We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super hotel in stunning grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Irlanda Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Gaeta
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Super hotel in stunning grounds”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent four days at Villa Irlanda on our way back to Rome after attending a family wedding in Castelpetroso, near Isernia, and what a find it was! The five villas, which have been recently refurbished, are set in stunning gardens packed with flowers and fragrant shrubs interspersed with lemon, orange and olive groves.

The rooms are comfortable, spacious and simply furnished to a very high standard, with high ceilings and floor to roof windows which open out to the gardens - and they are spotlessly clean! Our bathroom was enormous with both a Jacuzzi bath and a separate walk in shower. The fluffy white towels were replaced every day.

Breakfast was served in a low, cool building with indoor and out door seating areas. This room double as a snack bar and provided excellent lunches. We stayed as the summer season was just swinging into action and staffing levels were low so service was on occasions quite slow but always very professional, helpful and friendly.

We did not use the hotel restaurant but it is in a wonderful room and is beautifully decorated and furnished. We ate in Gaeta every evening in an array of excellent, inexpensive restaurants

The swimming pool area is excellent! Plenty of sunbeds and plenty of space. And it has a first class pool attendant (Luca) who could not have been more helpful. Thank you! It was an oasis of peace and tranquility.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'The Orange House', probably the farthest villa from Reception but the walk thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_100_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    195
    45
    10
    10
See reviews for
151
224
10
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Well situated to visit historical sites near to Rome and also along coast. Set in lovely gardens with lemon and olive trees and a lovely swimming pool. Predominantly a hotel used for wedding receptions. We were a tour group of 25 and found the service in the restaurant a bit chaotic and slow. Evening dinner and breakfast were ok, staff very pleasant and attentive. Lodged in annexe away from main hotel. Perfectly clean and large bathroom (with bath!). Downside was I could hear all the bathroom plumbing in the room above gurgling down the pipes past my room. I would not have stayed more than a couple of nights though, as the hotel is on a very busy road and a bit far away from any shops or exploring on foot. Hence the mediocre score. Otherwise a very nice hotel and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inkworm s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alba, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A nice place to be on the italian coast south of Rome. There are a lot of surrounding beaches where you don't want to be, because of being too mass touristical. Irlanda is great. Well organized, enough parking place, a great restaurant and sunny breakfast area. The swimming pool is a nice place for relaxing after a day of strolling through the countryside. Gaeta and Sperlonga are romantic medioeval places, but also Itri has a nice castle. The grotta of Pastena is worth a visit. Service of the staff is great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciclista c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

€23 + tax for a baby cot per night off season. Our child is 9 months old. Stayed for 5 nights on second floor. No lift. Much too far from the reception building and car park. Completely impractical with a small child. The breakfast was a disgrace. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone unfortunately.

Room Tip: Avoid the villas so far from reception especially if you have luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul9765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West End, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

After a week of touring Tuscany with a group we went to Gaeta for a relaxing weekend in late Sept, 2013. The hotel is very clean, the gardens and flowers were beautiful, and the hills rise right behind the town. The food was very good, especially the open air breakfast. The surrounding area is beautiful and for those interested in shopping the main area is not far from the hotel. We relaxed by lounging around the pool area, the water was a bit chilly. One downside is the hotel is not on the beach, you must cross a busy highway and take a short walk down the street to access a beach area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bob008656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

On and off over the past 15 years we have made this hotel a first choice when deciding on our summer holiday location.Each time we return we always get a worm welcome . We love the setting so peaceful so beautiful despite it being so close to a national route. The staff are wonderful and are like a family as they take care of their guests in an unobtrusive way leaving us to enjoy our stay at Villa Irlanda.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Camillo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was my second visit to this hotel, again out of season. Despite the small number of guests, Villa Irlanda charmed me again by its beauriful grounds with lemon and orange trees in fruit, an idyllic looking swimmiing people (too early inb the year for me to try it), spacious bedrooms and bathrooms. The staff helpful and efficient, the breakfast magnicient

This is then hotel I will return to when I am next in tis paty of Lazio.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaeta hotels
3.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Le Rocce
Grand Hotel Le Rocce
#1 of 11 in Gaeta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Gajeta
Hotel Gajeta
#5 of 11 in Gaeta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Serapo
Hotel Serapo
#8 of 11 in Gaeta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Summit Hotel
Summit Hotel
#4 of 11 in Gaeta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Mirasole International
4.0 mi away
Hotel Villaggio Torre San Vito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Irlanda Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Irlanda Grand Hotel

Property: Villa Irlanda Grand Hotel
Address: Lungomare Caboto 6 | Localita Vindicio, 04024 Gaeta, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > Gaeta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gaeta
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gaeta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gaeta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gaeta
#3 Family Hotel in Gaeta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Irlanda Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Irlanda Grand Hotel "The History" An authentic jewel of elegance and style, set between hills rich with Mediterranean vegetation and the waters of the Gulf of Gaeta, "Villa Irlanda Grand Hotel" provides an exclusive ambient where the ancient world of roman villas meets the modern world of private holidays along one of the most romantic coastlines in the world. The hotel complex, immersed in a park measuring 60,000 square metres is the result of a meticulous restoration, undertaken the family by which today manages it, of five buildings half destroyed by war. The architecture, today brought back to its antique splendour, tells ancient tales and transports one's imagination back to the 1st century B.C. The hotel sits upon the Gulf of Gaeta facing the sunrise in the area known as "Arcella", conveniently reached by the Via Flacca. Just a short walk away, one finds the beach. "The Reception" Passing through the main gateway of "Villa Irlanda Grand Hotel" this is the first building we encounter. Realised by the restoration of an old rural structure, itself built within the walls of an antique Roman villa (1st Century B.C.). In its time this villa belonged to Marco Filippo, adoptive father of the Emperor Ottaviano Augusto. Erasmo Gesualdo, historical researcher of 1700, had no doubt about the origins and ownership of the Roman ruins, and he describes in one of his texts the places now occupied by the hotel's Reception and hall: << ... Passing Via di Flacco, along the Arcella beach; ... at a few paces there are the foundations of that road called Arcella di Andrea del Sole, along side which one finds the wonderful remains of the famous villa of M. Filippo, Azia's husband, M. Azio Balbo Pretore's daughter; and of Giulia, Julius Caesar's sister. When she married M. Filippo, she was C. Ottavio's widow, with whom she had given life to Ottaviano Augusto ... therefore I am certain that M. Filippo frequented this, his Villa - as we can see from the writings of Cicerone - and it seems to me more probable, for reasons of climate that this was the home of his childhood, rather than the Pontine marshes...>> The recent restoration works on the ancient building have given birth to the reception and hall or Sala Octaviano which serves as a small meeting room. The guests are welcomed in a bright environment, where the new pavings and furnishing meld seamlessly with the ancient walls of the Imperial Villa. Specialised personnel assigned to the front office are always available for our guests from the moment of their arrival to the moment of their departure. Information is available at the reception on the hotel services, the curiosities worth seeing in town and in the surrounding areas and on how, in general, to best enjoy your stay. At the reception, the hotel provides currency exchange services and the possibility to make payments with credit cards, cash or travellers cheques. Those of our guests that arrive by car can make use of our ample car park situated within the hotel complex. From the reception a ramp leads to the pedestrian area of the hotel, rich in Mediterranean vegetation. Here the gardens and the avenues surround the swimming-pool, the solarium and the other four buildings of the hotel. "The Villa" "The Villa" is a building in neo-classic style built at the beginning of 1900, by Earl Stembock Fermor, a Russian officer of the Cossack Regiment related to the last Tsar and Military Attache to the Russian embassy in Italy. During one of his frequent trips to our country, he was fascinated by the beauty of the Gulf of Gaeta and particularly by the area of Arcella where one could still admire precious traces of ancient Rome. A cultivator of art, antiquity and natural beauty, he decided to settle down with his family here and, between 1907 and 1912, he had The Villa built, according to his own designs, upon the beautiful Roman cryptoporticus which can still be visited and admired in all its particular beauty. Projecting his residence, the Earl took advantage of all his aesthetic and technical experience acquired in many years of travel. For example he ordered the construction of an irrigation system, very innovative for those times, based on techniques already used by the ancient Romans, of which there are still a few traces here and there in the hotel's garden. Villa Marina, as it was then known, represented for many years one of the most significant poles of the everyday life of the time, hosting, with elegant and exclusive parties, the most well-known and well-to-do families of Gaeta and Formia. After the restoration works, thirteen rooms were built in The Villa, floored with parquet, elegantly furnished and - like all the other rooms of Villa Irlanda Grand Hotel - equipped with air conditioning; mini-bar; television with satellite reception; radio and direct-line telephone. Six of the thirteen rooms are representation suites, each of which has two floors, connected by means of internal autonomous staircase. The halls are floored with inlaid marble, as is the room on the ground floor, where Earl Stembock hosted his guests. This room, now called "Sala Goethe", is used as a meeting room able to hold seventy people. Nevertheless, in the summer time, when wedding banquets are held in the hotel restaurant room, Sala Goethe resumes its original function of dining room where the hotel guests can enjoy our menus in an elegant and exclusive atmosphere. "The Convento" In 1930, the Pontifical Irish College, started to construct the building now known as "The Convent" and transformed what once was the residential property of the Russian Earl Stembock into a retreat and school for novice priests. With the outbreak of the Second World War the Irish, who had almost finished the building and already partially occupied it, were forced to leave the area. The buildings, occupied by the German headquarters of 274th Reg. Gran. and by a military hospital, were half destroyed at the end of the hostilities by the Allied forces. At the end of the war, the Irish priests began once more to frequent the once splendid buildings which, together with their beautiful gardens, had so stimulated their concentration before the conflict. Their spring and summer visits lasted until the 1960's during which time they tried to restore the damage the war had caused. For over twenty years the buildings and grounds stood derelict before being taken on by the family which now owns them and whose intention was to restore the buildings to their former glory as a tourist location.. The restoration works which followed brought to light the mural paintings on the internal walls of the old chapel dedicated to Saint Patrick today known as the Sala Ciborio. The paintings created by the religious students in retreat have allegorical meanings. The peacocks, painted on the upper part of the ciborium and on the panels of the side walls, refer to the soul's immortality; the vine-branch, to the branching of the Christian religion; the letters Alpha and Omega which hang from the Celtic crosses, represent the beginning and the end of terrestrial life; the thirteen sheep on the old choir baluster are the Saviour with the twelve apostles; the hooked crosses painted along the upper border, although originally used in pagan symbolisation by the ancient Mesopotamia civilisation, when their opposite rotary direction indicated on which side the sun would arise or set, in this religious context converge towards the image of an anchor, symbolising the soul's salvation. On the ground floor the restoration included the replacing of the wooden ceiling of the chapel; the laying of stylish marble flooring; the construction of arcades in the old refectory; the remodelling of the old choir and kitchen spaces with skilfully placed walls creating suggestive, fascinating environments. Thanks to the intense restoration works the dining halls on the ground floor are now used for banquets and meetings. The first floor, where once the students had their lodging, now boasts another, small meeting room, which can hold thirty people. The remaining space on this level is occupied by thirteen rooms with panoramic views over the Gulf of Gaeta or the mountains and Mediterranean groves. "Swimming pools and Pool bar" The swimming-pools, built recently, are surrounded by a large solarium and by a park planted with trees in a vast space overlooking the Gulf of Gaeta. Centrally placed in relation to the hotel buildings the immense blue sheet of water of the pools reflect the facades of the buildings hotel and like a piazza become the meeting place of the whole hotel complex where the guests almost inevitably converge to socialise and to spend relaxing and peaceful moments. Of the two pools one is rectangular and of Olympic proportions and mainly used for swimming. The other sprouts off from the first and is of a shallowness ideally suited for small children. A wide, curving stairway in this pool provides seating for the hydro-massage. A small island, containing two well-grown olive trees, visually separates the two pools. Alongside the main pool is the Pool Bar whose original function, before restoration, was that of a refuge for tame animals. Nowadays it serves as our pool bar during the summer months where breakfast, buffet lunches and of course refreshing drinks are served. During August evenings the bar serves wonderful cocktails to enjoy with the relaxing music of the live piano bar. "The Sister Residence" "The Sisters' Residence" was a building used by the colonists when the land belonged to Earl Stembock and by Irish nuns when possession passed on to the Pontifical Irish College. Like the other buildings, it was left to ruin from the period of the last world war until the beginning of the restoration works when it became part of the hotel. Made up of fourteen rooms "the Sisters' Residence" has ceramic pavements and tiling, hand-painted with decorations and colours which differ from room to room. The furnishings are in pastel colours and create a fresh atmosphere, typical of the ancient Mediterranean houses. "The Orange Residence" "The Orange Residence" situated in the most inner part of the gardens of the turistc complex. In liberty style it preserve an original "dovehouse" and the serene atmosphere of the ancient country houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Irlanda Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Irlanda Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing