We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't expect too much”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Residence Tirreno
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Procida Island
Reviewed 16 July 2013

pluses:
- nice garden with birds
- two nice roofs with view
- staff quite nice, and of service
- drop off & pick up car service, limited hours, for part of island for €2 / day / person

minuses:
- staff was not always accurate. for instance they did not give us the sea-view room we booked, because it turned out some detail in our booking was not clear to them, but they lacked to check that with us. also, they took deposit-money from my credit card without informing me thereof beforehand.

- on their website it is not clearly presented that there are two different locations: tirreno (with garden, but not at the beach) and azzuro mare (next to the beach, but no garden); we feel a bit mislead by this, for we expected the combination and missed the beach.

- hygiene standards are poor: the room was smelly, hairs in the bathroom, fresh bedlinen with marks on them, kitchen was 'cleaned' but far from fresh.

- no curtains, broken musquito screens in window

- booking a double bed gives you two single beds. the owner did not seem to understand the difference, but offered to try to arrange a double bed.

- location is somewhat isolated

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank o-b-s-v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tirrenoresidence, Proprietario at Hotel Residence Tirreno, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

No it's true what the gentleman wrote. Not clear that he wanted the sea view room, in fact he wanted to save asking for a discount and the sea view room was more expensive. I repeat, has not confirmed the sea view room, it was better to give it to us because it cost more and we had no reason not to give it. The beds it is true that there were two together as often occurs in 3 and 4 star, and when we asked him if he wanted to change into a double one said no. All other critical written are not true and has not reported in reception. For only 65 Euros per night (€ 32 per person), which is a great price for August had a 'great room with kitchenette, air conditioning and private balcony over the garden terraces gardens and other services (free internet, parking free transfer service .....)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Residence Tirreno
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Marco D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 June 2013

To be recommended to all Torontonians, wishing to stay there in full immersion of love, in a charming environment.
Excellent service. Suggesting to taste the Limoncello prepared by Mr. Goffredo into a small ceramic pot, when enjoying the relaxing atmosphere of the solarium.

Room Tip: Room #9 is truly recommended
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elfet42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

As a family of four,we were comfortable and well provided for. We found the proprietor and staff friendly, charming and helpful. The garden is exceptional and adds a great deal to the pleasure of the stay. We would definitely consider staying there again.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank RD336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

When we arrived at this hotel, the tour they gave us gave us a very nice impression.
A beautiful and o so large garden, beautiful lemon trees and a nice panoramic view from the rooftop.

But when we spent our first night my feeling changed quite a bit.
It was so hot and our airconditioning remote didn't work so we had to sleep with the door open. Since there's no security or whatsoever at the entrance, and at night there's no staff there, you can image my fear of someone just walking into the hotel feeling invited to take some stuff from our room since our door was wide open!

The next morning, I took a shower but the shower door was loose and couldn't close so there was a big gap where of course all the water splashed through filling the bathroom floor with a pool of water...

The breakfast was nice and delivered to the room! (We even had it brought to the rooftop the next morning to have breakfast with a great view.

It's great they have free wi-fi, the only disadvantage is it didn't reach all the way to our room so I had to go sit on the stairs outside next to the reception.

The staff was very friendly to us, though they didn't speak English very well..

The location of the hotel is discussable, for me (a 21 year old) its a good location: long walking distance to the bay where you can go out and drink something or go to the beach
Further down the street of the hotel you can go down a long pair of stairs to go take a dive in the sea. (Beware it's not a beach there! It's more like a giant rock ending in the sea)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Velo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tirrenoresidence, Manager at Hotel Residence Tirreno, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Dear MadamThank you for being our guests, but we mean:the air conditioning worked, and if it doesn't work why dont you reported in reception. In fact in all other rooms, when you stay, it worked fine (centralized, but not standalone remote control so much better)This also applies to the shower, it is possible that it can break, but why you haven't reported. It's not nice to not say it at the reception desk, but write on Tripadvisor. It would be more correct to write it, and not inform in reception. At the reception there is the staff up at night in spite our is only a 3-star rating for emergencies we 12:0 am daily with a special Bell.It is true that we don't speak well English and ' it is true that not all rooms free wifi signal arrives.Besides the rock overlooking the sea, there is also a car a minute leads to the beaches.But thanks again for some compliments and for being our guests.
Dear MadamThank you for being our guests, but we mean:the air conditioning worked, and if it doesn't work why dont you reported in reception. In fact in all other rooms, when you stay, it worked fine (centralized, but not standalone remote control so much better)This also applies to the shower, it is possible that it can break, but why you haven't reported. It's not nice to not say it at the reception desk, but write on Tripadvisor. It would be more correct to write it, and not inform in reception. At the reception there is the staff up at night in spite our is only a 3-star rating for emergencies we 12:0 am daily with a special Bell.It is true that we don't speak well English and ' it is true that not all rooms free wifi signal arrives.Besides the rock overlooking the sea, there is also a car a minute leads to the beaches.But thanks again for some compliments and for being our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My partner and I recently spent 13 days on the lovely island of Procida, in the Bay of Naples between its more famous neighbors, Ischia and Capri. Though there may be more elegant accommodations in the island, the Residence Tirreno met our every need and at a price so reasonable we had extra spending money. Not that there is anything like the expensive shops on Capri in which to spend your money. Procida is for those who want an authentic Italian atmosphere, stunning scenery, beautiful beaches and excellent fresh seafood. The Tirreno is well-positioned on long, straight Via Faro to enjoy all of the island’s pleasures; for example a 15-minute walk to Marina Grande. The albergo offers an amazing variety of places on the grounds to relax, read and enjoy—from a hammock to private patios. There are also two rooftop terraces that afford stunning vistas of the island—one for sunning, the other for breakfast. The rooms are generous in size. Ours had a full kitchen and small patio. Though our room--#14--was not sunny, at the end of the hall it made up for it in quietness. Our only caveat to the Tirreno is that the maid service was minimal. But for location, price and ambience, it’s hard to beat. Our hosts—Goffredo and Alberto—were very accommodating. They offered the services of a Skype phone free of charge. Alberto even had a travel service on the main harbor that could assist with travel arrangements. The Tirreno is tropical paradise on a gem of an island.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace or patio with sun.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

When we arrived there, a female member of the staff, gave it a try to show us around at the property. Her English was so bad that is was almost non existant. At the same time, a French couple arrived. The French woman seemed quite shocked about the choice her boyfriend had made to stay at this place, while we were still in the mood of giving it a try, in spite of the very bad first impression of the hotel and the surroundings. The whole situation made us giggly. This was before we saw our room. Meanwhile, the lady who gave us the tour at the property was the only one who seemed enthousiastic about the place. She mentioned there was a jacuzzi on the roof. Being curious, we checked it out and we started laughing even more. There was a sign, indicating that "before DIVING into the jacuzzi, you have to take a shower". How the hell can you dive in what seemed to be a bath tub (empty by the way). Apparently, water had to be provided with a garden hose. Still, we felt like making the best of it. That was before we saw the room.
Or was it, before we smelt the room?
The look and smell of the room made a prison cell look like a five star hotel room. Ok, we know every house and hotel has a sewer, but why do you have to smell it?? No wonder we felt like leaving the room and getting some entertainment. Gofredo, the owner, recommended a beach. Because the hotel was situated in the middle of nowhere they arranged a shuttle to some tourist trap dirty beach with unfriendly staff, ridiculous prices( we wanted to go to a nice beach, but instead they brought us to the nearest beach ). Needless to say we wanted to get away there after 25 minutes, but the driver had already indicated that he would pick us up four hours later. We had to walk all the way back realizing how isolated our 'hotel' exactly was. Gofredo gave us the alternate advice to go to the rocky beach. Not much of a succes either since no sane person would describe this as a beach. Back at our prison cell we started to feel like prisoners. We decided to try it for the night. After a sleepless night in our smelly room our mind was set; any hotel on Procida had to be better than this crap place.
Grofredo, sneaky as he is, had kept our pasports as he probably must have had previous experiences with people who wanted to leave at first sight. Going to the lobby, we indicated that we wanted to leave. However, Gofredo did not appreciate this decision and became very agressive and threatening; he screamed that he would empty my whole creditcard. After a lenghty session of threats and shouting, he "agreed" that we would have to pay just for the night that we actually stayed there. We agreed and got the hell out of there as quickly as possible. Fortunately, we found a very nice hotel (Tonnara hotel) so we spend another two nice days on the island. This is how we found out that Procida is actually quite a nice island.
Coming home, we found out that Gofredo had taken a last revenge as he took some money from my creditcard for a second night. Mobster practices indeed!
All and all, you might guess our advice. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bern Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tirrenoresidence, Proprietario at Hotel Residence Tirreno, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

The lady has written many things untrue and defamatory. First point of the room and the place was to their liking. It 's true, however, that we do not talk about all the good' English. The hot tub is closed in the winter and can not be used in the summer when the demand is filled d 'water, always give the' clean water and when. It is not true that we brought to the nearest beach, but our transfer service allows you to choose between 4 beaches and she has chosen what is a very nice and everyone likes and is the famous beach of the movie "The Postman" by Massimo Troisi. The sea near our hotel and the beach is tuff and tell everyone that there is no sand, and even this is a place you really like, with a magnificent sunset and never crowded. To save on the second day did not go to the hotel, but camping. Given that their reservation was for 3 nights and made with an agency, we asked for the payment of the second of the night and not 'full amount as required by the cancellation of the agency, even to pay commisisoni of 3 nights all' agency itself .. She pretended to cry saying that we have no sensitivity because he had to leave earlier because he said that his friend was sick and if they did pay more than a night spent would write negative reviews on trip advisor to agency (as indeed it did). So it is not true that we took money from credit cards to their departure. Is ABSOLUTELY NOT TRUE AND WE ARE NOT MAFIA, MA HONEST WORKERS. So many lies. Never went to the tuna that is a hotel that you pay even more than ours, but in a campsite to save money. It 's true that I got angry when he made the blackmail of negative judgment, I never want to be blackmailed and threatened by anyone. The French gentlemen here have known have spent 3 nights as booked and they said that their stay was good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Procida Island hotels
0.1 mi away
B&B La Casa Sul Faro
B&B La Casa Sul Faro
#4 of 12 in Procida Island
83 reviews
1.1 mi away
Savoia Hotel
Savoia Hotel
#12 of 12 in Procida Island
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa La Suite
Hotel & Spa La Suite
#9 of 12 in Procida Island
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Albergo La Vigna
Albergo La Vigna
#1 of 12 in Procida Island
260 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Casa sul Mare
Hotel La Casa sul Mare
#3 of 12 in Procida Island
196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Albergo Solcalante
Albergo Solcalante
#2 of 12 in Procida Island
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Tirreno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Tirreno

Address: Via del Faro 34, 80079, Procida Island, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Procida Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Procida Island
Price Range: £39 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Tirreno 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Residence Tirreno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Tirreno Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing