We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suite Artis Barberini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Suite Artis Barberini
Ranked #1,856 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel is perfectly located close to the Trevi fontain and in walking disance to everything in central Rome. It is right across the street from the Barberini Metro-stop, but can be a bit hard to find as there is no sign. Check the doorbell-signs and you will find it. The staff is friendly and helpful, but they dont speak much english. The rooms have AC (we preferred a fan), and they are clean and spacious. There is no elevator in the building, and there are quite a few stairs to climb, så be preparred for that. There is no commen area for breakfast. Breakfast is served in your room when you wish. There are a few nice restaurants close to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hwa058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    42
    21
    10
    12
See reviews for
16
69
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice place very close to the Trevi fountain, the Spanish steps and metro. You need to be aware that this is very basic but very nice. We had a suite which was two very large rooms and bathroom. Being right up in the roof area we could not see out the windows. Very clean , air conditioning , wifi, TV. There is no lift so if you have trouble with stairs this is not for you. There are no communal areas , just an office, staff ( one working at any one time ) were lovely. It was our wedding anniversary and the girl working in the day saw our cards and left us a bottle of wine Night concierge did not speak English) breakfast was basic , was ok and brought to your room at what time requested. If you are looking for somewhere where you can sleep, not spend too much time there which is in a great location, ( dont forget the steps ) Then this is for you. You do have to pay 2 euros per night per person when you leave if it has not been included in the price.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdyoung
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly located for a visit to Rome. We were given one of the suites with separate living room, which was quite a luxury for us, so were fairly happy with the accommodation even though the decor was a little dated. However the view from the suite was great and it made us feel at home. The people working there were friendly, even though some were better than English than others. I don't expect everyone in a foreign country to speak my language! Breakfasts were ok: mainly a croissant and yogurt. There are plenty of stairs however, so do be prepared for that, and don't expect a hotel in the traditional sense! It's more like an apartment rental. The check in is in the hall/stairway! That said it was a decent place to stay when visiting Rome.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gdyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modiin,Israel
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spent there several days in April on a vacation. The location is very good and central. The room is clean, the size of the room is reasonable. it is minimally equipped. No elevator, 96 steps on the way (we did not mind...). The staff hardly speak English so if you do not speak Italian or Spanish do not expect to communicate...
The "desk" is right outside the rooms so when a call came in we heard every word even if we wanted to sleep at that time. Breakfast is "continental" and is served to the room in the morning. Did not like it. Will probably not go back there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oodimen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The only good thing about this so called hotel is its location. Other than this, it is an awful place and I can't possibly see how it has generated good reviews and why serious and credible sites such as booking.com and otel.com present it as being a 4* hotel chargibg around €200 per night. I had booked a double room in April 2014 for the period 23-27 May 2014. Today that I write this message (26 May) I am still in Rome but, thank God, in a different hotel. When I arrived on the 23rd I realized that this "hotel" is a few rooms on the top floor of an old building where you have to climb many steps as there is no elavator. The so called reception is a tiny desk in a coridor which is apparently the so called lobby. There is no sitting area, that's why the breakfast is served in the room. The room itself was small with a tiny bathroom and run down furniture. Any decent 2* place would be 1000 times better. I left immediately even though I had already prepaid the room. Don't make the same mistake that I did! Avoid it! Don't believe the good reviews, they are not honest!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

With the exception of the stairs to the apartments, Not a problem for us so don't let them put you off.This accommodation is ideally located for all of the main attractions in Rome. Extremely attentive staff and our room was great, huge in fact. We expected a lot less but were wowed. Attentive and friendly staff made our stay extremely enjoyable. Thank you.

Room Tip: There are 13 sets of steps to the apartments but if you can make it they are really worth it. It tru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s810uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Residence AT. The location is perfect. The staff was very helpful. The room is clean and big (we stayed at the mezzanine and had basically two rooms). Breakfast was included in the price - very basic, if you have to pay for breakfast I would advise not to do it. There is a coffee shop across the street with better coffee and breakfast food selection.
The bed was very good - wide and good mattress.
One thing to keep in mind - the hotel is on the third -fourth floor with a long staircase. Might not be suitable for older people or to people who has difficulty climbing the stairs. Dragging the luggage was not fun even though we are physically pretty fit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna68ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
La Casa del Capitano
La Casa del Capitano
#604 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Trevi
Roma Resort Barberini
Roma Resort Barberini
#462 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Trevi
Domus Julia
Domus Julia
#655 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Barberini Hotel
Barberini Hotel
#305 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Julia
Hotel Julia
#327 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#171 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Artis Barberini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Artis Barberini

Property: Suite Artis Barberini
Address: Piazza Barberini 2, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Residence AT)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,856 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Suite Artis Barberini 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Suite Artis Barberini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence At Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing