We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Residence Tirreno
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Procida Island
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We have never had worse interactions than those we had with the staff of Hotel Residence Tirreno. We contacted them via email in April 2012 to book a two-night stay as part of our honeymoon and, at first, the staff were charming. However, when we were in Naples and due to be departing for Procida, we noticed that their confirmation email had the wrong dates reserved. We contacted Hotel Residence Tirreno to alert them to their error, forwarding on our email with the correct dates requested.

Had they simply apologised at that point and told us that they could change our reservation, we would have been only happy to stay with them. Instead, they were aggressive and unapologetic, stating that we would have to lose our initial deposit and pay again to move our reservation.

As the mistake was theirs and not ours, we refused to pay another deposit, and simply asked to have our initial deposit returned so that we could find alternative accommodation. Again, they refused, insulting us and generally behaving appallingly.

Fortunately, our bank investigated the matter and found the behaviour of Hotel Residence Tirreno to be illegal. After the bank's investigation, our initial deposit was recovered, in spite of the staff from Hotel Residence Tirreno never providing an apology or contacting us in an attempt to resolve the dispute.

As we finally fought successfully for the return of our deposit, I have fewer regrets than I would have had otherwise. But during an otherwise perfect honeymoon, Hotel Residence Tirreno were the only people to jeopardise one of the most important and romantic holidays of our lives.

I cannot warn Tripadvisors to do anything other than avoid this awful place.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
7  Thank southease78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tirrenoresidence, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Residence Tirreno, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Is not possible define a horrible hotel if there never was and never saw him. The 'no deposit' s took over the bank. Still here with us, because the cancellation came two days before the 'arrival. But we were willing to do to change the dates of the reservation and when we asked the new dates, they have preferred to cancel the reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Residence Tirreno
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2011

First let me say, reviewing properties can be difficult for me. I feel that it is necessary to point out the negatives so others will be aware, but also not to leave the impression (as is much as the time the case) that I did not enjoy my stay. This is one of those cases.... I loved my stay at Hotel Residence Tirreno, but in fairness to others, there are some issues I have to share.

But first the positives, when you check in, they take you on a tour of the property which is lovely. It has nice shaded patios, a nice garden, a sun deck, and a panoramic deck with a view to Capri, Ischia and the main land. There are plenty of places to just lounge, or sit back and read a book. Also when checking in, they give you a map and highlight beaches for you, explain the city buses and time schedules and restaurants. They go out of there way to make sure you can make the most of your time on the island. They also have a 2 euro (for all day) shuttle to various nearby beaches (but if you are a walker like me, it is just as easy to walk to them). The staff is eager to please and want to make sure you enjoy your stay.

For us, the negatives were that our room had a musty odor. We were only staying 3 nights, if we were staying longer, we would have wanted another room. The pillows were lumpy like rocks and the bathroom could use a good mildew scrub down and cleaning.

However, you have to way the pros and cons of a place, and overall - our stay was enjoyable and we wouldn't hesitate to come back. The location is about a 20 to 25 minute walk from the port down a long street. At the end of the street is a path down to the rocks where you can sun bath and swim, there are nearby grocery store and fruit stores. Nothing is a far walk away. If you are not a walker, the island has a good bus system (with a bus stop at the entrance to the street), taxis every where and then of course the hotel shuttle.

There were two adorable kittens who played on our patio, they also helped make our trip as they were so cute and lovable and we looked forward to their visit in the morning and late afternoon (we even bought them cat treats at the grocery store). If you visit, give them some food and a hug for us!

The night before we left, the staff brought us some limoncello to drink which was very nice. Again, we had a great time. A few little spots that need some improvement, but they were minor compared to the positives.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dallasboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

The Hotel Tirreno is a small, family-run hotel in Procida, the as-yet-undiscovered and unspoiled-by-tourists island off the coast of Naples. Once we arrived by ferry into this charming marina, we took a taxi through UNBELIEVABLY narrow streets to the hotel. It was framed by lush plants and flowers. A hotel employee showed us around the grounds and the amenities. Our room was simple and clean, and had a stove, refrigerator and kitchen area. While we were there, a couple arrived at the hotel who obviously comes every single year and stays a while. It's THAT kind of warm, welcoming place. The front desk staff COULD NOT BE more gracious and helpful. They recommended the perfect restaurant for us (and offered a discount (and even helped us rent a motor scooter. (the best way to see Procida) We loved the free internet access at the front desk and the clothes rack to hang our swimsuits out to dry outside. We also took advantage of our small outdoor patio space. The islanders considered themselves a large family, everyone knows everyone and goes out of their way to be kind. Hotel Tirreno is certainly a wonderful example of that spirit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianaDiFranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Situated in green, quiet part of Procida Island. Surrounded by flowers and lemon trees. Great two terraces with spectacular view on harbour. Rooms well equipped, free wi-fi available. Absolutely fantastic staff. Three guys always there for you to help with anything. The only disadvantage is that its quite far from the Procida port.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piskyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

I actually was here in 2002 but the site will not allow me to put that date in .
I was traveling alone for this leg of my vacation and chose Procida for it's reputation as the quiet sister island to capri and Ischia.
I was not disappointed at all.
My room was lovely , bathroom spacious , everything clean. Breakfast was brought to my room by lovely staff. The flowers and planting around the hotel were stunning as was the view from the rooftop .
The island was easy to get around on foot or catching a little bus and it was easy to hop over to Ischia for the day.
My favorite sight were the tiny three wheeled trucks delivering fresh mozzarella in the morning to local homes where women would drop a basket from their window and then winch the cheese up from the street.
I am not sure who is managing the hotel now but it was lovely when I was there and I would definitely return if I ever do return to Procidia!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sorrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2009

Nice island, but the hotel was not a good choice. The rooms are very different in style and standard, some seem to be more a youth hostel. The location is quite far from the harbour and the nice Corricella Bay, if you don't have a motor bike or car quite inconvenient. And we had some problems with the payment, in the end we found out that they cheated on us. So take care and check your bill!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ReisenistLeben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tirrenoresidence, Gestore at Hotel Residence Tirreno, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2009

The price is from hostel but not the rooms in fact they is all endowed with heating, autonomous conditioned air, bath with shower, private before courtyard and furnished, radio, tv lcd and angle cooking. Does a hostel exist that to 21 Euro in double room she offers all these comforts? and without forgetting the spaces external comas the garden and the panoramic balcony, the various courtyards, the swimming pool and the Hydromassage; the lady has paid only 21 Euro to person for two people, for a packet than at least 5 nights, but a fourth day she has decided to depart and we have told him that that special price, making only 4 nights didn't remain, there was an addition of as soon as 10 Euro; we have satisfied her however and she has not paid the 10 European however, but to take revenge of this discussion, has done the same this negative judgment, in the day of native. WHAT A PEOPLE!!! To respect the distance there is the shuttle of the available hotel, anymore the bus to 500 meters, anymore the taxis, more possibilities of rental scooter and bicycles, even if the I bring it is distant only 15 minutes afoot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

This won't be the best hotel you stay in, but it certainly won't be the worst. It's location makes it quite isolated which is not the best in terms of walking to the ferry port / town but the staff do offer a unlimited car shuttle service for 2 euros each a day. Our room was dingy and had an odd smell but was quiet and felt secure. The views from the garden are absolutely stunning and there was a good sunbathing terrace - although this is not good for children.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller23456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Procida Island hotels
0.1 mi away
B&B La Casa Sul Faro
B&B La Casa Sul Faro
#4 of 12 in Procida Island
83 reviews
1.1 mi away
Savoia Hotel
Savoia Hotel
#12 of 12 in Procida Island
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa La Suite
Hotel & Spa La Suite
#9 of 12 in Procida Island
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Albergo La Vigna
Albergo La Vigna
#1 of 12 in Procida Island
260 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Casa sul Mare
Hotel La Casa sul Mare
#3 of 12 in Procida Island
196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Albergo Solcalante
Albergo Solcalante
#2 of 12 in Procida Island
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Tirreno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Tirreno

Address: Via del Faro 34, 80079, Procida Island, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Procida Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Procida Island
Price Range: £39 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Tirreno 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Residence Tirreno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Tirreno Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing