We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base for exploring Pompei, Vesuvius, Herculaneum and Sorrento”
Review of Hotel Pace Pompei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pace Pompei
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Pompeii
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great base for exploring Pompei, Vesuvius, Herculaneum and Sorrento”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We chose this hotel for its price and its location. Neither disappointed. The hotel was by the beautiful Santuario and only a few minutes’ walk from one of the entrances to the ruins. We walked the 15 minutes to Pompei Scavi station to get the bus to Vesuvius (well worth it), Herculaneum and Sorrento. From the station at the end of the road the hotel is on, we easily got the train into Naples.
The hotel itself was very pleasant, our room was spacious and clean and had good air conditioning. There was a large bathroom and the shower had a good supply of hot water. The only bad thing was that when we flushed the toilet, (clean) water sprayed out of the cistern on to the floor, making it a bit slippery. The breakfast was quite normal for an Italian hotel but there are other places nearby to buy something a bit different. Just past the breakfast room, there was a computer that we could use to go online. All in all, this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    53
    22
    11
    10
See reviews for
54
83
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This hotel is quite close to the Pompei Santuario stop, making it ideal for people with luggage. Unfortunately, the hotel has multiple floors and no elevator, so make sure to request a ground floor room if this might be a problem.

Our triple room did not quite appear as it had on the website. Instead of a spacious room with an extra bed, the room looked to be the size of a standard double, with a slightly-larger-than-normal made up couch (somewhat akin to a daybed). My sister said it was comfortable enough, but not ideal for someone who isn't young.

The room also doesn't have a mini-fridge, or a safe, and the shower did leak a bit, so it is best to keep anything of importance off the bathroom floor. The air conditioning worked quite well.

The room itself has clearly seen some things (it needed some fresh paint, and the bathrooms surfaces had some rust and mold/mildew), but there is free wifi in room, and the connection was decent.

The breakfast was not worth the money, with little selection for an Italian breakfast, and many things that appeared fresh from a plastic wrapper instead of an oven. Any little bakery or cafe would have a better (and more economical) alternative.

The terrace and gardens are lovely though, and we spent time in the evenings there. The people working at the hotel were polite enough. You do have to leave the key with the staff upon leaving for the day (which is somewhat normal for hotel's in Italy), but I did notice that the staff were often away (though not far), from the desk.

Room Tip: Request a room on the ground floor if you have luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingstudent79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Superb and friendly small hotel. Highly recommended. Great facilities and staff and free wi-fi!
A superb location close to the station to explore Pompeii from.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernieGarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

I chose our stay here during our visit to Pompeii based on the reviews, but was totally disappointed. Owners were friendly and the room(s) were clean, and that's where the good ends. When we checked in, the air conditioner in our room was not functioning on a hot day. After trying to figure it out, the manager moved us to another room, which we appreciated. Sorry to say though - that one worked for all of about 1 hour. The bathroom looked like it was designed for handicap access - large room, open shower. So I can't understand why there was no toilet seat!! I've seen this in public toilets in Europe, but never in a hotel. Worst of all though was the shower. Since it was an open shower, water could get on everything, including the seatless toilet which was next to it. But - the drain didn't work, which meant that after getting wet and soapy, I noticed that the floor was flooded and threatening to flood into the bedroom. Remember I said large bathroom, so that meant a lot of water!! I had to shut the water, wait about 1/2 hour for the water to drain and then mop up the floor with the towels. Sorry to leave a bad review, but I have to be honest. Ruins in Pompeii are amazing, the town doesn't have much to offer. I would recommend that visitors stay elsewhere.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank marially
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

When staying at Albergo Pace DO NOT get off the train at Pompeii Scavi get off at the next train station, cross the road outside the station and walk up the road directly opposite and it is on the rght. The rooms are very clean, the staff are very frendly, there is a lovely garden to sit and read or use the wii fii connection. You are 10 mins from the ruins and restaurants and shops close by. I would definately recommend this place to anyone staying in Pompeii.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keelz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We stayed here to visit Pompei and Vesuvius. The bus pick up point for Vesuvius and the enterance into the Pompei archeological site is within a 8 minute walk to the hotel. The hotel is central to many restaurants, cafes and stores. The rooms of the hotel are very clean and are very quiet. I slept very well while I stayed here and felt very safe. I would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JML0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Excellent central location near railway stations, bus stops,shops,central square, restaurant and the ruins. The hotel is entered through an archway situated along side the shops. This takes you into an informal garden which belongs to the hotel. Our bedroom was entered from the garden and had a table and chairs outside. Despite it being January, we were still able to sit outside in the sun. The room was also very warm and unaffected by the fact that the door opened to the oustide rather than a hotel corridor. Breakfast was served in a basement room. It was a basic continental meal but more than adequate. The staff were very helpful and friendly and did their best to please with a cheery smile.

We recommend the Amato coffee shop opposite the hotel for a good, inexpensive coffee. A trip to the tourist information, as soon as possible, is advised (leaving the hotel turn right into the street and keep on that side. Tourist information on the top corner). They spoke excellent English, were reliable, helpful and provided maps, accurate train times and other information. From our experience of this area, sucjh information is invaluable. There are many people who try to help you but some of them, as we know to our experience, only want to rip you off. It is only fair to say we also met genuinely helpful people.
If you travel on the train from naples, there are two lines which go to Pompeii and both have railway stations within a reasonable distance from the hotel. They ues different platforms on different levels at Naples station. Also make sure you get off at the right station. On the Circumvesuvio line, it is the stop after the ruins.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffordshireMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 26 in Pompeii
1,554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#5 of 26 in Pompeii
1,361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 26 in Pompeii
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bosco de' Medici
Bosco de' Medici
#3 of 26 in Pompeii
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#18 of 26 in Pompeii
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#7 of 26 in Pompeii
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pace Pompei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pace Pompei

Property: Hotel Pace Pompei
Address: Via Sacra 29, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Pace Pompei 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Pace Pompei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Pace Pompei Pompeii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing