We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ancient Wealth”

Casa del Poeta Tragico
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.90*
and up
Half-Day Tour of Pompeii from the Amalfi Coast
Ranked #21 of 89 things to do in Pompeii
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ancient Wealth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Look aside what it was like to live in 2nd Cent BC. Mosaic floor tile and wall painting remain. One of the larger homes in Pompeii. Some items are replicas as the originals have been preserved in the museum in Naples.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MHarding1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    52
    12
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, Arkansas
Level Contributor
1,170 reviews
452 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 523 helpful votes
“Interesting mosaic of Cave Canem (Beware of the Dog) at entrance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

At the entrance to the house is a mosaic of a dog with a chain and the inscription "cave canem" which means "Beware of the Dog". The house was closed during our visit so we didn't get to see the atrium, den and garden. But it was interestingt to see the mosaic of the dog.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Razorfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
443 reviews
263 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Very colorful wall frescoes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

This house is across from the Forum Baths near the corner of Via delle Terme and Via della Fullonica. It wasn't closed when I visited a couple of years ago. It's more known for the mosaic of the dog at the entrance, but I thought the colorful wall frescoes were more impressive. It's amazing to me that the colors have lasted so long after all these years. The dominant border colors in this house are red, yellow, and black. There were centralized wall panels depicting Greek mythological scenes. These panels are surrounded by scenes of architecture. The colorful designs all come together in a sophisticated way. There are missing parts to some of the scenes, but you can basically make out the mythological scenes. There are also some beautiful black and white geometric floor patterns throughout the house that are worth seeing. My only regret is that I should have taken more pictures of this beautiful house.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank KarenV87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mysterious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

When we visitied the time in May , it was closed, but wow this is such a beautiful house , fantastic to see, great mosaic on the outside. Such a beautiful name also - The House of The Tragic Poet! Full of mystery. I will return , so that I can visit this place again. Fantastic to see the outside of the house!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valentina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hethersett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
399 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Famous House with Famous entry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Everybody will know this one even those with no knowledge of ancient history as the door entry has the Mosaic Cave Canem on it (Beware of the Dog). Although small in size it has beautiful frescoes on the walls and is nicely proportioned.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jezz c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa del Poeta Tragico also viewed

Pompeii, Province of Naples
Pompeii, Province of Naples
 
Pompeii, Province of Naples
Pompeii, Province of Naples
 

Been to Casa del Poeta Tragico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing