruins. The rooms were very clean and pleasant, and the public areas of the hotel were very nice, much better than would be expected for the star rating and price. The rooms are excellent value and the rate includes a good breafast. There is a lovely garden with orange groves at the back, and very good gelati bars and restaurants (e.g. Kobe) a short walk away. Pompeii is a great base from which to explore Sorrento, Capri and the Amalfi coast

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoffinChemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

There are 2 major selling points for this hotel: the absolutely wonderful, friendly and helpful staff and the charming garden area, which is great for relaxing in and having a drink from the bar, before heading out into town. It's not a fancy hotel, but it's clean and functional. The wi-fi never worked in our room, but it was fine in the lounge area and the hotel also provides 2 laptops in this area for people who need them. There wasn't a great variety at breakfast, but it was enough to start the day. The hotel is well-positioned for arriving by train (just a few minutes' walk from the Trenitalia station) and has a private car park for drivers. It takes only a few minutes to walk to the lively town square and a couple more to get to the Pompei site. For the price, it's a great value hotel and well worth considering for a stay in Pompei.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumPlusOne2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants,
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Hotel really clean, tucked away off main street, very helpful staff and good access to Pompeii site.
We spent 3 days looking around Pompeii, one in Herculanium, one in the Museum at Naples, a day trip to Sorrento. Walk to Pompeii site and train to the other places made a Car unnecessary. Simple breakfast in separate breafast hall - included bread, croissants ham and processed cheese plus a few other bits and fresh fruit. The unique selling point was the orange and lemon grove garden which was sublime to return to for a drink before preparing to go out to dinner. The tiled floors do mean that sound carries from room to room. Not too intrusive but its there. Would stay there again if I return to Pompeii.

Room Tip: We were in 208 which was at the top and on an end
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromyard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Booked the hotel on recommendations from other tripadvisor comments.
Room was very smart but functional. Like a new travellodge with colour.
The soundproofing was poor as we could hear the people in the next room clearly.
We could also hear people from the lobby at night.
I think this is only a problem with the ground floor.
This didnt spoil our trip but could others.
The staff were all friendly and helpfull. Breakfast was a good basic buffet.
The garden was a lovely oasis with orange and lemon trees.
Ideal for for a base as the town square was 5 minutes walk. Pompei ruins 15 minutes.
And thats what you go there for.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 4,5,6 if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdsjjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#3 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bosco de' Medici
Bosco de' Medici
#4 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Costa Hotel
Costa Hotel
#5 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Visagi
Hotel Visagi
#8 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#6 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diana Pompei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana Pompei

Property: Hotel Diana Pompei
Address: Vicolo Sant'Abbondio 12, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pompeii
#1 Family Hotel in Pompeii
#4 Business Hotel in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diana Pompei 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently renovated hotel with modern and glamour refinements is winner of the Italian Hospitality Awards 2007 3-star category.Ideally located for public transport users, walking distance from the ruins and the famous Sanctuary.Geogeous garden with orange trees, lemon hedges and typically Mediterranean plants.On request we can organizes wonderful excursion to: Naples; Sorrento; Amalfi; Positano; and Mount Vesuvius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diana Pompei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Pompei Hotel
Diana Pompei Pompeii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing