We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place within walking distance to ruins”
Review of Hotel Palma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palma
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Pompeii
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2010

This was a great place for our one-night stay in Pompei. The hotel is located directly across from the train station. To get there from Napoli, take the Circumvesuviana train towards Poggiomarino not towards Pompei Scavi/Sorrento--the two lines split between Napoli and Pompei. If you get on the wrong one (like we did), you can always get off and backtrack to the last stop and get on the right one.

The hotel is within walking distance to the ruins (maybe 15 min walk) through town. Stop by "I Machiavelli" (Via Vittorio Emanuele 15) for a good, rustic Italian meal before or after your visit to the ruins. I know some suggest not staying in Pompei, but we thought it was a nice and relaxing stay at the hotel after a long, exhausting day at the ruins. The best part about the hotel is the rooftop terrace with views of the city and surrounding mountains. We picked up food to-go and ate on the rooftop and just relaxed the rest of the evening. It was great, especially if you're visiting many different cities like we were. There's also a rooftop jacuzzi, but it wasn't open when we visited in September.

The rooms at the Hotel Palma are clean and very large for Europe. The shower was tight, but rest of bathroom was good sized. The AC and breakfast were free. Breakfast was buffet style with lots of great pastries, cereal, fruit, yogurt and juice/coffee. The staff was generally friendly and willing to give directions and restaurant recommendations, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank figkatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2009

We were almost put off staying in Pompeii because of the other reviews s, But we did not have a lot of choice as we were visiting a supplier based in Pompeii. The factory we visited was on the out skirts of Pompeii and the first thing you realise is how big the suburbs are and pretty awful, there had been floods and some of our roads were shut which made finding our destination more fun. After business we drove to the Hotel Palma in the centre of Pompeii, first impressions were ok, modern hotel obviously recently refurbished, it was pouring with rain and the reception staff took care of all our luggage and it was in our room on our return from lunch. The room was reasonably comfortable well appointed bathroom, all quite new. Breakfast was classic Italian buffet but with good fresh rolls and croissants and we were able to order a very good cappuccino even though it was served in a jug. We stayed here for three nights whilst visiting Pompeii Scavu, Herculaneum and Naples. I quite got to like the town of Pompeii good shopping area and a good selection of restaurants and full of locals on Sunday the Duomo is well worth a visit. Pompeii Scavi we did with a guide which was quite expensive for 2 of us 100€ but our guide Mena was excellent we were with her for 2.5 hours then after she left us we did a bit of our own exploring, do not miss the Villa of Mysteries. Then by train to Herculaneum in the afternoon, good job someone else was going to Herculaneum ruins because there were no signs and all of the road was up which made it a bit confusing its about 10 minutes walk from the station. We decided to get an audio guide which at 10€ for two was excellent value. I lasted visited Pompeii and Herculaneum 50 years ago as an impressionable 11 year old ,I think Pompeii impressed me even more this time. With more time and at least a day at Pompeii and a bit of reading before hand I do not think there would be anything to gain with a guide (unless there was more to share the costs) the audio guide and a day would give you a good experience of Pompeii.
If you are staying in Pompeii and you want to treat yourself then I recommend the “Principal” a one star Michelin that President Bush once ate at (Not sure if this is a recommendation) quite expensive at 50€ a head but superb
The hotel Palma is opposite the station but if you are using the trains you have to make sure you get on the right branch otherwise you will end up at the other end of the ruins with a good 30 minutes, the inter town trains can be quite confusing with a lot of the station signs covered with graffiti and the station indicators on the train are not always correct, but there will always be a helpful local on hand.
Parking at the hotel when we stayed was OK we did get blocked in but soon sorted by the owner it may be more difficult in season and If you do choose the hotel Palma I would check parking availability before.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2008

The hotel was fine - parking outside no problem - altho we did get blocked in when we came to leave the owner of the hotel knew the car and got it moved. We arrived late around 2330 and they were waiting up for us - the staff were all lovely, it appears that it is an old school family run hotel, the older owners happily watching the world go by sat on the sofa in the lobby whilst the daughter does all the running about! The room was big and comfortable - absolutely no complaints with the staff or the room. Just Pompeii is a dump!! The ruins are great and well worth a visit but the town itself I would not bother with. Just go on a day trip to the ruins then move on - no reason to stay in Pompeii, however if you choose to then this hotel is more than adequate and within walking distance of the ruins so very well placed. We did have a little trouble finding the hotel however if you head for the station you should have no problem. One last word on the staff even at midnight they happliy made my wife a pot of tea that was most welcome and the breakfast was good - if you like cake!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MarkNewham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2008

We were very pleased with our stay at the Hotel Palma. The staff was very polite and the accommodations were good. There is free internet access and computer in the lobby and it is conveniently located right across the street from the Circumvesuviana train station (the hotel is the first thing you see when you walk out of the station).

Our room had air conditioning, but you need to ask the front desk for a remote control in order to turn it on. The breakfast was what we expected (pastries, cereal, yogurt, juice, fruit, coffee, etc) which is very typical in Europe. They don't normally serve hot breakfast (eggs, sausage, etc) in Europe.

There was an ATM machine right up the street, but we couldn't figure out how to make it display English. We found another one a short distance away at the bank across the street from the main square that had an English option. The hotel is around a 15 minute walk from the main entrance of the ruins and about a 10 minute walk to the side entrance. I recommend entering through the main entrance if you want to buy souvenirs or purchase any type of audio tour.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cahlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2008

Four nights in April 2008, superior room on 4th floor. Hotel was quite satisfactory, although we note that the superior room in the ´4 star´hotel was almost identical in size, quality of furnishings, etc, to the standard room in a 3 star superior hotel we had stayed in immediately previously. But then the price was identical too!

The positives: room was good size, bathroom was excellent in size. Good quality funishings and fittings. There are only 3 rooms on the top floor together with a nice terrace with views across to Vesuvius and the mountains behind Sorrento.

Location is superb for Circumvesuviana train to Ercolano and Naples (40 metres from the front door) and an easy seven minute walk from the Trenitalia station. About 500m from the back entrance to Pompeii ruins. The cathedral is adjacent; beautiful and a significant destination (for Italians at least) in its own right

We tended to catch the trenitalia trains as they were faster and better (Frascati is 22 stops on the Circumvesuviana from Napoli Centrale, only a couple on Trenitalia) and the graffiti on the Circumvesuviana trains and stations was pretty uninspiring.

Negatives were prety minor and tended to occasional fawlty towers moments. It was the bell boy´s first day and he couldn´t find our room (!!!). We constantly had the restaurant flogged at us, although we stayed away after trying two very pedestrian meals and found better food elsewhere. There is a wifi setup (not free) but negligible signal on the 4th floor.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PineappleSkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2008

Hotel was not hard to find, it is at the Circumvesuviana Train Station. We came by rent-a-car, but we found a place just in front of the hotel. In fact, it is hotel´s parking lot, free of charge for the guests. The guy at the reception was friendly. In spite that we requested room on the yard side, we were given a street view room. The room was smaller than expected for 4* hotel, but the main problem was street window. We couldn´t close it, so the noise from the street make us uncomfortable for the most of the night. The breakfast was quite simple, no fried eggs or something like it. All in all, we wouldn´t stay again at Palma.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Encian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2008

The Hotel Palma in Pompei was our base whilst seeing the amazing ruins.

The Hotel looked good so we booked it. We weren't dissapointed. Everything was taken care of even down to the hands on owner ensuring that a parking space awaited you on arrival and subsequent returns from days out.
The staff were cheerful and some spoke good English so it meant the Italian phrasebook got a bit dusty.

From a location perspective the Hotel was ideally situated to walk (10 mins max) to the ruins. All on the flat.

Be warned though, there was not a brilliant selection of restaurants open or even visible come to that when we visited, so the Hotel restaurant had the majority of our business.
Oh yes, if you have younger children always wanting liquid refreshment - buy it from one of the main street shops. Bar and mini bar prices were quite steep!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SconesandCream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 26 in Pompeii
1,060 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bosco de' Medici
Bosco de' Medici
#3 of 26 in Pompeii
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 26 in Pompeii
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#5 of 26 in Pompeii
1,377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#7 of 26 in Pompeii
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Amleto
Hotel Amleto
#25 of 26 in Pompeii
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palma

Address: Via Piave 15 | Campania-Napoli, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pompeii
Price Range: £79 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palma 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities include a well-equipped meeting room and Internet point, a cosy bar and TV lounge as well as a delightful citrus garden and splendid sun terrace. The hotel is provided with a refined hall, bar and TV lounge, conference room, a typical Mediterranean cooking restaurant, solarium with mini Jacuzzi swimming pool, internet point,Wi.Fi on the rooms, fax and safe service. They are provided with all the comfort : conditioned air/heating, private services with bath-tub/shower, direct dialling telephone, windows or balconies, drink cooler, safe boxes, hair dryer and TV . The hotel is provided with double, triple, quadruple rooms, and junior suites with hydro massage bath-tub and shower to grant to our guest a pleasant and unforgettable stay. A buffet breakfast is served in the breakfast room each morning between 7 a.M. And 10 a.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Palma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palma Hotel Pompeii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing