We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip, Modern Hotel 10 Minutes from Ancient Pompeii”
Review of Hotel Diana Pompei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Diana Pompei
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Pompeii
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Though I read several positive reviews of the Hotel Diana, I was not expecting much for 85 euro a night. What a surprise! The hotel feels totally brand new (it is about three years old), and has its own orange grove in the back and rooftop terrace in the front. And it's just around the corner from the FS train station. When I booked the hotel, they included detailed instructions on how to get to there in the confirmation email, so we just hopped off the train and a few minutes later found ourselves at the reception. The receptionist was very helpful and gave us a map and directions to the archaeological site, about a 10 minute walk. She also recommended some restaurants, one of which was very close and really delicious. The room was brightly decorated and modern. But for a few scuffmarks on the wall near the luggage rack, it felt like we were the first people to stay in it. It was perfect for us. Only a little noisy due to thin walls and proximity to the train station, but it was quieter than my own apartment in NYC. There is a bar downstairs in the reception area, as well free wifi and a computer which you can use free of charge. They kindly loaned us a bottle opener and some wine glasses so we could enjoy the bottle we purchased on the roof terrace after a hard day of tourism. The breakfast spread is pretty good, and the homemade orange juice is a very nice touch. There is also a staff member circulating to take orders for capuccinos during breakfast. Staff were all very extremely kind and showed us how to get around- one of them even drove us to the circumvesuviana train station as we headed onward to Sorrento, and he wouldn't accept any money for it. We absolutely loved the Diana and highly recommend it if you are considering a trip to Pompei.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whytelightnin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2010

Rooms were a bit small but the rest of the hotel is really well presented from the upstairs balcony to the lovely little orange grove garden. The staff were really top notch making our time there a pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skwill72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

My single room was small but not cramped, with fresh bright tiling and an ensuite (why don't italian bathrooms have extractors?) No balcony but the glass covered staircase outside my room had a "table and chair" spot on the landing overlooking the orange filled garden. The wiifi didn't reach my room but worked well in the lounge and there was also a PC with free internet available there. Staff were very very helpful and could help with tour advice or arrange them for you (the Vesuvius trip is well worth it) Close to station but not noisy, bar with good (cheap) coffee always available. Enjoyed my stay and would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannahsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

The staff were all so friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and the triple was good size for our family. It was great having parking behind the hotel which was secluded but secure. The locationwas great close to train station and sightseeing.. It was also wonderful that we were able to leave our luggage in a locked closet after we checked out so we could do more sight seeing

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtetag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

If you're looking for a decent small hotel in Pompei, very near to the train station and very reasonably priced, the Hotel Diana is all that. The staff, all of whom speak excellent English, were very friendly & helpful. I especially liked that they had free off-street parking, and felt safe leaving our car in their lot. Our room was small, and VERY modestly furnished, so if you're looking for plush amenities & fine linens this is not it. But the entire hotel was immaculately clean. I also consider as a real plus that they had a computer set up in the lobby, 24/7, with free internet access.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariacaterina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

We were very pleased with our 2 night stay at Hotel Diana. The reception welcome was very warm and helpful with suggestions of restaurants that were open and serving special meals as we happened to arrive on Easter day, as well as a map with explanations of the city and the site of the ruins. Our room was on the smaller side but appropriate for european standards and clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a nice variety of fruits, breads and even cereal for us Americans as well as plenty to drink and everything was set out ready at 7am which was appreciated when we had to leave fairly early our last day.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kidmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

The Hotel is very nice, clean, near the Pompei railway station and only several minutes away (by foot) from the entrance to Pompei excavations. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful!!! I would stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank histguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 26 in Pompeii
1,060 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bosco de' Medici
Bosco de' Medici
#3 of 26 in Pompeii
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#5 of 26 in Pompeii
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#7 of 26 in Pompeii
565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pace Pompei
Hotel Pace Pompei
#8 of 26 in Pompeii
208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Visagi
Hotel Visagi
#9 of 26 in Pompeii
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diana Pompei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana Pompei

Address: Vicolo Sant'Abbondio 12, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pompeii
#1 Family Hotel in Pompeii
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pompeii
#4 Business Hotel in Pompeii
Price Range: £44 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diana Pompei 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently renovated hotel with modern and glamour refinements is winner of the Italian Hospitality Awards 2007 3-star category.Ideally located for public transport users, walking distance from the ruins and the famous Sanctuary.Geogeous garden with orange trees, lemon hedges and typically Mediterranean plants.On request we can organizes wonderful excursion to: Naples; Sorrento; Amalfi; Positano; and Mount Vesuvius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diana Pompei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Pompei Hotel
Diana Pompei Pompeii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing