We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generational Friendly!”
Review of Hotel Diana Pompei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Diana Pompei
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Pompeii
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were a party of 7, ranging from 11 to 88 years old so we had diverse requirements to say the least. We had two ground level family rooms which suited us perfectly. Granny had the large bathroom with the shower seat and handrails for the loo, with bunk beds for the two youngest. We were right next door in a triple room. It was just a short walk for us to the quiet courtyard where Granny spent the morning whilst we went exploring. The staff (especially Aurora) were kind and very friendly and kept her topped up with coffee in our absence. The rooms are a little dull (yellow wash on the walls) but clean and cool, and a good size.
There is an excellent restaurant 20 yards from the Hotel but BOOK IN ADVANCE as it is very popular with the locals. Go early - before 8 - if you want a table.

The main entrance to Pompeii is a good 25 min walk away which is pleasant but quite a hike in the heat. The secondary entrance is much closer - 10 mins away- and the Amphitheatre is right by the entrance. We chose to go in the main one in the morning, come out for lunch and then go in the second entrance later in the day. The tickets don't allow re-entry but the tickets are E11 per adult and free for U18 - great value when you consider a visit to Vesuvius is E10 per adult and E8 for a child over 5!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 1,578 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We only stayed for a night but it was amazing. After spend the day at the historic site (right in front of the hotel), we took a shower and went downstairs for a pizza and some wine. It was a warm night and their restaurant with tables in the garden is amazing.
I will always remember the Neapolitan pizza and the fruit Macedonia I had there.
Lovely place to stay even knowing that the room is not outstanding.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aninha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Near the back entrance lots of cafe near
Is right across road from one of the train stations but due to a wall collapse this is closed so you have to catch the other line is only a 15 min walk though to hotel
Is a very very clean hotel good English
Breakfast a bit scarce for an Aussie some salad and yoghurt also would be helpful
Family room 2 bunks and a QS not huge but renovated and has a lovely garden area available to relax

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nangabrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was our third stay at Hotel Diana, Pompeii. We would now not stay anywhere else in the town or the area. The young staff are outstandingly welcoming, friendly but never obsequious, helpful, full of humour and good advice. The rooms are very pleasant, especially the ground floor room with its private secluded balcony; the breakfast is copious and served once again by courteous, considerate staff. The location is ideal: right in the centre of town and 2 minutes from the main train station, but in a quiet, secluded cul-de-sac, so no local noise at night. Even the venerable owner/boss is in attendance, keeping her sharp eye on all that's going on, and making sure that her guests are happy and well looked after. It is the best, and we recommend it wholeheartedly. (Couldn't grade swimming pool or fitness centre because they don't exist, but why would they, in a delightful bijou hotel like this?)

Room Tip: Room 5 is the one on the ground floor with a private balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JHD1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Hotel Diana may be the number one rated hotel in Pompei, but having stayed nowhere else, I have nothing to compare it to and the rating seems a bit high. That said, this is a solid enough property located at a bit of distance (but certainly walkable) from the ruins. In fact, it's kind of a plus to be away from the more touristy area. And the Diana's courtyard is a wonderful reprieve -- another plus.The breakfast is typical but in a large comfortable room and with plenty of variety. Our room -- on the main floor -- was clean but spartan. The whole hotel is rather fresh and modern in a spare way. It was far from the most comfortable bed we've slept in, though, and the walls are paper thin. One night the guys in the room next door were boisterous and way over the top. I was about to call the desk, but then the noise stopped (it was after midnight) so I figure someone else must have called. That's not necessarily the fault of the hotel, and thin walls are common everywhere, but it did reflect on our experience. Outside noise was also prevalent. But the bottom line is that everything worked fine (wifi and a/c too), the parking was free and convenient, the staff helpful, the room clean, and the common patio a real plus. Oh, and the restaurant on the corner at the end of the street is well worth trying.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank fielding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We had a two night stay here with our 9 month old daughter. The staff were really helpful and accommodating, the room was clean and functional and the garden and chilled seating area was a big hit. Highly recommended!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ollie_84_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a quaint little place situated in a quiet cul de sac about 300 meters from the archaeological site of Pompeii and 100 meters from the Sanctuary of Pompeii. Access to the sites, food, and nightlife is just a short easy walk.

The front desk staff was extremely helpful working our reservations. Booking.com messed our reservations up overbooking the room. The hotel staff found us another hotel and notified us, to ensure we were taken care of before our arrival. Upon arrival the front desk staff had worker their magic to put us in their hotel for the whole stay. They were awesome! The front staff is the property's greatest asset.

The room was basic, quiet, and clean as was the bathroom. The maid did forget to put soap and shampoo in the room, but once again the front staff came to the rescue providing the amenities. The air conditioning worked great after a hot day in the sun. Internet worked but was not the best connectivity.

The breakfast buffet in the morning is nothing fancy, but it fills your belly to get your sightseeing day started.

If driving, your car can be safely parked in the monitored parking behind the hotel.

We would definitely stay if we return to Pompeii.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 26 in Pompeii
1,080 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#5 of 26 in Pompeii
1,389 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bosco de' Medici
Bosco de' Medici
#3 of 26 in Pompeii
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#7 of 26 in Pompeii
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pace Pompei
Hotel Pace Pompei
#8 of 26 in Pompeii
210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Visagi
Hotel Visagi
#10 of 26 in Pompeii
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diana Pompei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana Pompei

Address: Vicolo Sant'Abbondio 12, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pompeii
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pompeii
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pompeii
#4 Business Hotel in Pompeii
Price Range: £41 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diana Pompei 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently renovated hotel with modern and glamour refinements is winner of the Italian Hospitality Awards 2007 3-star category.Ideally located for public transport users, walking distance from the ruins and the famous Sanctuary.Geogeous garden with orange trees, lemon hedges and typically Mediterranean plants.On request we can organizes wonderful excursion to: Naples; Sorrento; Amalfi; Positano; and Mount Vesuvius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diana Pompei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Pompei Hotel
Diana Pompei Pompeii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing